We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A life experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chandra Niwas Homestay
Ranked #1 of 213 Specialty Lodging in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 7, 2014

I stay 2 days at Chandra Niwas and have to say it was incredible! The home stay is managed by an amazing family, proud of what they are doing and always ready to give you the best out of them. The food was delicious and the rooms very clean an comfortable. We had the chance to go on a visit to the NGO Samvit (the administrator) has, and i must say this is an experience that u can't miss once you are there!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yeka R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (376)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

168 - 174 of 375 reviews

Reviewed April 7, 2014

We stayed a week at chandra niwas. It was an amazing week during which we met some wonderful people including Samvit and his parents. The accommodation is basic but clean and the food is delicious. We enjoyed visiting Sam's project in the village and were touched by the work he is doing. We had great meals out with the family and this definitely added to our experience of Udaipur. The homestay is a good 15 minute tuk tuk ride from the old city, on the plus side, it is in a quiet residential area.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank gardengirlHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

I would recommend this home stay to anyone visiting Udaipur. From the moment we got the Chandra Niwas the family was welcoming and helpful. The son, Samvit was not only a great host but also a guide, he was there to talk and help give tips and recommendations of places to go and eat in Udaipur. I felt very at home and comfortable while there. We had wonderful, authentic food made fresh everyday. The room was extremely clean and comfortable. My only complaint is the distance into town was a little further than I would have liked but it was a small cost for the wonderful experience I had while staying there, one can take a tuk-tuk into town for very cheap. This place is a must stay!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

The soul of this place lies in it welcoming, all-embracing and amiable warmth and hospitality. Your very first step in will make you feel at home. 
Our hosts at Chandra Niwas, Samvit and his family, go all out to ensure a comfortable stay and enriching experience for you at Udaipur. They have an ambience befitting their humble personality and the large heartedness of luxury in their services. This one deserves a ‘Thumbs-Up’ not just for the extremely heartwarming stay and hospitality, but for everything else they bring to the table to enrich your experiences while in Udaipur.
 
As Samvit likes to put it, he loves to organize, arrange and plan things for people, but really, he goes way beyond that. He will be your host, guide, planner, organizer and friend all rolled into one. There is never a dearth of conversations, good humour and anecdotes from in and around Udaipur when you are hanging out with him.
 
If you want to see Udaipur for what it really is and not just how it is presented to be, look no further than Chandra Niwas Guest House and Chandra Niwas Travels to be your guide. Their services add so much more to the beauty of this charming city.
 
PS: I had the most delicious Paneer butter masala for dinner here, cooked by Samvit's father. Deserves a special mention of its own!
PPS: Do take time out to know and learn about Samvit’s foundation ‘DAAN’ and how you can contribute to the good work they are doing.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sonal23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2014

Chandra Niwas is the without a doubt, the best place to stay in Udaipur for me. Beautiful family, there to help every step of the way. Great food and facilities, and a real taste of local life.Chandra Niwas will have a special place in my heart forever

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rebecca-Cam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2014

I was in udaipur for the first time and was told about chandra niwas through a friend. I stayed there for 10 days, felt like I never left my home and family.
Samvit and his family make me feel so special and important as if they knew from before.
Touring udaipur was so simple with samvit checking the local food, shopping, art, forts and historic sites, samvit was always there regards to any help I needed locally.
I would definitely recommend this place for people who want a Home Away from home.
Trust me you will love it.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank singhsikander11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2014

I stayed here whilst traveling around India on my own and i was made to feel so welcome. I loved being here and was given some excellent tips on the best things to see around Udaipur! Samvit and his parents really made me feel like one of the family and this was priceless as i was feeling very homesick at the time. I would highly recommend a stay at Chandra Niwas i am sure everyone will have their own unique experience.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank krupasingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
3.4 mi away
Jaiwana Haveli
Jaiwana Haveli
#8 of 165 in Udaipur
2,321 reviews
3.7 mi away
Trident Udaipur
Trident Udaipur
#6 of 165 in Udaipur
2,759 reviews
3.4 mi away
Lake Pichola Hotel
Lake Pichola Hotel
#20 of 165 in Udaipur
717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
#2 of 165 in Udaipur
3,098 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Ananta Udaipur
The Ananta Udaipur
#13 of 165 in Udaipur
665 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Oberoi Udaivilas
The Oberoi Udaivilas
#3 of 165 in Udaipur
1,909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chandra Niwas Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chandra Niwas Homestay

Address: 43 / 44 Shanti Niketan Colony | Badgaon- Udaipur link road, Udaipur 313001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 213 Specialty Lodging in Udaipur
Price Range: $14 - $28 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Chandra Niwas Homestay 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ehi-Passika "come and experience" Buddha used to use this phrase when explorers used to ask about the beauty of his teaching. We are using this to welcome you all to come and experience our humble hospitality. Chandra Niwas is a simple homestay accommodation with basic rooms and bathroom fittings. It is our house which has been converted into a homestay for those who are interested in staying in the non touristy area. Most of all it is a place for socially responsible travelers and for those who are interested in getting to know our rural education initiatives. Located in a peaceful non-touristy neighborhood, Chandra Niwas provides guests with a unique opportunity to experience real Indian life and culture. This is not your average impersonal, commercial hotel in the middle of the touristy area. This is a Homestay into which you will be warmly welcomed and given personal attention to ensure that your stay is comfortable and enjoyable. We welcome those guests with an interest in exploring the local community and a desire to escape the hassles and touts that plague touristy areas. Part of the revenue generated from the Homestay is invested in a grassroots non-profit organization, providing education to rural youth. In all our rooms you will find wall-hangings and bed covers made by local village artists. We have many other local arts and crafts on display in the communal area, which guests may purchase if they wish. In addition, all of our staff are employed from local villages and trained for future employment in the hospitality industry. Most rooms have WiFi, and all rooms have en-suite bathrooms with 24 hours hot water. Breakfast is served in a lovely dining area where free internet access and WiFi is available. You may also eat on the roof-top, overlooking the organic vegetable garden, and home-cooked lunches and dinners are available upon request. We also have a small library created by past travelers, including travel books, novels, and DVDs. Your hosts, Dr. Samvit Audichya and his hospitable family will personally assist you in planning your days in Udaipur, depending on your interests and length of stay. The hosts will also gladly take care of your transport needs and help you with onward travel arrangements (all at no extra cost). We genuinely enjoy helping our guests! We are a ten minute drive from the city center (4 kms) and walking distance to many stores, restaurants and a pharmacy.During your stay at Chandra Niwas you will have the opportunity to see Udaipur not just through the eyes of a tourist, but through the eyes of a local. Chandra Niwas Homestay is best suited for mid budget travelers who wish to stay away from the touristy old town and wishes to experience the true Indian Home experience. Dr. Audichya has been connected with travel, hospitality, business and social work for the last six years and is now connecting them both. Chandra Niwas welcomes the guests to visit our village development projects. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Chandra Niwas Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing