We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best cooking class and most delcious food!!”

Sushma's Cooking Classes
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Over the past 15 years, Sushma has been providing cooking classes to foreign guests who have travelled to India from all different parts of the world. If you sign up for one of her classes, you will enhance your knowledge of cuisine, develop your own cooking skills and indulge yourself in an unforgettable, traditional Rajasthani celebration of food under the guidance of this passionate and experienced teacher! Sushma’s love for cooking began at the young age of 10 while watching her grandmother cook traditional Indian meals for her family. After dipping into many spice jars and creating her own unique Indian dishes, Sushma quickly found her place in the kitchen. Sushma admits she truly is a lover of food and for this reason when she is in the kitchen, she appears as graceful and contented as a queen in her palace. She is most alive and vibrant when sharing the wealth of knowledge she has about food with others who have an appreciation for food.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best cooking class and most delcious food!!”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Sushma made it look easy and fun. The best part was the food was DELICIOUS!! After almost 2 weeks in India, I was beginning to loose interest in the food until taking Sushma's class. Her knowledge of spices and technique inspired me to try recreating some of the dishes at home (New York City). Delicious food!!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Claire J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    13
    3
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
“A Great Taste of North Indian Food”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Had a lovely time cooking with Shushma in Udaipur. All the dishes tasted fresh — much nicer than what you'd find in a restaurant, and the price was reasonable considering the service: a very intimate class followed by a gracious, relaxed dinner. The butter paneer was a highlight, as were the ultra-light chapatis.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Matthew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“A delicious experience”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

A real taste of India in a private kitchen. The food was wonderful, the experience unique (and fun!) and it was a pleasure to meet Sushma and her talented artist husband. After the class we had refreshments on the roof as the city lights began to sparkle in the evening light. A singular experience I would not hesitate to recommend.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Judiegr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best food ever!”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We decided to do a spur of the moment cooking class whilst in Udaipur, which was the best decision to this date. The food was amazing with that great home cooked flavour (rather than the oily food you get at restaurants).
This is definitely a must whilst you're in Udaipur. Your loss otherwise :)

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tamar G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Negros Island, Philippines
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Paneer!”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

One day I decided to do something different and found Sushma's cooking lessons on the internet. And was I very happy to experience it, we were taught how to do several things including a paneer recipe which I am excited to try back home. Sushma has a very relaxed way of conducting the lessons and she and her husband (who is an Udaipur artist with his studio below) showed me how hospitable they were and that is much appreciated!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Elcampoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sushma's Cooking Classes also viewed

Udaipur, Udaipur District
 
Udaipur, Udaipur District
 

Been to Sushma's Cooking Classes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing