We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing view with great setting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chunda Palace Hotel
Ranked #5 of 203 Specialty Lodging in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Amazing view with great setting”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

It was my first visit to Udaipur and I was amazed by the charm of the city, when I got inside the Chunda Palace I was more in love with the hotel thn the city. The lobby has some great art on the walls and even the sealing had great designs. The roof top restaurant is just fantastic, the decor, staff, view of the city palace, fresh air (away from pollution) very rare, every thing was just perfect.
I would suggest the management to work on the service standards and the promptness of the staff at the restaurant. But this can not be compared with the magical experience of the hotel.
I do not feel that the property is a heritage hotel but it has all blends of cultures in Udaipur so one can not feel the modern touch. The room has all the basic necessities.

Room Tip: All the rooms are different in the nature, but facing towards the palace are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JenVZ266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

580 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    330
    168
    45
    18
    19
See reviews for
193
199
17
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 18, 2013

I stayed at the Chunda Palace for 3 Nights / 4Days. This Hotel is just located adjacent to the Oberoi Udai Villas and Trident Hotel. Around 2 kms from the City Palace. 7 kms from the Udaipur Railway Station. Auto will charge around Rs 200 and Cars around Rs 300. We had reached Hotel around 8.30 AM, 3.5 hrs in advance of the Check-in time. The Staff were very courteous and gave us an early check-in into the Palace Room booked for us. Although the room had all the amenities, but the washroom had a very stinking smell and the jacuzzi was not working. After we complained to the reception about this, we were provided with another Palace Room in the Heritage wing. Mr. Arbind Prasad, the Floor Manager assured us that next day, if possible, he will upgrade us to a Suite Room. By next day evening, we were upgraded to the Suite Room. This suite was fabulous. The staff and service quality was good. Food was tasty and not too much expensive. The 360 degree views from the Roof Top Restaurant were awesome. The interiors of the Hotel have traditional paintings and art work. On our last day, Mr. Arbind also gave us a tour of this Heritage Property which was very nice. We really appreciate Mr. Arbind’s services. We had a very nice stay at the Hotel and I will definitely recommend this property to my friends and family. This is a relatively new Hotel and they are continuously improving their standards.
Note: This property has No Lake View Rooms. But from the Roof Top, it has stunning views of the Lake Pichola, City Palace, Lake Palace, Sajjan Garh Fort, Jagmandir Palace Island etc. Especially candle lit dinner on the open roof terrace is fabulous with the illuminated views of the palace and lake.

Room Tip: Room Tip: Try for the Palace Rooms in the Heritage Wing and the Suites. They have the best interiors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nura30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vadodara, Gujarat, India
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 14, 2013

I stayed in chunda palace in august this year it was wonderful stay Hotels rooms were really big in size, Staff was really very helpful & courteous.Food was excellent ..we enjoyed the terrace Overall Relaxing stay at the Hotel The Chunda Palace,Udaipur is one of the best properties to visit in Rajasthan for its location and surroundings . i totally recommend this property worth staying .

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vshjit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

The palace and settimg are impressive at a first view. Wonderful decorations and huge rooms. But there are so many things that keep Chunda palace far from being a luxury hotel. We did not have hot water at 10pm. When asked the service desk replied that we had to wait till the morning after. That never happened even in low budget hotels in rajasthan.
TV set has no international channels, only indian channels. Again, unacceptable in a 7k RS per night hotel.
Hairdryer is ridicoulosly cheap and gets overheated and turns off every 30 seconds.
Bathroom products are scarse and low quality as compared to other hotels.
Breakfast is not particularly rich and mostly aimed at indian customers.
Staff Service is ok. Given the above deficiencies, especially for foreign tourists, i would not recommend this hotel, considering the high price of the accomodation. Anyway the palace is worth a visit, maybe for dinner (pricey but ok).

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ciba74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

The property is inspired by Mewar architecture but in no way heritage.We chose Chunda palace over Trident only for one reason - "it appeared heritage" during our last leg of Jaipur-Deogarh-Udaipur trip.

The exterior is grand and indeed beautiful. The view from open air restaurant is quite good as well but the interiors and lights were just a bit too much (read loud) for our taste.The bathroom indeed is huge and modern. The food at the restaurant is average and the place in general did not meet our expectation especially after staying at Vivanta in Jodhpur and Deogarh Mahal (stellar).

Will I stay at Chunda palace again ? No, I would rather suggest Udaivillas (if budget permits) or Trident.

Photos:
http://500px.com/photo/29571037
http://500px.com/photo/43025824

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holyash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, Gujarat, India
1 review
Reviewed August 11, 2013

we stayed in Chunda Palace for 2 nights with family and friends, and I must say it was an awesome experience. The Grand Royale rooms , the terrace sit outs and the delicious food were just enough to make our stay pleasant. The staff was very courteous and cooperative , especially with the kids. I have been to Udaipur several times, but must admit , this was THE BEST OF ALLLLL!!!!!!!!!! Would definitely visit this place again and again and again!!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikita78763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We had visited Chunda Palace in June 2013 & really had a wonderful experience....Hotels rooms were really big in size, Staff was really very helpful & courteous.Food was excellent ....kids enjoyed the terrace pool...Overall its been a memorable stay in Chunda Palace...I recommend this hotel and wud love to visit again...

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sontrip28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.2 mi away
Trident Udaipur
Trident Udaipur
#4 of 157 in Udaipur
2,674 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur
0.9 mi away
Hotel Lakend
Hotel Lakend
#17 of 157 in Udaipur
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
#2 of 157 in Udaipur
2,970 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lake Pichola Hotel
Lake Pichola Hotel
#16 of 157 in Udaipur
696 reviews
0.9 mi away
Shiv Niwas Palace
Shiv Niwas Palace
#34 of 157 in Udaipur
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chunda Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chunda Palace Hotel

Property: Chunda Palace Hotel
Address: 1 Haridas Ji Ki Magri | near Oberoi Udaivilas Hotel, Udaipur 313001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 203 Specialty Lodging in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Chunda Palace Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chunda Palace being among one of the noble houses from the Mewar kingdom organizes the grand royal weddings to suit the requirements of guests from India and overseas. We have the best Destination Wedding venue in Udaipur overlooking Lake Pichola with scintillating view of the beautiful Palace of the King of Mewar and Jag Mandir. Conceived as a traditional Rajasthani palace with royal grandeur makes it an ideal wedding destination. Chunda Palace showcases the rich heritage of the Mewar region with a mission to provide authentic hospitality to our guests and create an ambiance of regal splendor. Enjoy the beautiful architecture, soft accents and decor; along with the royalty which fascinates all the guests throughout the wedding ceremonies and celebrations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Chunda Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing