We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Safe, clean, budget place to stay in Udaipur”
Review of Mewargarh Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mewargarh Palace
Ranked #2 of 282 Udaipur B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I stayed at Mewargarh Palace for seven days. The room is clean, towel and bed sheet are provided. Both window and doors can be locked with your own or provided lock. The upstairs restaurant food is clean, and they serve breakfast lunch and dinner with certain hours closed in between (like early afternoon).

The family lives here, but they keep their presents polite and to a minimum. The main people people, Rizwan and Farheen, are always polite and helpful with requests. They maintain a watch of the main entrance of people coming in and out. As I travel with good amount of eletronic equipment, I feel my belongings are safe within the comfine of the hotel.

Keep in mind the narrow streets of Udaipur are not always show on google map and takes time to navigate the first time. Look for Mewargarh Palace signs on the walls. It's easy to navigate if you just keep note of near by landmarks. Within one or two turns gets you to one of the main street.

My stay here has been very pleasant. I would stay here again on future visits.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sevenup123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mewargarh, Owner at Mewargarh Palace, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2013

Dear Sir,

Thank you for sparing your valuable time to share your feedback on your recent stay at Mewargarh Palace.

I am pleased to note that our services ,facilities and most important the security of our guest house for the guests were to your satisfaction. Your positive feedback about Mewargarh Palace is deeply appreciated and have been communicated to all the members of our team.

I thank you for your valuable comments and look forward to the pleasure of your continued visits and assure you of the best in service and hospitality.

Kindest regards,
Mewargarh Palace

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (502)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

248 - 254 of 502 reviews

Reviewed April 7, 2013

I was lucky - I didn't make a reservation at Mewargarh but managed to get a room there when I arrived with my two German friends. Anyway, absolutely didn't regret staying there - for 400 rupees I got a decent room to myself with a bathroom. Room's all clean and the staff was great. Only downside, though, is it's located up on a hill - so you have to do a little climbing. But that's also an advantage - because it means you get to see Udaipur from a bird's eye view. Last but not least, Mewargarh is in the midst of a lot of small narrow roads so you might get lost if you are not careful. My friends and I got lost somewhat, on one of the nights - just be careful!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zeedarius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mewargarh, Owner at Mewargarh Palace, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2013

Dear Sir,
Thanks for a glowing review and high recommendation. We are humbled by your observation of our accommodation and service.Glad to know that you found Mewargarh Palace to be your best homestay. It was a pleasure to have been of service to you. We feel positively energized to do our best with your inspiration.Sorry for the inconvenience you had for finding the place but there are signs boards on the polls and on the walls just have a look to them and our place is easy to navigate.We always tell our estemeed guest if in case you have any problem in the town regarding anything pls feel free to call us anytime.
We would love to welcome you again.
Good wishes from all of us at Mewargarh Palace

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

A pretty, clean, relaxing place to stay in Udaipur, with a very friendly and helpful family. Rooms were very clean and comfortable and very reasonably priced. This is one of the nicest places we stayed in during 3 months in India. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mewargarh, Owner at Mewargarh Palace, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2013

Dear Madam,

Thank you so much for your review - we very much appreciate the time you took to send in your kind comments following your recent stay with us. It was a pleasure to have been of service to you.
We look forward to welcome you again
Kind Regards
Mewargarh Palace

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

We were backpacking through India, and had a wonderful stay at this guest house, it was a home away from home. The owners are incredibly helpful, offering us help wherever we needed it. The food facilities are delicious, home made Indian food at its best. It's tucked away a little from the center of the old city, but this allows one to sleep through the night and enjoy some peace and quiet. Internet was always fast and working. The rooms were very clean, towels and bed linen are both provided. I would recommend this guest house to anyone wanting that extra touch of hospitality.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jujush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mewargarh, Owner at Mewargarh Palace, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking time to write a detailed review.

I am so happy to receive all the appreciation you have bestowed upon us and on having been able to give you a special experience . This means the world to us
I am grateful to you for your encouraging comments on each aspect of your stay with us. This is a big motivation!

We would love to have you back. Please plan another holiday with us soon.

Best regards,
Mewargarh Palace

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Nice place in the city, on the hill - with a good view from the roof top restaurant. Good food. And especially - "not spicy" means really not spicy ! ;) Clean, although not big rooms. Very helpfull and friendly owners. May not be hot water in the shower, but since the temperature outside is very high, it's realy nice to cool down in with cool water.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valerija J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mewargarh, Owner at Mewargarh Palace, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2013

Dear Madam,

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us and for giving us an opportunity to showcase the Mewargarh palace hospitality.

I really appreciate you taking time to review your experience and giving us wonderful feedback which I am most delighted about.I am also glad to know that the preferance about the food was exactly the same what you ordered [ not spicy].
We all look forward for your next visit at Mewargarh Palace.
Kind Regards
Mewargarh Palace

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at Mewargarh Palace during Udaipur's Diwali celebrations. After spending six weeks travelling through northern India we were looking for somewhere to chill out for a bit. Our room was cosy, cool and very comfortable, the whole hotel was kept very clean. We really enjoyed eating on the rooftop, watching langurs and squirrels leaping across the buildings around us. The food was absolutely fantastic; a great mix of western and Indian food and we ate almost all of our meals here! I got slightly addicted to their banana and chocolate pancakes... We booked a few things through the hotel; a henna tattoo, taxis, tuk tuks and a tour to Kumbalgarh Fort and Ranakpur Temple, all were good value. We got lost a couple of times trying to find our way back to the hotel, but there are a couple of signs from central bits of town if you keep your eyes open. We'd definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lauraking100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mewargarh, Owner at Mewargarh Palace, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2013

Dear Guests,
Thanks for your generous praise. We value your feedback. We are glad to know that you had a pleasant stay with us and have happy memories of it.
We are humbled by your observation. We are glad to know that you enjoyed the food, view and the service at the roof-top.
We would love to welcome you again.
Warm Regards from ll of us at Mewargarh Palace

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We spent 3 days in this place. The locations is very good, close to the city palace and to the lake. It also ha a nice view of the city and really nice food. Ah, the Internet works really good as well.

The staff is very friendly and respectful, always willing to help you.

On the other hand, I have to say It's a noisy in the mornings.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jdsierra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mewargarh, Owner at Mewargarh Palace, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2013

Dear Guests,
Thanks for a glowing feedback. We feel privileged to have been of service to you and are grateful to you for having chosen to stay with us. We are happy to know that you enjoyed the location , service ,food and accommodation at Mewargarh Palace. We would love to welcome you again and assure you of our best attention.
Warm Regards from all of us at Mewargarh Palace

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
1.7 mi away
Mewargarh Udaipur by Red Tullip Hotels
0.3 mi away
Jaiwana Haveli
Jaiwana Haveli
#8 of 165 in Udaipur
2,339 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mewar Haveli
Mewar Haveli
#34 of 165 in Udaipur
796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Dayal Hotel
Dayal Hotel
#18 of 165 in Udaipur
428 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bhanwar Vilas Guest House
Bhanwar Vilas Guest House
#1 of 282 in Udaipur
813 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mewari Villa Hotel and Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mewargarh Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mewargarh Palace

Address: 733 Mewargarh Palace | Imlighat, Chandpole, Near Purohit Ji Ki Haveli, Udaipur 313001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 282 B&Bs / Inns in Udaipur
Price Range: $10 - $22 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mewargarh Palace is a family-run guest house and perfect place to stay in the heart of Udaipur. The atmosphere of guest house is very friendly. All rooms are very spacious, clean, comfortable and full of light. It is an amazing venue as from the roof you have an excellent view of City Palace, Jagdish Temple, Monsoon Palace, Old / new part of town, Havellies and surrounds Aravali range of mountains. You can enjoy Indian, Chinese and Continental food in a musical atmosphere on high roof top restaurant. It is a promise that your stay in our guest house will leave behind beautiful and joyful memories. Guest house is very close to famous Bade Purohit ji ki haveli which is between Chandpole gate and Imlighat. From airport (25 km) costs about Rs 850 in a car. From bus and train station auto-rickshaw will cost about Rs 100. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Mewargarh Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing