We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
Ranked #2 of 157 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Magical...”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Hotel is a magical experience.

Its a must if you re visiting Udaipur and want to go that extra special mile. The location is out of this world and the service is outstanding.

Its expensive, however its worth every single penny. The hotel also double upgraded our room and we had the most amazing views of the lake. Everything from the welcome to the check out is a wonderful experience and I hope very much to go back to this beautiful hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EveJLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,970 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,705
    196
    38
    18
    13
See reviews for
710
1,550
103
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (649)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paris
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Still My favorite hotel in the word and I practise many palaces! Old maners, relaxing, perfect Indian british class!
one evening, if you want to leave the marvelous terasse restaurant,cross the lake to have dîner at the leila hôtel ( also wonderful : but modern and design)
Asie for the junior manager: so so helpfull and kind.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Olivier C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

If you look up the Lake Palace on google images or watch the 1983 Bond flick, you'll no doubt be tempted to stay at the Lake Palace. The interior ponds, the tiled Mughal arches, and of course the exterior, are reason enough to splurge. In location, history, decor, charm, and architecture, it is a gem. But beyond that, the service is impeccable and as a result, the experience of staying there is unparalleled. I don't want to divulge details of the rather special arrival for future guests, but the dream-like voyage begins there and continues throughout your entire stay.

We stayed in the standard/lowest category room, and it was gorgeous, both in its painted walls and lovely furnishings and in its view. The evening dance + music, which we'd seen similar renditions of in various cities in Rajasthan, was actually far more skilled and hence more enjoyable here.

Nothing goes unnoticed by the staff: we left out a book, and that night there was a Lake Palace bookmark placed inside it; all the staff greeted us at the restaurants and in the lobby by name on our second day (how do they memorize all those names and faces?); when I wore a sari to our fancy rooftop dinner and mentioned, in response to a female staff's compliment, that it took me about 30 minutes to figure out how to wrap and drape it properly, she offered that if I ever wanted help in the future, I could call the desk and she or someone else would come help me dress.

If you're traveling to Udaipur, then this really is THE place you want to stay and remember it by.

*My only note is that in our standard room, we had a view right across the water to City Palace. Our friends stayed several doors down in the next class of room; theirs was only slightly bigger by the addition of a window alcove, and their view was actually slightly less impressive. Based on our limited knowledge of two rooms only, my recommendation would be to save your money and stay in the standard rooms, which are by no means "standard" and really quite delightful.

**Last note: bring earplugs. Those birds are insanely loud, and neither my husband, myself, nor our friends several doors down managed to get a solid night's sleep either night we were there.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank amandas711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Fantastic location, delightful staff and a charming hotel. The views are amazing, particularly at night. The restaurant on the the roof is special and provides stunning views of the palace. The city of Udaipur is lovely too. Well worth a visit

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
67 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

The hotel is uniquely beautiful, not to be missed for a vacation in Udaipur for its history, beauty and the stunning location. Their garden took my breath away, felt almost like being in a fairy tale, with totally different atmosphere day and night. (A friend had suggested we only come to lunch and enjoy the garden, so glad we later decided to spend a night.)

My family stayed in 3 rooms, one was upgraded to a 1st floor suite which is just fabulous! There is an antique swing and a beautiful alcove by the lake with a great view of Udaipur City Palace. (We later saw this room in a coffee table book about palace hotels of India.) The other two rooms are pretty, too, but the size are rather small, perhaps 25 sqm.

They have two dining rooms overlooking the garden, one international - also with nice lake view and serves great breakfast. The other is Indian which we didn't try. They had a party that night at the roof top bar with stunning view of the lake. The pool is nice, temperature controlled, if a bit small, with 2 extra jacuzzis. We haven't tried the spa.

Service was good with everyone all smiling and willing to help. Check in and out were a breeze. The service boat to and from the hotel's exclusive pier on mainland takes about 5 minute. all was very pleasant, we wish we had more time there....

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChiaraJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NW England
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

The last of our eight hotel stay in India.

A lake-based hotel accessed only by shuttle boat. Overall, the hotel is very good, as it should be being one of the Taj Hotel Group. We were upgraded to a grand royal suite, which is as impressive as it sounds. The bed though is king - and rather hard - rather than super king and after the first night we request two single duvets instead of the single king. Why is it that many hotels seem to have duvets that only fit to the edge of the bed so when two people share it precipitates a constant duvet turf war? Duvets with bigger overhangs would solve this problem instantly!

We dined at the roof-top restaurant the first night. Excellent fare (sea bass) with a good view of the city, surrounding lake and the maharana's palace. It was however, the night for celebrating the Hindu God, Lord Shiva, so lots of loud, celebratory music played from the city over the water but it all added to the atmosphere. The second night we ate in the fine dining indian restaurant which was good, probably as good as our hotel restaurant benchmark for indian food, the Taj Palace in Delhi.

Once again, the service was superb with pleasant but unobtrusive attention given by our 'personal butler'. Our only complaint, as with other hotels, was having to pay for wifi access - this must be rapidly becoming an outdated practice given its use is as important now as the telephone. The hotel industry must address this.

All in all, an excellent hotel and well worth the stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dr Neil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

The Place, the people, the food, the view, all little details : just so perfect.
You feel privileged to be a guest in that hotel.
For me, the best hotel experience of all.
It's Romantic, exotic, classic, human sized.
A true and unique feeling bound you forever with this hotel for it can become your "happy place".

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank French_travler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.2 mi away
The Leela Palace Udaipur
0.5 mi away
The Oberoi Udaivilas
The Oberoi Udaivilas
#3 of 157 in Udaipur
1,814 reviews
0.7 mi away
Trident Udaipur
Trident Udaipur
#4 of 157 in Udaipur
2,674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur
0.3 mi away
Lake Pichola Hotel
Lake Pichola Hotel
#16 of 157 in Udaipur
696 reviews
2.0 mi away
Ramada Udaipur Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Lake Palace Udaipur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Lake Palace Udaipur

Property: Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
Address: Udaipur 313001, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
#1 Family Hotel in Udaipur
#2 Luxury Hotel in Udaipur
#2 Spa Hotel in Udaipur
#7 Business Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Lake Palace Udaipur 5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ethereal Taj Lake Palace affords guests the pleasures of India's bygone princely era. Over the centuries, it has played host to royalty, poets and writers and the Maharana's guests. Trappings like a welcoming vintage car ride to the charming city of Udaipur, the Jiva Spa boat, royal butlers, recipes from traditional Mewari cuisine and arrival by boat - all little facets that make this former pleasure palace the celebrated luxury hotel it is today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Taj Lake Palace Udaipur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur Hotel Udaipur
Lake Palace Udaipur
Taj Lake Palace Hotel Udaipur
Lake Palace Hotel Udaipur
Udaipur Taj Lake Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing