We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“DO NOT STAY if you don't want your belongings stolen”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Minerwa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Minerwa
Ranked #93 of 248 Udaipur B&B and Inns
Utrecht, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“DO NOT STAY if you don't want your belongings stolen”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

The power-points in my room had problems so I couldn't charge my smart phone. THEY ASKED ME to leave my phone in the restaurant to charge, and when I went back after an hour, it was gone!! The exact area where the phone was charged was not in the region under the surveillance camera, and it seemed that only European tourists were in the surroundings. So it could only be stolen by those who know how to avoid the surveillance camera, hence THE STAFF.
They agreed to compensate when I was there, but it never happened, and they ignored all my follow-up emails!
DO NOT STAY. SLEEPING ON STREETS WOULD BE BETTER.

Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank Liliapunto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    33
    13
    5
    15
See reviews for
8
31
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

I never stayed here as the price that was communicated to me in my email conversations was completely different to what was told when i got there. I had specifically asked for the room price in my email and 500 Rs was quoted to me - once i get there, i am told it is the price for 1 person's stay and we were 3 people !! I didnt bother to convince nor argue as I felt that the hotel management was either utterly incompetent or were trying to rip us off and promptly left the place. We then stayed over at Hotel Amar Villas, a 5 minute walk from minerwa - and it was excellent !!!

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Vardhamana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Udaipur hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

Nice enough hotel manager but the hotel needed a good clean everywhere. My toilet and room were not very nice. My own fault as had been recommended here but after taking a sleeper train arrived and had builders next door building a hotel. Not their fault but no chance to sleep. Checked out after two hours but got charged full rate. If on a minuscule budget fine. I've stayed in worse but it was really not clean or a place to relax.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam1970London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

Best hotel in Udaipur with a fantastic cozy location in the old town. A stone's throw from the lake and from its roof terrace a fantastic view of the lake palace and the remaining parts of the town. Rooms vary in size but they are all clean, bright and comfortable. Friendly staff and very nice feeling over all. I'll be back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linnea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012

We spent three days at the Minerwa hotel. It was a very pleasant stay, prime location near the Temple and shopping streets. Easy access to the other side of the lake. The roof terrace is nicely decorated and offers fantastic views. A special thank you to Santosh, the manager, a very kind and polite person, who always listened to our needs and facilitated everything from bookings to massage and yoga. Recommended!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank monicaeandrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

although the hotel looks quite nice and the room was basic, but good, I am not going to rate this hotel high. Some bad experiences nearly ruined our trip and unfortunately we left Udaipur with a sour taste... The hotel has a good location but pretty much all hotels have one since Udaipur is so small and everything is close by.
We called ahead to check whether there was a room available and yes there was and they told us a reasonable price on the phone. When we arrived there in the early morning we waited for a room until 10:30. Then they said a higher price than the one on the phone and gave some excuse that our room was already booked by someone else 2 weeks ago (and forget to mention it when I called I guess). When we were ready to leave and find another hotel, the manager agreed on the original price. The room was ok, basic but it was at night sometimes too loud to catch some sleep. The restaurant was not at all good value for money, there are much better options around such as Jasmine restaurant and Lotus cafe. The internet connection was crap. The reception was never staffed. When we wanted to do laundry we calculated everything (price is per piece of clothing) and when we wanted to pay afterwards we saw that they tried to rip us off for more than 150 rupees! They said that my nearly see through blouse with buttons was counted as "a jacket", which was 50Rupees, and stuff like that. I had a huge argument with the manager (who I didn't like from the start) and during our previous 15 months of traveling I have never been so angry. We still paid too much and I wish we hadn't. I hate Indians who systematically try to rip off white "rich" tourists. If you do too, don't go here. Many good value options around (so we heard from many tourists).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank klauwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

Hello! We spend 3 days in udaipur, and for 1000 rs a big, clean and bright double room was perfect! The hotel have a really nice roof top, but the restaurante is expensive, almost the double than others similars. Just be carefull whit the manager, will offer you whit your first step at hotel, everything, tours, rickshaw, train tickets, even pashmina!! But his commision.... a cheat!! Don't arrange nothing whit him, and he can be a little pushy. Go away and will pay the half!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fedebro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Gangaur Palace / Ashoka Art
0.1 mi away
Hotel Udai Niwas
Hotel Udai Niwas
#95 of 151 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jaiwana Haveli
Jaiwana Haveli
#7 of 151 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
#2 of 151 in Udaipur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,871 reviews
0.2 mi away
Greco House
Greco House
#8 of 248 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Leela Palace Udaipur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Minerwa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Minerwa

Property: Hotel Minerwa
Address: 5/13 Gadiya Devra | Gangaur Ghat, Udaipur 313001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #93 of 248 B&Bs / Inns in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Minerwa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Minerwa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing