We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most beautiful property @ Udaipur”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Jagmandir Island Palace
Ranked #43 of 260 Udaipur B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The most beautiful property @ Udaipur”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

The Jag mandir is the most beautiful places in Udaipur...
It is in the middle of the Lake.
Only scary part is that access to it is the boat which is quite safe but i have hydrophobia.
There is a cover charge of Rs. 2700 which is a bit too steep but its really worth a visit.
We went for a dinner there & they allow strictly by reservations.
The food is good & ambiance is something which one might not get elsewhere!!

Lot of celebrity weddings have taken place there & its one of the most expensive places in Udaipur to have a wedding...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ankush-Mumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRHhotels, Guest Relations Manager at Jagmandir Island Palace, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Ankush-Mumbai,

Greetings from Jagmandir Island Palace, Udaipur.

Thank you for taking out time and sharing your experiences of vistng our palace. We are happy to know that you had an enjoyable time.

We look forward to even serve you at our hotel soon and create a memorable journey for you.

Warm regards,
HRH Group of Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    44
    12
    5
    17
See reviews for
45
40
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Pros:
This place is royalty. Prime location and rich history go hand in hand here. Boat ride to reach the property is an add on, one could take the private ferry for a ride on picola lake. Rooms are spacious and clean. Placed within the palace complex you could visit other parts as you please. The restaurant serves awesome food, contrary to other reviews online we were not shown any difference in treatment or hospitality. Staff were courteous, friendly and prompt. Particularly one of the managers was were helpful. If you wish to experience royalty I will strongly recommend this place. There is an in house spa. Perfect escape for honeymooners in the city of lakes.

Cons:
Needless to say this place attracts hundreds of tourists all day hence at times you might feel its too crowded.
Toiletries provided in our suite were not new. Comb and a few things were used. (However was replaced when the management was informed.)
There is no clear signage on how to reach the boat jetty for Jag mandir. We had to roam around the palace complex with not so helpful security.
There is no valet parking.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScreamingPiston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRHhotels, Guest Relations Manager at Jagmandir Island Palace, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear RamNomad,

Greetings from Jagmandir Island Palace, Udaipur.

It is a pleasure to read your review on TripAdvisor. We are at peace and happy to know that you had an enjoyable and memorable stay at our hotel.

We would also like to thank you for taking out time and sharing your detailed experiences of your stay at our hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back at our hotels soon and create yet another memorable journey for you.

Warm regards,
HRH Group of Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

We went in low season so it was so romantic as we were the only ones on the boat, restaurant and whole island (after dinner).
This was the saving grace for us as the service prior to boarding the boat was dismal (we had to wait 1.5 hours and the area you board is underneath the tree where the bats live so we were nicely covered in bat excretion before boarding). The restaurant is beautifully decked out and the staff were great. You pay 2700 rp for the experience and have a 2700 rp tab at the restaurant (between two people). Mains are 750-1000 rp, a wine 550 minimum and beer 400 rp. For two people having one main and drink each expect the bill to reach 3000 rp at a minimum. Please note, Jacobs Creek is the most affordable wine on the menu. I'm Australian so know the quality of this cheap wine.
I would recommend doing it if you have the cash. If you're budgeting or weighing up other opportunities you may opt not to do this one.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ENWO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRHhotels, Guest Relations Manager at Jagmandir Island Palace, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear ENWO,

Greetings from Jagmandir Island Palace, Udaipur.

We have reviewed your review on TripAdvisor. We thank you for taking out the time to intimate about this lapse in our service.

We are looking into this issue and would ensure that it does not recur to cause any inconvenience to our esteemed guests like you.

At the HRH Group of Hotels, we have always striven to give our guests the benefits of modern facilities, amenities and hospitality services in an authentic heritage environment.

Warm regards,
HRH Group of Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

I went to this restaurant in 2010 and 2012. the little boat trip to get there is a pleasure as you see the palaces from a super vantage point. Once on the island you can have a wonder in the gardens, then sit to eat in the indoor a/c'd restaurant. The curries are super, and the indian wines very good value too. The restaurant is small, but very beautifully decorated. One would need to book so ask your concierge to do this before hand, and arrange boats times etc!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrG29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRHhotels, Guest Relations Manager at Jagmandir Island Palace, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear DrG29,

Greetings from Jagmandir Island Palace, Udaipur.

We are delighted to know that you had an enjoyable and memorable stay at our hotel. This makes us realize we are on the right track of serving our guests. Thank you for taking out time and sharing your experiences during your stay at our hotel.

We hope to serve you again at our hotels soon and create yet another memorable journey for you.

Warm regards,
HRH Group of Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

The arrival by boat at Jagmandir Island Palace at night was spectacular. However, when we got off the boat there was no one to tell us where to go and no clear signage. We wandered around until we found someone to show us where the restaurant was. The setting was attractive, but the food was mediocre. There are better places to dine in Udaipur.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurie020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRHhotels, Guest Relations Manager at Jagmandir Island Palace, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear Laurie020,

Greetings from Jagmandir Island Palace, Udaipur.

Thank you for taking out time and sharing your experiences during your stay at our hotel. We are happy to know that you had an enjoyable and memorable stay at our hotel.

We hope to serve you again at our hotels soon and create a memorable journey for you.

Warm regards,
HRH Group of Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delhi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

it was just next to a nightmare visiting the so called jagmandir palace, udaipur.i will never ever suggest anybody to visit that place.we had the worst experience there.i with my family went for a dinner all the way from delhi, and i was expecting a lot more good things from this place.but good things are far behind.the staff there do not even know how to behave with their guests.and strictly for vegetarians i will suggest you to never choose this place for dinner because they are serving animal bone in vegetarian dishes, and when they are caught they will not apologize but they will misbehave with you, will offer a complementary dessert to insult you, and above all if you say something they will call upon the guards to throw you out from their so call well ambient hotel.but mind it this is not enough, when you will ask for manager, first they will give you excuses and then finally when the manager from somewhere like a jinn will come and instead of apologizing, he will say you are vegetarians then you should have dinner in only vegetarian hotel.it means you people should strictly mention on your site that this hotel is only meant for non-vegetarians.so people, do go on the beauty of this hotel because, its beast behind this beauty......

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank njain232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRHhotels, Guest Relations Manager at Jagmandir Island Palace, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear njain232,

Greetings from Jagmandir Island Palace, Udaipur.

We have reviewed your review on TripAdvisor. We thank you for taking out the time to intimate about this lapse in our service.
 
We are looking into this issue and would ensure that it does not recur to cause any inconvenience to our esteemed guests like you.
 
At the HRH Group of Hotels, we have always striven to give our guests the benefits of modern facilities, amenities and hospitality services in an authentic heritage environment.

Warm regards,
HRH Group of Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucknow, India
Level 4 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

had arranged the venue for my brothers wedding everyone enjoyed and had a great time.the menu was very extensive some of the stations were not even used in the entire dinner food was good but it is the ambiance of the place for which a person pays so much money mr dashrath singh rathore ji made all the arrangements and helped us a lot in each and every things i am very thakfull to him for making this ceremoney a success

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank gaurav32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRHhotels, Guest Relations Manager at Jagmandir Island Palace, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear gaurav32,

Greetings from Jagmandir Island Palace, Udaipur.

We are at peace and happy to know that you had an enjoyable and memorable stay at our hotel. Thank you for taking out your precious time and writing a much valued review for us along with some beautiful photographs.

We do look forward to welcoming you back at our hotels soon and create yet another memorable journey for you.

Warm regards,
HRH Group of Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.3 mi away
Fateh Prakash Palace
Fateh Prakash Palace
#30 of 157 in Udaipur
419 reviews
0.4 mi away
Shiv Niwas Palace
Shiv Niwas Palace
#35 of 157 in Udaipur
480 reviews
0.4 mi away
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
#2 of 157 in Udaipur
2,970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Oberoi Udaivilas
The Oberoi Udaivilas
#3 of 157 in Udaipur
1,814 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lake Pichola Hotel
Lake Pichola Hotel
#16 of 157 in Udaipur
696 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jagmandir Island Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jagmandir Island Palace

Property: Jagmandir Island Palace
Address: The City Palace, Udaipur 313001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 260 B&Bs / Inns in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Jagmandir Island Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Grand Heritage Palace of the HRH Group of Hotels, Jagmandir Island Palace is a historic 17th-century palace redeveloped as a complete destination: with its all-day cafe, stylish-dining restaurant, bar and spa . Corporate and leisure travellers, celebrities from all over the world for whom ceremonial parties and mega-events are seamlessly organised. Year after year, Jagmandir Island Palace continues to make news in the global glamour world for the exclusive ‘regal experiences’ it offers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Agoda, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Jagmandir Island Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jagmandir Island Palace Hotel Udaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing