We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“bad experience” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Minerwa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Minerwa
Ranked #92 of 247 Udaipur B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“bad experience”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

although the hotel looks quite nice and the room was basic, but good, I am not going to rate this hotel high. Some bad experiences nearly ruined our trip and unfortunately we left Udaipur with a sour taste... The hotel has a good location but pretty much all hotels have one since Udaipur is so small and everything is close by.
We called ahead to check whether there was a room available and yes there was and they told us a reasonable price on the phone. When we arrived there in the early morning we waited for a room until 10:30. Then they said a higher price than the one on the phone and gave some excuse that our room was already booked by someone else 2 weeks ago (and forget to mention it when I called I guess). When we were ready to leave and find another hotel, the manager agreed on the original price. The room was ok, basic but it was at night sometimes too loud to catch some sleep. The restaurant was not at all good value for money, there are much better options around such as Jasmine restaurant and Lotus cafe. The internet connection was crap. The reception was never staffed. When we wanted to do laundry we calculated everything (price is per piece of clothing) and when we wanted to pay afterwards we saw that they tried to rip us off for more than 150 rupees! They said that my nearly see through blouse with buttons was counted as "a jacket", which was 50Rupees, and stuff like that. I had a huge argument with the manager (who I didn't like from the start) and during our previous 15 months of traveling I have never been so angry. We still paid too much and I wish we hadn't. I hate Indians who systematically try to rip off white "rich" tourists. If you do too, don't go here. Many good value options around (so we heard from many tourists).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank klauwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    33
    13
    5
    15
See reviews for
8
31
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

Hello! We spend 3 days in udaipur, and for 1000 rs a big, clean and bright double room was perfect! The hotel have a really nice roof top, but the restaurante is expensive, almost the double than others similars. Just be carefull whit the manager, will offer you whit your first step at hotel, everything, tours, rickshaw, train tickets, even pashmina!! But his commision.... a cheat!! Don't arrange nothing whit him, and he can be a little pushy. Go away and will pay the half!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fedebro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

I stayed here in November 2012 for 3 nights, and I recommend it. Rooms are very nicelly decorated. There is a roof top restaurant with great sunset views and decent food. The manager is very friendly and happy to help with useful recommendations.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HipolitoVerderin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

My husband and I took a last minute trip to Udaipur, and all the more highly rated hotels were booked. We ended up staying at Hotel Minerwa for two nights.

It was clean enough, which is really important to me, but it was a really simple place to stay. I think the location is the reason for the price being higher than it should be, IMO. I think we paid about $24 USD to stay here per night. The bed was not comfortable--it is a typical Indian hard mattress, and hard pillows. The bathroom had hot water in the shower, which is good. It took about 5 minutes for it to warm up. All of the plumbing worked, but it wasn't anything fancy. It was noisier than we would've liked, but that is reality when you're staying right in the busy part of town. We were walking distance from City Palace, Bagoie Haveli, and Jagdish Temple. It is a budget place to stay.

The rooftop was really nice. It had a great view of the city, and had a nice ambiance. The food was not that great, except the soups. I was nursing a cold, and was happily surprised to see that it seemed they used real chicken broth in the soup. It was tasty. The Indian dishes at their restaurant are huge, but not very tasty, and I wasn't a fan of the naan. The guy working at the rooftop was pleasant to deal with, and the front desk guy spoke pretty good English. He tried to talk us into having his cousin drive us around in an autorickshaw, which we were not thrilled about. But maybe someone else would appreciate the opportunity.

Our favorite budget place to eat in Udaipur was Rainbow Restaurant. It was unpretentious, and the people were very kind. The service was slow, but the food was better than the other cookie cutter rooftop restaurants on that side of the water, and the prices were cheaper. Overall, we were disappointed with food in Udaipur.

Room Tip: Back of the building is less noisy. But you'll be in the middle of the busy part of the city, so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jojobaggins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jodhpur, India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

For the price, this is a very good hotel in a touristic zone. The manager was really nice and very helpful. Wonderful rooftop restaurant. Wi-fi does't work. Clean rooms but noisy, forget it avout getting good sleep. the staff is very available on request. I had big problem with the toilets, it's blocked every time.

Room Tip: Very noisy, choose a room not near the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zak G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy, Ut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

The Hotel Minerwa was everything I look for in a value hotel. The location was excellent and very near the City Palace and Lake Pichola. The rooms were reasonably priced with all the modern amenties and was very clean. The roof top restaurant was excellent and the views of the lake and the city was incredible. The staff was friendly and courteous, they arranged a city tour at a great price and also a ride to the airport at a discounted rate. I would highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wilocrek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

We stayed there for four nights in October. The place has a wonderful roof top restaurant with amazing city views. The place is clean and quiet. Make sure to get a room that does not over look the main road.
We had hot water all day and the wifi worked most of the time. The staff is kind and happy to help answer questions and arrange day tours or activities. The hotel is located close to all the main places in the city and is an easy walk to the main attractions as well as a pretty short ride from the train station.
The only down side was that our toilets did not have a ceiling so it was practically part of the bedroom which can be a little uncomfortable.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Noase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Thamla Haveli
Hotel Thamla Haveli
#60 of 151 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Nayee Haveli
Hotel Nayee Haveli
#41 of 151 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
0.1 mi away
Udai Haveli Guest House
Udai Haveli Guest House
#11 of 247 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Moti Mahal
Hotel Moti Mahal
#93 of 247 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
0.2 mi away
Greco House
Greco House
#8 of 247 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lassi Guest House
Lassi Guest House
#19 of 247 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Minerwa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Minerwa

Property: Hotel Minerwa
Address: 5/13 Gadiya Devra | Gangaur Ghat, Udaipur 313001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 247 B&Bs / Inns in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Minerwa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Minerwa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing