We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a resort hidden from the noise and glare.”
Review of Shree Vilas Orchid

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Shree Vilas Orchid
Ranked #22 of 203 Specialty Lodging in Udaipur
mumbai
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“a resort hidden from the noise and glare.”
Reviewed March 7, 2012

what a surprise package!. a lovely resort hidden from udaipur's glare. away from the rush and the typical hotel hospitality the other hotels offer. wonderful place with a almost homely hospitality. i enjoyed my 3 day package stay. worth the money i spent. will recommend to all my friends. Lv it. srikumar nagarajan. mumbai

Room Tip: insist on room no 203, the best room for a perfect open view of the pool blending with the lake. it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank srikumarMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    67
    27
    12
    22
See reviews for
87
50
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2012

Stayed there for 1 night. You can stay here if you just want a clean and comfortable accommodation. Reaching this place is tough. Lake view!! not the one you want. Sound from Dhobi ghaat did disturb us a lot. No hot water. Dirty pool. Breakfast was really bad.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bean_venu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Udaipur hotels

Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2012

After staying in Paras Hill Resort for 2 nights we stayed in ShreeVilas for one night. I don't recommend this hotel because of following reasons:

1. You need to park your car far from hotel on road, no guard is provided by ShreeVilas to take care of your car.
2. You need to take Auto for coming in and coming out of hotel everytime.
3. It's narrow dirty lanes to reach hotel.
4. ShreeVilas is situated at the end of the lake where all dirty part of lake is gathered and can be seen.
5. Dhobi ghaat sound comes in 5.1 effect.
6. Grass was in bad shape, at same time we found park was well maintained in Paras Hill Resort.
7. Staff was not in dress and doesn't look well trained.
8. B/F menu frustrated me alot, in CP plan they have parathas, omellette, cerals, juice, breads, tea and coffee that's it. They don't have even fruits, poha, upma etc. Even juice served was very bad, and service was damn slow. I asked three times for juice.
9. My kid was taking shower, light gone, they didn't switch on generator for 5-7 mins and water was gone in bathroom. I literally shouted on house keeping staff and he switched on generator.
10. Staying there during winter is not recommend, rooms were very very cold. During same time period, we found cozy rooms in Paras Hill Resort.
11. They don't have shower cap, shaving kit in bathroom.
11. Not value for money due to above mentioned reasons, it's real worth should be Rs2000 per night.

Advantages:
1. Rooms are clean, bathroom is clean as well.

Summary, I will never stay in this resort again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NavinKaushik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 30, 2012

After moving through narrow lanes of Udaipur an unexpected entrance to a mystic and siren place called "Shree Vilas Orchid". The wonderful Pichola lake with the beautiful hillocks in backdrop that can be viewed from all the cottages makes the view very very pleasant. Over and above the personal attention being given by Mr.Rajeev Kalra owner of this beautiful resort makes the stay even more comfortable. Overall everything including the interiors,location of cottages,yummy food and personal care makes the stay even more recommandable. Would recommed all my friends and relatives to this place. Shortly planning one more trip to this mystic place with a longer stay...........

Room Tip: All the rooms are located with the same good view of Pichola lake so, opt for any of the room all ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neeraj_KumarDelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gurgaon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 29, 2012

Visted this wonderful place with friends ! Stayed for 3 days. Each and every day spent at the property was great. It has 20 beautiful cottages and it surely speak about the passion and class of the hotel. Facing the lake and a small pool was lovely. The evenings at the lawns were fabulous. Will recommend to all my friends..Surely will visit again !

Lipi

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lipi_bhatia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2012

"ShreeVilas Orchid" - The name speaks for itself, a home away from home where you are pampered with all the care that one can think off. The moment you enter the place you get that WOW feel :) everything starting off from the people, cottages, interiors, service, hospitality, food - its just picture perfect!! and then you get to know the man himself who has done this fabolous job of coming up wit...h such a fab place Rajeev Kalra - a true amazing person at his age ;) a person who can make you laugh anytime with his awesome sense of humor :) ....we had a real good time at Hotel ShreeVilas Orchid, Udaipur and would always love to come back whenever we can to the next to be BIG thing in Udaipur :)

Room Tip: all rooms are good :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rajat V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TME_Hotels_Resorts, Public Relations Manager at Shree Vilas Orchid, responded to this review, January 16, 2012
Thanks Rajat for appreciating our efforts. Guests like you is always a pleasure for Shreevilas Orchid.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2012

Its much better than imagination.comfort par excellence, hygiene well kept.dinner by lake side was memorable. Taste buds relished the food.we were personally attended, at dinner and breakfast. owner was seen supervising and looking into all issues. would come back and stay at shreevilas orchid.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vijaymatai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TME_Hotels_Resorts, Public Relations Manager at Shree Vilas Orchid, responded to this review, January 12, 2012
Thanks for your recommendation, we endevour to have all our Guests happy and staisfied during their stay at ShreeVilas. Look forward to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.2 mi away
Lake Pichola Hotel
Lake Pichola Hotel
#16 of 161 in Udaipur
703 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
#14 of 161 in Udaipur
1,360 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Lakend
Hotel Lakend
#17 of 161 in Udaipur
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Udai Kothi
Hotel Udai Kothi
#21 of 161 in Udaipur
1,059 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Mahendra Prakash
Hotel Mahendra Prakash
#11 of 161 in Udaipur
774 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Royal Retreat Resort & Spa, Udaipur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shree Vilas Orchid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shree Vilas Orchid

Property: Shree Vilas Orchid
Address: Behind Hotel Leela, Udaipur 313001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 203 Specialty Lodging in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Shree Vilas Orchid 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shree Vilas Orchid offers you a refreshing and blissful feeling of "Home away from Home." We are not just a hotel but a familiar get away from the routine. The panoramic beauty of Lake Pichola, Udaipur will make your stay pleasurable and the modern amenities will make it luxurious. Come indulge in the rustic opulence with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Shree Vilas Orchid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing