We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint Surprise”
Review of Shree Vilas Orchid

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Shree Vilas Orchid
Ranked #19 of 202 Specialty Lodging in Udaipur
Pune, India
Level Contributor
93 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Quaint Surprise”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

The approach may frustrate the tired traveller. Very narrow lanes. The last 100 mtrs cannot be done in a car. The hotel has its own auto rikshaw,The rooms have the feel of a tent while it has proper walls. Excellent rooms, good view of the lake. Nice swimming pool, manicured gardens. Helpful staff. just 12 cottage type rooms so not crowded. Behind hotel Leela and close to city palace, Food is on the expensive side. Call the hotel when you reach udaipur if you are driving down to get the right directions. Else you will be lost in a maze of narrow alleys.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anil070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    65
    27
    12
    20
See reviews for
84
50
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Huelva, Spain
1 review
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Lake view garden and swimming pool, friendly staff, good location, I definitely recommend this hotel. I ' ve been travelling a lot and I can say this place will like anyone visiting India with couple, friends, family or whatever.
You cn go on foot to all the main attractions and the staff is always ready to help.
The viws from the garden terrace are very nice, we could enjoy a beautiful sunset.
It is also a very quiet place, so you can enjoy a good sleep.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank increible_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012

It was quite a nice experiences staying at this hotel. It was almost newly build tented type accommodation with swimming pool. We had a warming welcome from the staff. We planned to spend evening in the hotel itself on the day we reached there.

Next day we rented a cab and went to nearby places. In the evening we came back to the hotel and preferred to have food in the hotel itself as we found food tasty during lunch. There is an option to have food either in the restaurant or in the garden. Lighted city place and lake give a nice view in the night.

Food was tasty but not much variety for breakfast. Staff was quite helpful too. So you get out of this hotel what you see. No traffic or other disturbance as its little away from main market. Though city palace and market is walk-able from this hotel.

I will recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to have memorable stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ehsviku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New york
1 review
Reviewed April 23, 2012

As a New Yorker traveling through India for a a month, I have experienced many of the hotels here thus far. I can say I was extremely pleased with my stay here and it was exactly what I was looking for. Sometimes what you see online is NOT what you get, but this was not the case with shreevillas. What you see IS what you get and more!
Upon arrival, I met the owner who was extmely friendly and hospitable. I had a long journey the night before and was not in the greatest spirits. He offered me breakfast which was delicious and was extremely accommodating. I found that with the entire staff.
I enjoyed a few days and nights of lake views by the pool, yummy food and a helpful staff that gave me some great tips for exploring udaipur. The rooms were extremely clean and comfortable and I found the bungalow style rooms super charming. Apparently the property is quite new, but functions and looks like it had been around for a while. I would recommend for sure! Thanks for a great stay shreevillas!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim0121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Public Relations Manager at Shree Vilas Orchid, responded to this review, June 24, 2012
Thank you so much for your appreciation, we were delighted to have you as our Guest. Please do visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaipur, Rajasthan, India
1 review
Reviewed March 25, 2012

The ShreeVilas Orchid shows that everything is possible. We had a wonderful 3 night stay there. The staff is welcoming , nothing is too much trouble. Food is wonderful.Rooms and the washrooms are clean.
What a unique place this is.This was my first visit & im absolutely speechless..

Room Tip: Room's facing the lake side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bharat P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Public Relations Manager at Shree Vilas Orchid, responded to this review, June 24, 2012
We thank you for your stay with us Mr. Bharat and look forward to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumbai
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2012

what a surprise package!. a lovely resort hidden from udaipur's glare. away from the rush and the typical hotel hospitality the other hotels offer. wonderful place with a almost homely hospitality. i enjoyed my 3 day package stay. worth the money i spent. will recommend to all my friends. Lv it. srikumar nagarajan. mumbai

Room Tip: insist on room no 203, the best room for a perfect open view of the pool blending with the lake. it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank srikumarMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2012

Stayed there for 1 night. You can stay here if you just want a clean and comfortable accommodation. Reaching this place is tough. Lake view!! not the one you want. Sound from Dhobi ghaat did disturb us a lot. No hot water. Dirty pool. Breakfast was really bad.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bean_venu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.2 mi away
Lake Pichola Hotel
Lake Pichola Hotel
#15 of 156 in Udaipur
695 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ramada Udaipur Resort and Spa
0.8 mi away
Hotel Lakend
Hotel Lakend
#18 of 156 in Udaipur
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
The Ananta Udaipur
The Ananta Udaipur
#16 of 156 in Udaipur
550 reviews
0.5 mi away
Trident Udaipur
Trident Udaipur
#4 of 156 in Udaipur
2,648 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Leela Palace Udaipur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shree Vilas Orchid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shree Vilas Orchid

Property: Shree Vilas Orchid
Address: Behind Hotel Leela, Udaipur 313001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 202 Specialty Lodging in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Shree Vilas Orchid 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shree Vilas Orchid offers you a refreshing and blissful feeling of "Home away from Home." We are not just a hotel but a familiar get away from the routine. The panoramic beauty of Lake Pichola, Udaipur will make your stay pleasurable and the modern amenities will make it luxurious. Come indulge in the rustic opulence with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Shree Vilas Orchid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing