We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really cheap rooms, great staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Devi Vilas Guest House
Ranked #60 of 283 Udaipur B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 17, 2013

Our room was 300 rupees, but he brought the price down to 250 which was nice of him. Manu is the guys name. Really nice fellow, he helps out his friend with the guesthouse. No one is ever downstairs manning the desk though, so if you want to speak to anyone, you have to climb to the rooftop where they will be.
Our room was perfect for what we wanted, a bit small, but we paid next to nothing! Beds are comfortable, ther was a toilet and shower in the room. The rooftop is amazing to hang out on during the day. Stunning view. And they serve food up there.

Downsides are the rooms need a proper clean. The hot water wasn't usually hot water, and our shower head was broken, so it was just a thick stream of water. All of this didn't really bother us, as the staff, views on the rooftop and location make up for it!
It's located in the centre of old Udaipur, very cool area. Great restaurants around, street food...
Worth more than you pay anyway.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank georjax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (106)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 106 reviews

Reviewed December 6, 2013

The guest house is situated close to the lake, the palace and main tourist street. It has a nico view over the lake from the restaurant at the top. I stayed 6 days there. Arvind and Mano are really friendly and helpful. I definitely recommend this guest house for budget travelers and would go there again !

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nlko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

brilliant location very close to the lake, fantastic views of the lake and palace from the rooftop restaurant. the staff were very friendly and helpful to us. the room was clean and tidy and contained everything we needed. we ate at a restaurant owned by the same people who own the hotel ans was led there by one of the guys from reception, lovely food but can't remember the name. a nice cheap well positioned place to stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chnnang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

So I arrived in Udaipur at the end of my India trip with only 400 rs and a train ticket to Delhi in my pocket. I said to the staff (Manu, I think his name was) that I need a room for the night, but I could only pay you 150 rs. I couldn't afford to pay any more. The rest of my money had to go to bread and water and transport to Delhi Airport where I slept for the last night of my trip.

Manu was kind enough to give me a bed in the staff dorm room where he slept for my asking price of 150 rs. A double room in the guesthouse is 300rs. The room was adequate with a hot shower and western style toilet. It even had a view of the lake and palace. Manu slept in another bed in the same room as me. Despite my unvoiced concerns about having my property disappear, nothing went missing.

To top everything off, Manu prepared me roti in the evening and a cup of tea in the morning all for free. They understood the stupid situation that I was in and still allowed me to stay with them. I cannot be more thankful for the kindness and empathy displayed by Manu and the staff at Devi Vilas towards me. If you are looking for a cheap, clean room with super nice staff, then take a taxi straight to Devi Vilas.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank geelongexpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013

The hotel is right on the lake, with great views, near lots of cafes, restaurants and shops. I arrived not feeling well and the Manager Manu couldn't do enough for me. The food is good and reasonably priced. They are very friendly and the owner, Arvind even took me on his motor bike to the train station early one morning to get a train ticket.
Both Arvind and Manu cannot do enough for you, nothing is too much trouble and after 5 very relaxing days I shall be sad to leave here. If you arrive by train Tuk Tuk 60rp and bus about 80rp.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
1  Thank Lisa O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

We just stopped in for a cold drink after a hot busy day sightseeing. Prices very reasonable, very friendly chef, lovely view of lakefront. I'd come here again. Udaipur is a lovely city although the shopkeepers are a bit more pushy than Jodphur - not this place though.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank jussie77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

I really enjoyed the time that I spent at Devi Vilas. There is no better place to sit and drink chai for the evening than the rooftop restaurant. The lake view is super relaxing with everything lit up and the lights twinkling on the water. The rooms are clean and well priced and Manu will go out of his way to make sure that you have a hassle free stay. A great place to stay while you enjoy the beautiful city of Udaipur.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Thamla Haveli
Hotel Thamla Haveli
#70 of 167 in Udaipur
272 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Ishwar Palace
Hotel Ishwar Palace
#54 of 167 in Udaipur
98 reviews
0.1 mi away
Udai Haveli Guest House
Udai Haveli Guest House
#9 of 283 in Udaipur
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lal Ghat Guest House
Lal Ghat Guest House
#54 of 283 in Udaipur
107 reviews
0.2 mi away
Panorama Guest House
Panorama Guest House
#12 of 283 in Udaipur
404 reviews
0.3 mi away
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
#2 of 167 in Udaipur
3,158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Devi Vilas Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devi Vilas Guest House

Address: 30 Gangour Ghat | Rajasthan, Udaipur 313001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 283 B&Bs / Inns in Udaipur
Price Range: $15 - $34 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Devi Vilas Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DEVI VILAS GUEST HOUSE is situated near lake pichola and, bagore ki haveli museum .The hotel have one of the best rooftop restaurant in the city with the amzing lake view . The hotel have free wi-fi in all the rooms and amazing view of lake from two rooms . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Devi Vilas Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing