We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“pleasant stay, slightly far from the action”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Amar Kothi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Amar Kothi
Ranked #76 of 151 Hotels in Udaipur
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“pleasant stay, slightly far from the action”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

we enjoyed our stay at the amar kothi, and i would rate the experience as highly adequate, although we preferred our first hotel in udaipur, aashiya haveli because of location. the location of amar kothi is close to chunda palace and the oberoi, but i would honestly recommend staying on the other side of the lake by a quite a bit. our room was very large and very comfortable. the staff was attentive and helpful in organizing some touring of udaipur and airport transportation. we also took advantage of the prompt and affordable laundry service. the wifi did not work at all during our stay, but we were allowed to use the computer at the front desk, which did have working internet.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 1337traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    34
    5
    1
    3
See reviews for
37
13
8
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

This hotel is beautiful, well maintained and stylishly decorated. Our room on the second floor was comfortable and spacious. But what made the stay so successful was the willingness of the manager and his staff to help us get the best out of our stay in Udaipur.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Susan1961_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, Maharashtra, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

Amazing property where the owner has put his heart appointing each nook and corner of the place. Very nicely decorated rooms, the reception and the exterior. . The furniture, the floral designs on the wall were amazing. The food was good.I walked down to a emporium diagonally opposite the hotel, the moment i said i was staying at Amar Kothi, the lady at the emporium said its has wonderful interiors and i also want to photograph them. Any time, every time, everyone if Udaipur it has to be Amar Kothi.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank surajj491
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

This is not a big hotel, just has 9 - 10 rooms but the service was excellent. This is situated about 2 kms from the main market around the Pichola Lake, but is easily commutable. We had even walked one evening to the hotel from the Lake market area. The staff is very helpful. Although it does have a menu book, dinner was not being made in the hotel itself. It could be because it was off season (we were there in Jan). But the hotel boys were very prompt in getting us the dinner from a nearby restaurant. Overall I would say that it is a much better property to stay in Udaipur at a reasonable rate than shelling out almost double the amount at a run down place near the humdrum of the lake.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ddgBangalore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

I stayed at this place for 2 nights with family.We had taken a room on 2nd floor.I would certainly not rate this hotel as good due to following reasons:-

1. The toilet was not clean when we arrived.Later the manager apologized for the same.

2. The property just has a staff of 3-4 people and the guy who came to clean the toilet was serving us breakfast next morning.

3. One of us asked for bucket but they did not have one.

4.Extra bed provided to us was very small and the mattress was thin.This is not the quality one would expect paying 4k per night.

Let me tell you that it is a very small not-so-happening place a kilometer away from heart of the city.Rather the place is peaceful and staff is cooperative but alas! not value for money.

Thanks.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank love_ish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TME_Hotels_Resorts, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Amar Kothi, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Thanks for sharing your concern with us, we assure you to look into this seriously.

Amar Kothi has been very popular with the Tourists who would like a homely atmosphere but do not wish to compromise on the quality of Rooms, services and cleanliness and we strive our best to keep it up.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

Though it is not a big hotel , it is managed well by a small team of people who serve as all from receptionists to chefs.Stay here if you want a peaceful environment but not if you like a happening place with a multi-cuisine resto. with commotion around.Some of our salient observations were:-

Positive

1. Rooms and corridors are neat and clean.
2. Cooperative Staff

Negetive

1. Extra bed provided was small and not comfortable.
2. We paid 4k per day for 3 persons which is not value of money according to my opinion.

Breakfast provided was also satisfactory.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rakesh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

Stayed at Amar Kothi on my road trip Mumbai - Delhi - Mumbai..Byfar a great place which is a hidden gem..Neat Rooms, great interiors..A very well done up place..One of the greatest point, its on a road which lead to Udai Villas, which makes is easy to locate..Best thing in the hotel are the beds, Yes the beds are so comfy, that after a drive of 750 Kms when i slept the night i reached, i was so refreshed the next morning..The staff is very freindly and serves you like, if you are at home..Food - had only breakfast, which is make to order what you want - amazing.
Please do stay if you want a homely feeling in Udaipur.

Room Tip: I stayed in 105..Great room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rahuls9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
1.5 mi away
Devra Udaipur
Devra Udaipur
#25 of 151 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
0.0 mi away
Brahma Niwas
Brahma Niwas
#74 of 151 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
9.6 mi away
The Castle Mewar
The Castle Mewar
#98 of 151 in Udaipur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Boheda Palace
Boheda Palace
#8 of 151 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Devraj Niwas
Hotel Devraj Niwas
#80 of 151 in Udaipur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Mahendra Prakash
Hotel Mahendra Prakash
#10 of 151 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Amar Kothi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amar Kothi

Property: Hotel Amar Kothi
Address: C 5Haridas Ji ki Magri, | Near Oberoi Udai Vilas, Udaipur 313001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 151 Hotels in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Amar Kothi 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Amar Kothi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing