We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place for relaxation but difficult to reach”
Review of Shree Vilas Orchid

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Shree Vilas Orchid
Ranked #26 of 204 Specialty Lodging in Udaipur
Bengaluru, India
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice place for relaxation but difficult to reach”
Reviewed December 25, 2013

Shree Vilas, Udaipur is a nice property once you reach in. It is on the edge of Lake Pichola near The Leela. The property is peaceful and quiet. It has good view of the lake. The tent shaped rooms are neat and cozy. The rooms are fairly huge, the air-conditioners work fine, but yo will have to call up reception and ask for the AC remote. i dont know why the remote is kept with reception staff though. The upholstery is good and the staff attitude is good and helpful but area little slow in service. The main highlight is its location.

Now, coming to not so good things about this place. The biggest turn-off is its location again, I mean the way to reach it is so tough, you'll have to travel atleast 30-45 times, just to figure out the area where this place is located. You cannot reach by your car and also the hotel does not provide a secured park area outside (some 1.5 kms from hotel), so you'll be wondering about the status of the car. The hotel guys also charge a bomb to take us to the parking place and it depends on the place and extent of your requirement. If you are going to tourist spot, they charge Rs 100 to take you to parking, where as the driver demanded Rs 300 on the day when I was leaving to airport early morning. On top of all the mode of transport from hotel to parking place is in a century old autoT. he hotel guys just stay mum when enquired about these high prices, I feel they should be providing free transport as there is no other way to reach them. They make up the so called lesser rent by charging hefty for transport of 1.5 kms.

Go to this place if you want to relax and dont have the intention of travelling around Udaipur, otherwise your auto bill will be equal to your room rent.

Room Tip: Take the rooms in the front of the lake near reception for better view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GuruPrasad80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    67
    27
    12
    22
See reviews for
87
50
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed December 22, 2013

I am just checking out today and a bit sad that i should have stayed one more night here.
Well for the review this is really a gem in the city. With beautiful lakeview. Though the approach is via narrow lanes but their auto aka tuktuk comes n picks u up from the parking lot near Hotel Leela Palace. But as soon as you enter the property its awesome.The rooms are nice n clean. With tent roof but concrete walls. A bit cold in nights but I asked for an extra blanket and we were nice n cozy.
The staff is courtious and helpful. Breakfast was great with a nice spread of Poori bhaji idli sambar poha juice fruits n bread toast with tea n coffee. The dinner was awesome they put up alavs near our tables so we could dine out by the lake. Kudos to management n staff we had a very comfortable stay. Again to finish this is an ideal mid budget hotel perfect for families which is close to all attractions. Just a tip donot take an Auto from the hotel walk out and get one on your own.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank asancheti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
1 review
Reviewed December 17, 2013

It was nice experience. Food was of good quality. Rooms were nicely maintained. Only Problem is the hotel does not accept credit/debit card which should not be the case. The hotel is to the lakeside. To reach hotel at night is very difficult.



  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank Devdatta C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2013

I was quite apprehensive on which hotels to stay at, I wanted to stay somewhere clean, safe and reasonably priced and the "Shree Vilas Orchid" achieved all those goals.. Awesome View,Fantastic room ,Clam peaceful place You can relax there , can enjoy "well maintained" swimming pool .The pool area was clean and warm and romantic.

Breakfast/Food is fabulous and they serve different menu daily, I enjoyed my daily breakfast. .especially with the warm service from all the staff.

Will visit this beautiful City again and again.. Shree Vilas Overall a good place to stay .

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pal17Sam08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Here is the place name Shree vilas orchid really AMAZING and FABOULOUS place in Udaipur.We really enjoy very much and I surely recommended to all who want to visit Udaipur,they must have visit this amazing place and I am sure you will surely enjoy here.thanks a lot Shree vilas Orchid and their staff once again .THANKS

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sanjaykella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Resort with a good lake view, tent shaped rooms, small pool and a restaurant. Overall a good place to stay at and a little difficult to reach due to the small lanes of Udaipur. The breakfast buffet is free along with room stay but the service is too slow but the food was nice and averagely priced.

Go there if you're looking for a mid-budgeted place to stay at with a great view and an intention to relax in peace at night.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HarshBhatia1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.2 mi away
Lake Pichola Hotel
Lake Pichola Hotel
#17 of 161 in Udaipur
703 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
#14 of 161 in Udaipur
1,360 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Lakend
Hotel Lakend
#16 of 161 in Udaipur
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Udai Kothi
Hotel Udai Kothi
#21 of 161 in Udaipur
1,058 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Mahendra Prakash
Hotel Mahendra Prakash
#11 of 161 in Udaipur
773 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Royal Retreat Resort & Spa, Udaipur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shree Vilas Orchid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shree Vilas Orchid

Property: Shree Vilas Orchid
Address: Behind Hotel Leela, Udaipur 313001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 204 Specialty Lodging in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Shree Vilas Orchid 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shree Vilas Orchid offers you a refreshing and blissful feeling of "Home away from Home." We are not just a hotel but a familiar get away from the routine. The panoramic beauty of Lake Pichola, Udaipur will make your stay pleasurable and the modern amenities will make it luxurious. Come indulge in the rustic opulence with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Shree Vilas Orchid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing