We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing, friendly homestay in a wonderful city!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chandra Niwas Homestay
Ranked #1 of 212 Specialty Lodging in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 14, 2011

Chandra Niwas is an absolutely wonderful play to stay while visiting or working in Udaipur. I stayed here for two weeks in Jul-Aug 2011 and had the most fantastic experience. The family is accommodating and friendly, providing tips on the best things to see and helping you get there. The rooms are spacious and clean, the food fresh and delicious and the family's dog an absolute sweetheart. The area, outside the hustle and bustle of the tourist centre, gives you a much better experience of what life in India is really like.

Samvit's volunteer-run development project (DAAN) is inspiring and worth a visit, or even better, some of your time. I had a great experience helping at DAAN for a few days and learning more about life in Udaipur's villages, and how children living in impoverished situations might gain better opportunities and education.

Chandra Niwas is undoubtedly the best place to stay in Udaipur and I can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nikkisyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (374)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

308 - 314 of 374 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2011

Great home, great hospitality, great family and amazing volunteering experience. I just returned back to States (last night) and already missing all of this!!! I stayed in the two-bed room upstairs which was cozy and clean. I also liked the large roof top, cool place to chill in the evenings. Also I miss daily yummi Indian dishes as well as the daily chats with the family. I worked for 5 weeks for D.A.A.N foundation and found this experience to be simply "invaluable". I miss each and single kid from my classes!!! I will see if I can come back in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Irinette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2011

I truly have no negative comments to say about my stay with this host family.
From the moment I got there I was one of the family.
They are incredibly warm and welcoming people.
Their home was impeccably clean and tidy and the rooms were spacious.
They spoke very good English and even taught me some Hindi.
I was offered a bike which was great for getting around the town which has a great vibe..
I would just like to say thank you and would recommend anyone to stay here.
I had a blast and it was the cherry on the cake of my 6 month INdian adventure! :D

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank allyouneedislove85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2011

I haven't decided if it's because of Donna Chappati, the beautifully friendly family dog or this extremely warm and wonderful family that made this homestay one of the most welcomming in Udaipur, India. I stayed here for the month of May 2011, and from the first minute I stepped into the main house it was quite clear I was "one of the family" already!!! Not only are the rooms very spacious and impecibly clean, the location in excellent. I was offerred a pedal bike and found everything within 5 minutes of riding. The neighbourhood, neighbours and town are extremely safe and friendly, with everything you could quite possibly need within a 10-15 min Tuk-Tuk ride... that picks up passengers at the main road, a 3 min walk from the house. I shall be back in Sept 2011 hopefully for 2-3 months! Thank you for such a welcomming place to stay!!!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sharondecouto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2011

I can't say enough about my experiences with the host family and this house. simply indescribable. The place is huge, it's in close proximity of stores and main roads, so finding transportation is easy. you can also walk to stores to get water, etc. The room was spacious and clean. Right in front of my room was a big patio to chill and relax. I had my own bathroom. Easy access to shower - both hot and cold water, even though you would never need hot water to shower. my room also had a cooler and a fan. oh and also wifi!
The host family is amazing. great food, friendly and affectionate host parents, a cool host brother to learn Hindi from, and a cute dog! They all speak English well, and they are also very understanding. If I go back to Udaipur, I would love to stay there again. I wouldn't want to have to find another place to stay because Chandra Niwas was far more and better than what i could possibly ask for!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jenniferyun54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2011

I stayed here for only a couple of weeks during an extended trip through India and Nepal and had the most incredible time. Immediately I was made to feel like a part of the family, Samvit and his family going out of there way to make me feel welcome and comfortable in their home. The rooms are clean, and of a really decent size with hot water. The home-cooked Indian meals were a big favourite – getting the chance to learn recipes and try it yourself. While staying I also got the opportunity to volunteer with Development Action Awareness Nationwide (www.daanfoundation.org) which really was amazing, the children are incredible and the work the foundation does really make a difference.

I definitely recommend staying here, I cannot fault it and without a doubt my stay here has been a massive highlight of my trip.

Room Tip: just ask, they are more than happy to help!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sls87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2011

My wife and I are in the middle of a RTW trip, and wanted to include volunteering in India as a part of out trip. We had been in contact with Samvit, who runs the homestay, regarding his NGO foundation, Development Action Awareness Nationwide (www.daanfoundation.org), and were pleased to discover that this homestay would be our accomodation during our volunteer time with him. Samvit and his family have been like a family to us, and made us feel very welcome in their home. This has truly been a highlight of our trip, and I cannot recommend highly enough the Chandra Niwas homestay, or the DAAN Foundation. For more information about DAAN and the work that they do you can visit their website (above), or their facebook group (http://www.facebook.com/group.php?gid=10150097588920314). For an extremely verbose recounting of our time at Chandra Niwas in Udaipur, check out our blog (http://danandchristina.kronstal.com/posts/tag/daan).

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank D4nk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
3.4 mi away
Jaiwana Haveli
Jaiwana Haveli
#9 of 165 in Udaipur
2,314 reviews
3.7 mi away
Trident Udaipur
Trident Udaipur
#6 of 165 in Udaipur
2,751 reviews
3.4 mi away
Lake Pichola Hotel
Lake Pichola Hotel
#20 of 165 in Udaipur
716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
#2 of 165 in Udaipur
3,094 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Ananta Udaipur
The Ananta Udaipur
#13 of 165 in Udaipur
663 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Oberoi Udaivilas
The Oberoi Udaivilas
#3 of 165 in Udaipur
1,906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chandra Niwas Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chandra Niwas Homestay

Address: 43 / 44 Shanti Niketan Colony | Badgaon- Udaipur link road, Udaipur 313001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 212 Specialty Lodging in Udaipur
Price Range: $14 - $28 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Chandra Niwas Homestay 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ehi-Passika "come and experience" Buddha used to use this phrase when explorers used to ask about the beauty of his teaching. We are using this to welcome you all to come and experience our humble hospitality. Chandra Niwas is a simple homestay accommodation with basic rooms and bathroom fittings. It is our house which has been converted into a homestay for those who are interested in staying in the non touristy area. Most of all it is a place for socially responsible travelers and for those who are interested in getting to know our rural education initiatives. Located in a peaceful non-touristy neighborhood, Chandra Niwas provides guests with a unique opportunity to experience real Indian life and culture. This is not your average impersonal, commercial hotel in the middle of the touristy area. This is a Homestay into which you will be warmly welcomed and given personal attention to ensure that your stay is comfortable and enjoyable. We welcome those guests with an interest in exploring the local community and a desire to escape the hassles and touts that plague touristy areas. Part of the revenue generated from the Homestay is invested in a grassroots non-profit organization, providing education to rural youth. In all our rooms you will find wall-hangings and bed covers made by local village artists. We have many other local arts and crafts on display in the communal area, which guests may purchase if they wish. In addition, all of our staff are employed from local villages and trained for future employment in the hospitality industry. Most rooms have WiFi, and all rooms have en-suite bathrooms with 24 hours hot water. Breakfast is served in a lovely dining area where free internet access and WiFi is available. You may also eat on the roof-top, overlooking the organic vegetable garden, and home-cooked lunches and dinners are available upon request. We also have a small library created by past travelers, including travel books, novels, and DVDs. Your hosts, Dr. Samvit Audichya and his hospitable family will personally assist you in planning your days in Udaipur, depending on your interests and length of stay. The hosts will also gladly take care of your transport needs and help you with onward travel arrangements (all at no extra cost). We genuinely enjoy helping our guests! We are a ten minute drive from the city center (4 kms) and walking distance to many stores, restaurants and a pharmacy.During your stay at Chandra Niwas you will have the opportunity to see Udaipur not just through the eyes of a tourist, but through the eyes of a local. Chandra Niwas Homestay is best suited for mid budget travelers who wish to stay away from the touristy old town and wishes to experience the true Indian Home experience. Dr. Audichya has been connected with travel, hospitality, business and social work for the last six years and is now connecting them both. Chandra Niwas welcomes the guests to visit our village development projects. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Chandra Niwas Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing