We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inspiration behind Taj Mahal!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Jagmandir Island Palace
Ranked #41 of 248 Udaipur B&B and Inns
Udaipur, Rajasthan, India
Level Contributor
57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Inspiration behind Taj Mahal!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2011

As read and told by historians, ShahJahan lived for some time in Udaipur while in refuge and when he saw JagMandir, the inspiration to build TajMahal dawn on him. While JagMandir cannot be compared to TajMahal but beauty wise it is no lesser than the former either. Situated on the lake Pichola, this island hotel is the property of the Mewar ruler Arvind Singh. Jagmandir is out of reach for the common tourist. With advance reservations, high cost and observing strict protocol, one can reach this hotel through the Palace ferry service. The view from top of the hotel terrace is mesmerising. with water surrounded four sides and beautiful buildings on the banks, the city looks fantastic. Food is average.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Geetha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRHhotels, Guest Relations Manager at Jagmandir Island Palace, responded to this review, January 11, 2012
Dear Gus116,

Greetings from the HRH Group of Hotels.

It is pleasureable to know you had a memorable time at our historic palace.

Thank you so much for sharing your much valuable feedback. With our aim to protect, promote and restore our rich historic cultural heritage, this goes a long way in ensuring us that we are on the right path.

We do look forward to welcoming you back for yet another memorable historical journey at the HRH Group of Hotels.

Warm Regards,
HRH Group of Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    43
    9
    5
    17
See reviews for
45
39
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2011

Went there to celebrate a wedding anniversary . It was quite an effort trying to get a reservation, but we finally got in after being rebuffed on 2 ocassions on the same evening , saying that they were booked out , by telephone. We went to the city palace anyway and were told we could get a seat in the courtyard(not as nice) but we took it anyway . After paying the Rs 2800 cover charge for 2 we were escorted out onto the boat and conveyed across the lake in the silver moonlight . It was a magical experience just getting there. We were escorted off the pier and managed to get a seat in the restaurant overlooking the lake and towards the city palace. The non alcoholic cocktails were sublime especially the Strawberry Chilli and Green Mango and Lime.
The meal was excellent with the exception of the Salmon dish on the menu being masqueraded by a Basa Pangasius .
The dessert was kindly served to us by the excellent waitstaff at a romantic cupola on the water.
Ended up paying Rs 3800 for 2 entrees , 2 mains 1 dessert 2 cocktails and an assortment of taxes, but it was worth the splurge.

Room Tip: Don't take the courtyard tables at night as they have no views over the lake and can get chilly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gus116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRHhotels, Guest Relations Manager at Jagmandir Island Palace, responded to this review, January 11, 2012
Dear Gus116,

Greetings from the HRH Group of Hotels.

Thank you so much for sharing your much valuable feedback about the Jagmandir Island Palace. We are delighted to know you had a memorable time at our historic palace.

Your review helps us reassure that we are doing the right things and makes us strive to serve you better every time you stay with us.

Best wishes for you & your family and hope to have you with us once again at Udaipur.

Warm Regards,
HRH Group of Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2011

After some fairly rough backpacking through India, we stopped off here on the boat trip that sets off from the City Palace and was just was just what we needed. The location is beautiful, service excellent and it was just really nice to relax here in such a serene enviroment. Definitely worth coming here for a drink/meal - a great place to unwind after the craziness of India.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank OPRS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRHhotels, Guest Relations Manager at Jagmandir Island Palace, responded to this review, January 11, 2012
Dear OPRS,

Greetings from the HRH Group of Hotels.

We are delighted to know you had a memorable time at our historic palace.
Thank you so much for sharing your much valuable feedback about the Jagmandir Island Palace.

Your review helps us reassure that we are doing the right things and makes us strive to serve you better everytime you stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you soon and creating a memorable trip for you.

Warm Regards,
HRH Group of Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Udaipur, India
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2011

we had there for a dinner . its was excellent. the boat that take u to that place. the view is excellent. the place is too good. the food is excelent. its a must visit.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank shikhapod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRHhotels, Guest Relations Manager at Jagmandir Island Palace, responded to this review, January 11, 2012
Dear shikhapod,

Greetings from the HRH Group of Hotels.

We are glad to know you had a memorable time at our historic palace.
Thank you so much for sharing your much valuable feedback about the Jagmandir Island Palace.

We look forward to welcoming you soon and creating a memorable trip for you.

Warm Regards,
HRH Group of Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2011

We didn't stay at the Jag Mandir palace hotel but took the ferry ride to it from City Palace. We stopped there for about an hour or so. The location and the palace itself are beautiful. We took a stroll around the place and sat down for drinks before taking the ferry back. Recommend it for a day trip.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank h0bbes11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRHhotels, Guest Relations Manager at Jagmandir Island Palace, responded to this review, January 11, 2012
Dear h0bbes11,

Greetings from the HRH Group of Hotels.

Thank you so much for sharing your much valuable feedback and recommendation about the Jagmandir Island Palace.

We look forward to welcoming you soon and creating a memorable trip for you.

Warm Regards,
HRH Group of Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2010

Beautiful and peaceful, excellent service! Could not have asked for more. A definate high point on an extended tour of Rajasthan. A very good memory, thank you.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelLondoner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRHhotels, Guest Relations Manager at Jagmandir Island Palace, responded to this review, January 11, 2012
Dear TravelLondoner,

Greetings from the HRH Group of Hotels.

Thank you so much for sharing your much valuable feedback about your recent stay at the Jagmandir Island Palace.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and creating yet another memorable trip for you.

Warm Regards,
HRH Group of Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.1 mi away
Fateh Prakash Palace
Fateh Prakash Palace
#28 of 151 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
0.2 mi away
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
#2 of 151 in Udaipur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,871 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shiv Niwas Palace
Shiv Niwas Palace
#34 of 151 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur
0.4 mi away
The Leela Palace Udaipur
0.7 mi away
The Oberoi Udaivilas
The Oberoi Udaivilas
#3 of 151 in Udaipur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jagmandir Island Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jagmandir Island Palace

Property: Jagmandir Island Palace
Address: The City Palace, Udaipur 313001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 248 B&Bs / Inns in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Jagmandir Island Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Grand Heritage Palace of the HRH Group of Hotels, Jagmandir Island Palace is a historic 17th-century palace redeveloped as a complete destination: with its all-day cafe, stylish-dining restaurant, bar and spa . Corporate and leisure travellers, celebrities from all over the world for whom ceremonial parties and mega-events are seamlessly organised. Year after year, Jagmandir Island Palace continues to make news in the global glamour world for the exclusive ‘regal experiences’ it offers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Jagmandir Island Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jagmandir Island Palace Hotel Udaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing