We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Budget Hotel, Nice hospitality from staff”
Review of Kurabar Kothi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kurabar Kothi
Ranked #143 of 175 Hotels in Udaipur
Reviewed November 9, 2013

We stayed in this hotel on 6th to 9th Nov 2013, on the first day the experience was not good, as we didn't got the room which we had booked. But very next day we were shifted to the other room, which really made the difference. The room had a scenic view of Udaipur city, and it really refreshes you sitting next to the lake facing window when you are back. Staff was really helpful and very courteous and the one person we will not forget is Mr. Maharam (Manager), who is always ready to help you at any point of time. View from the rooftop restaurant was awesome and Food was good and so was the service.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the lake 101 to 103 & rooftop rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Swapna_Naik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (96)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 96 reviews

Reviewed November 9, 2013

it was awsome at kurabar...., i enjoyed the good food , great view in all udaipur and friendly staff. we stayed in room 102 and it was a great lake view from our room. washrooms are very neat and clean. we had a candle light dinner with a great view. The service was good , and i think in whole udaipur kurabar has a great lake view and roof top swimming pool and ofcourse restaurant...

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kashish V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We're in room 108 which is accessed from the roof terrace. It's not a large room but is more than big enough. There is a working min fridge, AC and a fan, a flat screen TV, 3 toilet rolls (believe me in India that matters) fresh towels and a bed made daily. Only yards from our room is the lovely enclosed and air conditioned roof top restaurant with fantastic views over the city, lake and mountains. There is a small swimming pool that we didn't try but others were enjoying it and the 100 rupees a dy WiFi worked eventually! This isn't 5 stars as there are a lot of stairs to our room ( 3 steep flights) and no lift, however if you are willing to tip you don't need to carry your case up them! We arrived very late (11pm) after an emergency transfer from a cockroach infested hotel and were welcomed warmly, the waiters even opened up the restaurant for us and made us pancakes, got us beer. As it says in other reviews you can't walk to the city from here but then in the city you don't get the views that this place has, so I think 200 rupees (£2) for a Tuk Tuk is excellent value and money worth paying to stay here. I was woken early one morning with the call to prayer but it wasn't really a problem, my husband never heard it.

Room Tip: Room 108, top floor, no window but mesh door screen and very close to the restaurant and pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melchiot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Stayed for 2 Nights-15th-17th Aug, Mixed experienece -little bit of hassel during early checkin but supported well by courteous staff. Good Budget hotel if you are travelling in groups. Enjoyed roof top dinner in full moon and pleasent night view of Udaipur city. Small pool but you can have fun.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VekasM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

I stayed at Kurabar Kothi . I was a mixed experience i had there. If I talk about the location it was superb, you can see the whole Udaipur frm your room. At the other side if you have your personal car this its good for you else you will have to walk around 1 K.M to get an auto or taxi. Food was really good but the diet coke i ordered was out dated ( Please check expiry date before opening) . Room was quite big and haveing ancient furnitures but the floor was not clean . They also have a tiny swiming pool at roof. Worst part was that at the time lf checkout the card swap machine was not working so I have to go to ATM first . Overall if your have a car and want to stay for 1-2 days in a haritage hotel Kurabar kothi is recomended. If you have have your car with you please explore some other option.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Younus K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Stayed @ kurbar kothi room number 101 for 2nights in march 2013. It was a short trip to udaipur and we enjoyed staying @ this cute hotel. Well we were lucky to get this room as the caretaker mentioned it is the biggest room .... large beds ..large restrooms... lovely little diwaan sitting on the window facing the lake.

I was driving down to udaipur from bombay and we had booked the room in advance as one of my relatives had suggested me this hotel. The issue on hand was that with the newly laid nh8 i would reach udaipur by 6am and was worried about the early check in. So we called the hotel @ 11pm stating that we would be reaching early. To my surprise the gentleman on the phone said you are welcome and we will have the room ready. That relieved my nerves and we reached udaipur @ 530am . I called up the hotel and the gentleman by the name of Maharam answered the call in 2 rings and guided me to the hotel from the station road. Within no time we were handed over our room and we were very happy to receive such a warm welcome @ 6am. kudos to Maharamji who turned out to be a young cheerful lad.

That gesture set the trend up for the trip . Rest all was usual. no complaints only praises for the staff and the owners. Met Mr Shekhawat who in charge of the kothi. The rooms were very well maitained and tastefully decorated. The view from the room was awesome.

Rooms:- large, clean, lake facing, huge bathroom, effective ac
Food :- healthy, less oil and tasty. Breakfast at the rooftop was amazing
Staff :- very helpful and smiling
Check in :- very smooth
Facilities :- roof top pool, massage center, WiFi, restaurant.

The hotel is walking distance from the fateh sagar lake. Nice place to relax in the evening. All in all a value for money place...... keep it up...

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank chefrj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in Jan 2013.

This is a cosy boutique hotel with a nice view of city/lake from front side rooms. The rooms are done very tastefully & have wonderful decor. Room size was quiet large with high ceiling. The ceiling is painted with local designs, floors have nice tiling & the doors are traditional heavy wooden carved. Room has nicely selected traditional furniture. The room aircon/tv was in good condition, but wi-fi was erratic & not complimentary. The bathrooms were large & clean. There was no traffic noise & we had peaceful sleep. The room has large window with sitting arrangement to enjoy lake/city view.

The lobby is spacious & tastefully decorated like the room.There is a nice rooftop restaurant which serves reasonably good variety & quality of food. The view from restaurant is awesome. The pool is very small.

One issue with this hotel is the approach & absence of lift. Being part of a kothi, rooms are located on 2nd floor. The approach to hotel is a very steep hill. So people with knee problems/those who cannot climb stairs need to be aware.

If you want to stay in traditional kothi then this is the place for you.

Room Tip: Take lake facing room for awesome view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Goantraveller221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Swaroop Vilas
Hotel Swaroop Vilas
#42 of 175 in Udaipur
561 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Hilltop Palace
Hotel Hilltop Palace
#68 of 175 in Udaipur
352 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sargam Sadan
Sargam Sadan
#71 of 175 in Udaipur
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Amber House (Palace side)
0.6 mi away
Kotra Haveli
Kotra Haveli
#26 of 175 in Udaipur
268 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pichola Haveli
Pichola Haveli
#131 of 175 in Udaipur
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kurabar Kothi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kurabar Kothi

Address: II Ambavgarh | Near Ayurvedic College, Udaipur 313001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #143 of 175 Hotels in Udaipur
Price Range: $29 - $68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kurabar Kothi 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kurabar Kothi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing