We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel in Udaipur”
Review of Kesar Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kesar Palace
Ranked #18 of 257 Udaipur B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel in Udaipur”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Kesar Palace is modern hotel with great location! The hotel is new , the room is clean with beautiful decoration . The best thing is the great view of Picola Lake which you can see it from your bedroom!!! (the 5th floor).

One improvement request is need to provide the hotel map to avoid any tout at the train station.

Room Tip: Please select the 5th floor room one face Picola Lake.It's value for your money , not expensive...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank s_rakchanok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    66
    7
    3
    7
See reviews for
16
91
32
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grenoble, Rhone-Alpes, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Excellent value for your money this place. The rooms are old haveli style and the hospitality is warm. The bookings process was one of the most flexible ever where we kept changing our dates (due to some issues) and they changed our dates without problems. Lake-facing rooms are available at some other hotels for 4 times the price so needless to say, this was quite a deal!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WalkingTalking021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Our rickshaw driver Bilhu suggested this place and at less than half the price of the one we were heading to it proved to be a gem. Spacious room, comfortable bed, great view of lake. Helpful staff
Keep windows closed if you want to avoid mozzies.
Bilhu also arranged for us a reliable driver for our Rajasthan trip. We can
his drivers but check out exactly when the duration of hire ends so you are not left prematurely stranded!

Room Tip: The rooms higher up have best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rod W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo
Level Contributor
152 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

As our check-in date at Kesar Palace drew near, my sister and I were worried about our hotel room. We contacted the hotel directly through email and got an insanely low price for the lake-facing room on the fifth floor. We couldn't believe that we would get a decent room for the price. But all our doubts were erased once we stepped into our room. It was clean, the bed was ok (note: cheap room so didn't expect a comfy bed), the toilet was clean and it looked new plus there was hot water (the hot water was sometimes spotty and it only runs from 8am to 10 or 11pm according to one hotel staff). My only advice about the room is bring your own towels if you are quite particular about white and soft towels. But the best thing of all was the view from the windows. We had large windows on two sides of the room which gave us breathtaking views of Lake Pichola, the Lake Palace Hotel and the mountains (including Monsoon Palace). It was a once-in-a-lifetime opportunity to witness the beauty of the sun rising and setting over the picturesque lake. The rooftop is a restaurant and we ate there 3 times. The kitchen is immaculate and the owners welcome guests to check the cleanliness of the kitchen. The cook is also very kind and skillful and the food is very delicious. Again, the view while dining adds magic to the experience. The owners can also help with transport services and we availed of a Toyota Innova for our trip from Udaipur to Jodhpur (with stopovers at Kumbhalgarh and Ranakpur) at a very low price. Finally, the owners who are also brothers are down-to-earth, sincere, and friendly. You won't go wrong when choosing this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Achie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Udaipur, India
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2012

The hotel is located in the old city and offers really clean rooms for a very affordable price. I had a wonderful stay here and the staff was extremely helpful. I would definitely recommend it, especially for those on a tight budget!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K-Rupal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed December 8, 2012

---original user review-----
Subject: Kesar Palace
Location: Udaipur, Rajasthan, India, Asia
Title: Clean. Spacious. More of a Suite. Panoramic lake palace and fort view at the roof top terrace.
ID#: 146909657

This hotel stands out as the best hotel in our entire 3 weeks of India holiday. The value is excellent. The room is both clean and spacious. It has a sitting area ... much like a suite. The traditional Indian wooden room door adds character. It is walking distance to City Palace.

The roof top terrace and restaurant gives a commanding view of the Lake Palace, The fort and the mountain. Excellent.

You can arrange for a good car and a safe, steady and pleasant driver ( the one whom we used was Vishnu ) to Jodhpur with the friendly owner, Sajid.

My wife and I highly recommend this hotel !

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiettjwanthe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Few words to describe my stay at Kesar Palace ... comfortable, quiet, relaxing with excellent value for money. The rooms are clean and lovely. The food is delicious and atmosphere makes us feel at home.

The value for money is excellent and the rooms are clean and lovely.
Managers and staff are very kind and helpful.

Perfect view with an amazing company ... It is by far one of the best places to stay in Udaipur.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank a_benoit09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
#12 of 156 in Udaipur
559 reviews
0.1 mi away
Madri Haveli
Madri Haveli
#6 of 156 in Udaipur
457 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Udai Kothi
Hotel Udai Kothi
#23 of 156 in Udaipur
1,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Boheda Palace
Boheda Palace
#8 of 156 in Udaipur
448 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sarovar on Pichola
Hotel Sarovar on Pichola
#46 of 156 in Udaipur
178 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
#13 of 156 in Udaipur
1,343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kesar Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kesar Palace

Property: Kesar Palace
Address: 17 Kesar Palace Panduwari, Udaipur 313001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 257 B&Bs / Inns in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Kesar Palace 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kesar Palace is a small, a fairly new and charming hotel situated in the beautiful old city center of Udaipur. The latest standards happily blending with old-world charm give the rooms a warm and homely atmosphere. The friendly owner, his family and their staff will do everything to make your stay as pleasant and carefree as possible.All rooms have attached bathrooms. Each of the individual guestrooms has its own character and style, with tasteful furniture and decor. Most rooms has a delightful view that can be enjoyed from the comfort of the jharokha (window seat). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Kesar Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing