We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent property”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chunda Palace Hotel
Ranked #5 of 200 Specialty Lodging in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“excellent property”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

superb place to stay in udaipur .it is a traditional palace with modern amenities and great works of art . rooms are palatial and each bathroom has an inbuit jacuzzi . the roof top swimming pool is great place to unwind . gret view from terrace of entire surrounding lakes . food is superb . the hotel is centrally located .

Room Tip: take a room on higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ajaysethi64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    310
    160
    44
    18
    19
See reviews for
181
193
16
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore
Level Contributor
47 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

Chunda Palace left us with ambivalent feelings about the property. The hotel is located in a quiet area not too far from the city centre, has amazing views from the terrace esp. in the evenings & serves delicious food. We also got an upgrade to a huge suite which was terrific.

Some might find the decor nice but we found it a bit kitschy & over the top. The food in the restaurant is really pricey. Though delicious, this makes it difficult if you want to have most meals at the hotel during a longer stay. One of the waiters was really rude to us and ruined our mood for the day. The hotel definitely needs to better the service levels.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PurpleBeans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

I stayed over here at chunda palace as I already had stayed with this property,this is just a marvelous hotel by location,by infrastructure, by management, by staff and above all its food, when i had the food at restaurant once i thought that I must met to chef( as I also run a small chain of restaurant)but I some how i could not met with the chef as he was busy in the preparation of food.when next day in the dinner I ordered for brownie, the server took the order and after a couple of minutes he refused that sorry sir we don't have brownie it was just irritating for me because my wife is very fond of brownie.after more a couple of minute he came to us and request only for 5 to 8 minutes and told me that our chef is making fresh brownie for you, I just surprised and asked him "if you are jocking with us" how is it possible to make brownie in 5 minutes, I know very well that how much time it takes to make.you can't believe what happened, exactly after 7 to 8 minutes I got the freshly made brownie on my dining table, I were just surprised to see it on the table it was so yummy to eat, it was the best brownie I ever had in my life, I could not stop myself to met with the chef I met the chef who made the brownie, I hope his name is chef tyagi, I wanted to carry him with me but, for a while I thought that its not good to steal someone's man, but I wish him all the best in his future...thank u chef....thank u chunda palace for make our stay most memorable ever.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loveofparis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
160 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

A great treat fpor those who wish to experience the hospitality of Rajasthan ! Regal,royal surroundings,large rooms in the ancient style an excellent swimming pool and easy access to transport.The living room is wonderful and one can spend a lot of time admiring all the decorations.Gracious hospitality and food in the Rajput style.Good for those who want to experience Rajasthan on a reasonable budget !

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nairpaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delhi
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

We chose Chunda on not getting a booking at Trident. And thank god that this happened to us. Mind blowing interiors, we could spend hours only exploring the royal interior designs of Chunda Palace. Rooms was spacious, very comfortable, meticulously cleaned and with amazing royal rajasthani interiors. Bathroom was even better with jacuzzi and marble fittings. There were 2 swimming pools. Terrace restaurant threw an exquisite romantic setting at night. Breakfast was of good quality and had enough variety. Bar was relaxing and royal. Only negative was the view from room. In fact there was no view at all. Staff was very courteous. Perfect for those who wants to have a feel a rajasthan royalty without spending a fortune. Recommended completely.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dipin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

I stayed at Chunda Palace in September 2013 just for a night, with friends. The hotel has nice Rajasthani-style architecture. We stayed at the Palace Room and were quite pleased with it. The room was huge, clean, and decorated very colourfully. The bed was also really big and we had a nice spacious sitting area in a windowed alcove which doubled as an extra bed. The bathroom was again really big with twin basins, and had a "jacuzzi" that was unfortunately leaking. The hotel sent someone to fix this however, it was leaking again the next day.
The roof-top restaurant here serves good food and the morning buffet was really nice. There was a lot of choice, both, Indian and continental.
The staff is courteous and always ready to help.
My friends and I had a problem locating the hotel though. We had to pass through some really narrow and crowded streets, kept losing our way, and no one seemed to know of the hotel. So, if you're driving to Chunda Palace, I'd recommend you call them in advance and ask for directions.
One last important thing: this hotel is located away from Lake Pichola and the hustle and bustle of Udaipur. This can be a pro or a con depending on how you see it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnujaPond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

We were so substantially impressed with the Chunda Palace, that I meant to write a review on our return. Due to the chaos that is my life, I have only now sat down to congratulate all concerned for a holiday that exceeded all expectations.

We were fortunate to enjoy a 5 day visit to India paid for by some very dear friends. They treated us to the experience of a lifetime. It was with some trepidation that we then continued our holiday - moving to the CPH. What an absolutely amazing surprise to find that we had booked in to such an exquisite, quality hotel. I have never been so utterly overwhelmed as I was on experiencing the warm welcome we received and by the sumptuous decor. The enormous marble bathroom and even more enormous bedroom with four-poster bed and luxurious bed linen, made our stay fantastic. The staff were the best we had ever experienced and we felt that we had been welcomed into a marvellous home. We were invited into the kitchen and shown the glorious spices - the smells were divine and the chefs clearly enjoyed our interest. When we met the owner, he was delighted to receive our praise. There was one small cloud on the horizon, when I thought I had lost my phone. I can only apologise for the mayhem I caused. The staff took my problem very seriously and the hotel went into a "lock down" situation. The staff where faultless in their care and attention to detail and my phone was located - in my room!!! In spite of the trouble I had caused, the professional and caring attitude of all concerned (especially the owner's son) spoke volumes about their integrity. Special thanks to all the staff - especially Gagendra and Chuchinilal (sorry if spelt incorrectly) and the impossibly beautiful and "bend over backwards to help you" receptionist. An absolutely first class performance. I look forward to the day that I have the opportunity to return. Thank you.

Room Tip: maybe at the end of a corridor - hard floors and heavy doors may disturb lighter sleepers
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindsay h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.2 mi away
Trident Udaipur
Trident Udaipur
#4 of 151 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,579 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Lakend
Hotel Lakend
#22 of 151 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
0.7 mi away
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
#2 of 151 in Udaipur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Ramada Udaipur Resort and Spa
0.5 mi away
The Leela Palace Udaipur
1.3 mi away
The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chunda Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chunda Palace Hotel

Property: Chunda Palace Hotel
Address: 1 Haridas Ji Ki Magri | near Oberoi Udaivilas Hotel, Udaipur 313001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 200 Specialty Lodging in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Chunda Palace Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chunda Palace being among one of the noble houses from the Mewar kingdom organizes the grand royal weddings to suit the requirements of guests from India and overseas. We have the best Destination Wedding venue in Udaipur overlooking Lake Pichola with scintillating view of the beautiful Palace of the King of Mewar and Jag Mandir. Conceived as a traditional Rajasthani palace with royal grandeur makes it an ideal wedding destination. Chunda Palace showcases the rich heritage of the Mewar region with a mission to provide authentic hospitality to our guests and create an ambiance of regal splendor. Enjoy the beautiful architecture, soft accents and decor; along with the royalty which fascinates all the guests throughout the wedding ceremonies and celebrations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chunda Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing