We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Stunning Historic Hotel, Very Well runned”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
Ranked #2 of 161 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
67 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“A Stunning Historic Hotel, Very Well runned”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

The hotel is uniquely beautiful, not to be missed for a vacation in Udaipur for its history, beauty and the stunning location. Their garden took my breath away, felt almost like being in a fairy tale, with totally different atmosphere day and night. (A friend had suggested we only come to lunch and enjoy the garden, so glad we later decided to spend a night.)

My family stayed in 3 rooms, one was upgraded to a 1st floor suite which is just fabulous! There is an antique swing and a beautiful alcove by the lake with a great view of Udaipur City Palace. (We later saw this room in a coffee table book about palace hotels of India.) The other two rooms are pretty, too, but the size are rather small, perhaps 25 sqm.

They have two dining rooms overlooking the garden, one international - also with nice lake view and serves great breakfast. The other is Indian which we didn't try. They had a party that night at the roof top bar with stunning view of the lake. The pool is nice, temperature controlled, if a bit small, with 2 extra jacuzzis. We haven't tried the spa.

Service was good with everyone all smiling and willing to help. Check in and out were a breeze. The service boat to and from the hotel's exclusive pier on mainland takes about 5 minute. all was very pleasant, we wish we had more time there....

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChiaraJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,001 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,734
    198
    38
    18
    13
See reviews for
727
1,560
104
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (654)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
NW England
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

The last of our eight hotel stay in India.

A lake-based hotel accessed only by shuttle boat. Overall, the hotel is very good, as it should be being one of the Taj Hotel Group. We were upgraded to a grand royal suite, which is as impressive as it sounds. The bed though is king - and rather hard - rather than super king and after the first night we request two single duvets instead of the single king. Why is it that many hotels seem to have duvets that only fit to the edge of the bed so when two people share it precipitates a constant duvet turf war? Duvets with bigger overhangs would solve this problem instantly!

We dined at the roof-top restaurant the first night. Excellent fare (sea bass) with a good view of the city, surrounding lake and the maharana's palace. It was however, the night for celebrating the Hindu God, Lord Shiva, so lots of loud, celebratory music played from the city over the water but it all added to the atmosphere. The second night we ate in the fine dining indian restaurant which was good, probably as good as our hotel restaurant benchmark for indian food, the Taj Palace in Delhi.

Once again, the service was superb with pleasant but unobtrusive attention given by our 'personal butler'. Our only complaint, as with other hotels, was having to pay for wifi access - this must be rapidly becoming an outdated practice given its use is as important now as the telephone. The hotel industry must address this.

All in all, an excellent hotel and well worth the stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dr Neil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

The Place, the people, the food, the view, all little details : just so perfect.
You feel privileged to be a guest in that hotel.
For me, the best hotel experience of all.
It's Romantic, exotic, classic, human sized.
A true and unique feeling bound you forever with this hotel for it can become your "happy place".

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank French_travler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Stunning location, excellent food and the best quality of staff anywhere.
- New Years Eve was amazing, the staff went to so much trouble with dancers, musicians, acrobats and magicians. It was a fantastic evening. Fireworks are no longer allowed but there a lots being let off around the lake at midnight. Book the restaurant on the roof (a few months ahead) as the setting is unrivalled. However, remember it gets very cold so bring thermal clothing...however they do provide fires by the tables. Finished the evening lighting 'flying' lanterns that took off over the palace and the lake.
- My family had three 'luxury' rooms, quality is mixed so if you can afford it go one step up to Palace rooms. Rm 222 was for a single but was best with decent furniture and alcove seating on the window, rm 227 was not bad with reasonable space and view, rm 228 was more spacious but not recommended with poor view and averagely furnished.
- Best place in the morning is the swimming pool area which gets sunlight at that time of day
- Best place in the evening is the bar, in particular the seating out the back which is normally quiet and has a perfect view of the sun going down over the mountains.
- The staff are extraordinary, really friendly, helpful but not intrusive.
- if you are an early riser go up to roof area of Bhairo restaurant, watch the sun come up over the city palace and listen to the mosque calling the faithful to prayer, really magical

Room Tip: Go one level up for a Palace room or if you can't afford that ask for rm 222.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcopolo2088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We were blown away by the friendly and wonderful service at the Taj Lake Palace. I have not experienced anything quite like it. While we came to expect good service in India, the service elsewhere was often in a form of servitude, which can become uncomfortable. But here, at the Lake Palace, the people serving you are proud and educated and most certainly not cowtowing -- they are knowledgeable and efficient and doing a very fine job.

What impressed us most (well, so much impressed us most!) was the waiter in the Indian restaurant on the hotel premises. When we enquired about a certain spice which we'd never heard of, he proceeded to give us a history lesson and cooking lesson about the spice and its uses, and then took us to the kitchen to show us the spices used in the dishes, and presented us with two little recipe pamphlet-type books. We were under the impression that everyone is empowered to give their best service. The food at this restaurant was delicious.

Going back to our arrival, what a treat to be showered by rose petals on arrival! And that was after a lovely boat ride.

We had been booked on the honeymoon package by our travel agent so we got some lovely surprises, such as: my husband was given a huge bunch of red roses to present to me! (We weren't on honeymoon, but I tell you what, this was way better than our honeymoon some years previously!) We were also given the choice to eat breakfast in the restaurant or in our room. On the first day we ate in the restaurant because we had a booked tour starting early. The breakfast restaurant was okay -- noisy and the food was alright. The next day we opted for the in-room dining and oh my word!!!! What luxury! We could order anything we liked off the menu, and it was laid out beautifully by a very polite waiter. And then we could lounge around in the gowns provided by the hotel and enjoy the view and the food. The food was tastier than in the breakfast restaurant even though it might've come from the same kitchen (I don't know) -- perhaps it was improved by the setting!

One thing that wasn't great -- and I don't like saying this because the hotel and its staff were so fantastic -- was the "unique dining experience". While the service and food was out of this world, the setting was in a large courtyard that was used as a thoroughfare by guests. So we felt on display in an unintimate setting. We gave this feedback to the hotel and again we were blown away by the prompt response to offer us a replacement dining experience at a Taj in our home town.

We can't say enough good things about this hotel. If you can afford to stay there, do it! It was very pricey, but the memories are enduring and leave us with warm, fuzzy feelings.

Room Tip: I would ask for a room with a view of the City Palace. Our view was of the island (where the parties...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller123CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varanasi, India
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I stayed there with my wife for 2/3 days. We intend to visit Udaipur in day time, but we were not able to leave the hotel for entire our stay. The hotel is so attractive that he did not find any time to go out. All the time we spent in hotel. Roof top is so lovely at evening, that i can't spell. Lots of indian films as well as Hollywood film shooted here.
It is more attractive, if u take a boat ride in lake Pichola at evening

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aarkay_vns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brigadoon, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
73 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Why can’t I give this hotel six stars? It was the best of all the wonderful hotels where we stayed in India whilst on an Abercrombie and Kent trip. Cannot fault it - though in fact it wasn’t perfect. Arriving by boat is so glamorous – even though it was windy on the lake and we got rather wet. The rose petal welcome shower soon distracted us, and we were delighted to be upgraded from a Palace Room (itself a very good room) to a Royal Suite with a lovely view of the lake and Jag Mandir palace. The suite was comfortable, with some nice extra touches such as a choice of robes (three different sorts), delicious hand-made chocolates at turn-down and so on. As in all the Taj hotels where we stayed in India, the staff were very efficient and pleasant, and seemed proud of their heritage property. We thought the food here was probably the best we experienced overall - and also the pomegranate mojitos were noteworthy. (Pity about alcohol prices in all these hotels – and the annoying charge for internet.). We had breakfasts and lunches in the all day dining restaurant Jharokha, which has some spectacular views of the City Palace. If the hotel is full with tour groups try to go early for breakfast - we experienced a less restful experience one morning due to crowding, and the staff were rushed. The room is not large and the layout of the buffet doesn’t work well. We ate dinner one evening at the Indian restaurant, Neel Khamal, and it was delicious. An extensive menu – be guided by the very helpful staff as to your choices - but everything was good. Another evening we ate at the rooftop restaurant Bhairo, a lovely experience if the weather is mild (which it hadn’t been before we arrived – but we were lucky). There is a superb view of the lights of the City Palace. The rooftop lighting is quite dim, and amusingly they bring booklights so you can read the menu. The menu is contemporary European cuisine, prix fixe for three or four courses. One of the joys of eating is to see the food, however, and the lighting is too dim to do that - which detracts somewhat. I appreciate that candles are not a good idea on a windy rooftop but some of the beautiful rechargeable lights used in many first class hotels and restaurants might be a good idea here. (Advice: take a flashlight). I wish also that this hotel, and some of the other Taj properties too, would put their menus online so guests can see in advance what the menu is. Even having the menus in the room would be of assistance, but we only found the room service menus in all the hotels we stayed in - and these differed from the restaurant menus.
The courtyard areas are lovely, decorated with petalled designs in the day, and candles at night. There is often someone playing a musical instrument, and in the evening there are dancers. It is all wonderfully atmospheric. Don't forget to view the pretty swimming pool area, even if not planning on a dip. As many have said, the worst part about the Lake Palace is having to leave.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ozitravlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.2 mi away
The Leela Palace Udaipur
0.5 mi away
The Oberoi Udaivilas
The Oberoi Udaivilas
#3 of 161 in Udaipur
1,830 reviews
0.7 mi away
Trident Udaipur
Trident Udaipur
#4 of 161 in Udaipur
2,700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur
0.3 mi away
Lake Pichola Hotel
Lake Pichola Hotel
#16 of 161 in Udaipur
701 reviews
2.0 mi away
Ramada Udaipur Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Lake Palace Udaipur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Lake Palace Udaipur

Property: Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
Address: Udaipur 313001, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
#1 Family Hotel in Udaipur
#2 Luxury Hotel in Udaipur
#2 Spa Hotel in Udaipur
#7 Business Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Lake Palace Udaipur 5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ethereal Taj Lake Palace affords guests the pleasures of India's bygone princely era. Over the centuries, it has played host to royalty, poets and writers and the Maharana's guests. Trappings like a welcoming vintage car ride to the charming city of Udaipur, the Jiva Spa boat, royal butlers, recipes from traditional Mewari cuisine and arrival by boat - all little facets that make this former pleasure palace the celebrated luxury hotel it is today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Priceline, DerbySoftTaj, Cancelon, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Taj Lake Palace Udaipur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur Hotel Udaipur
Lake Palace Udaipur
Taj Lake Palace Hotel Udaipur
Lake Palace Hotel Udaipur
Udaipur Taj Lake Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing