We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stopped in for a decent dinner with a view”
Review of O'zen

O'zen
Ranked #22 of 741 Restaurants in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $11
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: An 18th century city gate and charming haveli(coutyard house)fully restored to its earlier glory,is now a popular restaurant in three floors. It houses an air-conditioned dining area, a comfortable low seating cafe, a lounge area and a roof top restaurant serving mouthwatering dishes from India and abroad. Interiors are luminous having ample natural light and attention paid to every part of the haveli. Today O'zen is popular with locals and foreign tourists alike.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Stopped in for a decent dinner with a view”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Went to this place because after arriving in Udaipur at night, we were hungry and it seemed open. The staff was nice however, some nicer than others. One staffer said there were no seats on the roof top yet another seemed to find a table and cleaned it for us. We ordered an Indian dish with some chipati and rice and it was good. Also ordered some dessert, gulab jamun, which was OK. As the evening went on the staff was accommodating and let us know the kitchen was closing in the case we wanted to order anything. The night view of the city palace was good and a nice addition to the night. It's a decent place with a nice staff. With a little sprucing up it could be a lot better.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank alltraveln0w0rk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    297
    129
    48
    30
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
217 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 251 helpful votes
“Went two nights in a row”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I sat down to rest on the steps up to O'zen which actually bridges a small street near the City Palace. The staff started yelling down and teasing that I was hacking their wifi. They yelled with a smile come up and we will give you the code. I wasn't hacking but in the spirit of fun later that evening I returned and indeed they have wi-fi. Like other restaurants in Udaipur they present Roger Moore as 007 in Octopusssy (purposely misspelled because TripAdvisor's profanity screen does not recognise the movie) by projector every night. I hadn't seen it in over thirty years so I enjoyed that. The food is acceptable and generally a bit bland for Westerners who are spiced out by travel in India. An excellent dish which I had twice and companion diners also enjoyed is a warm vegetable salad on a bed of greens with balsamic vinegar. Perfection. The Italian dishes like all Italian dishes in India are not authentic because the cooks have never tasted the real thing. But I enjoyed pasta dishes on consecutive nights. I gave them a hint on how to improve the chocolate brownie with ice cream (add whip cream) and they did! And a hint for you reveling tourists...if you quietly inquire the mocktails do not have to be mock if you know what I mean. Wink. Wink. On the second night since there were return customers after the showing of Octopusssy there was a special double feature, Marigold Hotel. There isn't much of a night life in Udaipur so it's nice to have a restaurant that stayed open until midnight and had some entertainment and a casual group of friendly tourists and staff. I met the owner too who is very interesting to talk too.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JamesNYC212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCOTLAND
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“great lunch venue”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

great lunch venue after an exhausting & exhilerating visit to the City Palace
above the the biz of the streets below...
nice food
well presented
charming attentive staff

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ORCHY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Chill above the mayhem”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

A really relaxed place to hang out and escape the bustle of the main square. Lala and Lalit are super nice; Lalit also runs Heritage Haveli by the lake which is also brilliantly decorated. As far as food, I tried the fruit, muesli, yogurt which was good and a heaping portion. The restaurant has good ambiance, free wifi, good breakfast, and a chill staff, it's a good day to spend a day hanging out.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tab C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice service, awful food”
Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

A relaxing and quiet location above the street, however the food was awful. Our meals arrived half cold and soggy and we could not eat even half if it despite hating food wastage. I felt sick just looking at the food and felt unwell. A shame, because the service was very welcoming.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SarahKate88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed O'zen also viewed

Udaipur, Udaipur District
Udaipur, Udaipur District
 
Udaipur, Udaipur District
Udaipur, Udaipur District
 

Been to O'zen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing