We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Café frappe- must try”

Govinda's Cafeteria
Ranked #44 of 727 Restaurants in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $2
Cuisines: Cafe, Indian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Café frappe- must try”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014 via mobile

After a visit to the city palace, this cafe is a good option for a coffee/beverage and some snacks/quick bites.

It is located on the opposite side of jagdish temple on the road to city palace. We had the café frappe (must-have) which was perfect and afterwards we kept craving for that sinful taste but unfortunately we had no time to visit this café again in our very short udaipur trip. We didn't try anything to eat but the menu offered lot of snacking options.

The place is small with hardly 3-4 tables which can accommodate around 15 people but it's very popular among the tourists. The staff was friendly. There was a bookshelf with a quite a few coffee table reads.

Helpful?
Thank travel-unravel-india
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    96
    18
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice food and friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2014

Myself and my partner found that this little hidden gem of a cafe was just lovely, hassle free, cheap, clean and nice food. Don't expect anything amazing, it's a cafe, although I highly recommend the burgers both veggie and chicken, very tasty. We stayed in Udaipur for four days and ate here three times just because the staff were nice and the food was good, plus if you're travelling India and have had three weeks of traditional food it's a treat to find somewhere that does a decent cheeky burger and chips.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Samika710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhuj
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fastfood and coffee”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2014 via mobile

We visited once for breakfast. We all liked their sandwiches, however french fries were not that great.

Helpful?
Thank SharadGor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Really nice place for a small meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014

This is an excellent place to have a small meal or a quick bite. At first I had a really nice salad and lassi there for lunch. The next day we asked them to pack some Indian food and a fruit salad for us on the train. All excellent prepared and very tasty!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gerda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fabulous place, such a find.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014

After a week of Indian food, the heart can turn to the memory of excellent coffee and western desserts with longing. This unassuming little location, filled with westerners, and advertising exotic ice creams and the best coffee in India promises good things and certainly delivers. The manager was run off his feet, down the majority of his staff due to the Holi festival and also inundated with western travellers but tried his very best to offer friendly efficient service, taking so much time to make his coffee excellent and everything well presented. And so cheap for such lovely food.
I had a traditional lemon and coriander soup with garlic bread which was lovely, 2 scoops of exotic flavoured ice cream which was wonderful and shared a chocolate ganache pie - all for about $4. We recommended the place to everyone we knew and whether they ordered Indian or Western, they all declared it the best in Udaipur.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JannLeonie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Govinda's Cafeteria also viewed

 

Been to Govinda's Cafeteria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing