We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“home to the backpackers!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lal Ghat Guest House
Ranked #66 of 255 Udaipur B&B and Inns
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“home to the backpackers!”
Reviewed November 21, 2013

the old guy there must have to be the best person you've met while traveling India especially when he happens to run a guesthouse. he's is quite early in the morning and is ready to listen to your rant about anything in life. he also gets you coffee the moment you ask.

now, about the place. this guesthouse lies right at the lake. with an amazing view and an amazing open terrace, one can enjoy the breeze as well as the sunset. if the lake wasnt mesmerizing enough, a floor below the terrace has this small section which is enclosed in some really old architecture which enhances the feel.

as a backpacker, you'll meet many like minded individuals who are open to conversations.

the cheap rooms are dirt cheap. it is just an enclosure with beds. the dorm is amazing. they have fancier rooms as well though.

the menu card has a decent variety of food priced well. not the tastiest though. also, they allow you to cook yourself as well!

Room Tip: i loved the dorm. they have each bed separated by curtains and two beds, with walls
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jjeffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    43
    21
    7
    5
See reviews for
8
25
27
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We liked the guest house and its service. The best part is the view. Its lake touch and the prices are affordable. We got the breakfast and dinner in room as per our order. The bagore ki haveli museum is next door with every evening puppet shows. Also the city palace is just a few steps ahead of this hotel. The owner have their own charm and make us feel comfortable and at home.

Room Tip: choose room 35 - 38 for best lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saopramod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

We really like this hotel which has a magical view of the lake and, although unpretentious, provides everything you need including a genial family atmosphere, good food and decent rooms. The building has several attractive outdoor areas for eating and sitting which encourage sociability . Sitting on the first floor overlooking the lake as the lights come on and the birds and bats fly around is something special.

Room Tip: Try the deluxe rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alisonnz255106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Before you read this review you have to keep in mind two things:
-I was in Udaipur just after Diwali festival, so in the middle of Indian holidays, and many places where fully booked and crowded
-I was a little sick, so not feeling amazing, and in need of some rest

So when in the morning, escaping from another guesthouse where I had not closed an eye, I arrived in Lalghat it was peaceful and quiet.
I was showed a single room, which was tiny and the common bathroom far away, so I decided to stay in the dorm. The dormitory was clean, spacious and divided in compartments, so you have some privacy. Each compartment contains two beds which can also be separated from each other by curtains. You can place and lock your luggage in boxes under the foldable mattress. The shower was a luxury, so much hot water poured down on me.
(The bathrooms have squatting toilets though, just in case you don't like those...)

I was ready for a good night's sleep when in the evening the place somehow turned extremely noisy. (The people in the dorm were all silent and trying to sleep.) Even with ear plugs there was no escape from shouting indians and a loud tv. Because the building is so old it gets noisy quickly. I guess/hope that in a more quiet/less touristy period this is not the case.

- Furthermore, people are allowed to smoke in the building and courtyard. Even if the place is a big open space, it gets a little smokey.

+ The view from the rooftop and balcony are nice, the guesthouse is right at the water.
+ There is good wifi.
- The food is a little expensive compared to other places.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karlijnemijntje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Not the most prepossessing guest house on arrival at its entrance don't be dissuaded. The kitchen, reception desk, internet room, bicycle storage and shop are all combined in this one rather large area. Walk through to the courtyard which features a banquet -sized wooden table shaded by bouganvilia and trees and the the aspect changes with a glimpse of the sparking lake through the family's living area. Walk up the stone step of the old building and onto the roof and a stunning view of the whole lake opens up. This is where most guests take their meals although the elegant stone alcove jutting over the water on the second floor with old arched windows is my favourite. This guesthouse has a range of rooms from the super cheap dormitory for a couple of euros per night to the stylish deluxe room with air con and a TV for about 25 euros. In between are a range of fan rooms with attached bathrooms with showers for around 16 euros and smaller cell-like rooms without ablutions, for the budget conscious backpacker, for even less. The food is good and service fast. There is an extensive library and the wi-fi is free. Our room at the end of the second get reception but most other places do. There was some annoying grinding and hammering noises in the daytime from workers repairing the stonework ghat the next door during this recent visit but that work should be completed before long. The manager, Sanjay, can arrange travel, pack and ship goods, change money (at good rates), and more. He's great! The guesthouse enjoys one of the best locations in Udaipur - right on the lake, close to the Jagdish temple and the Palace where all the best shops and services like chemists, tailors, and clothing and curio shops are. We have been regular guests at this place for a number of years having tried a number of others. We find no need to change.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

This is probably one of the oldest guest houses around Lake Pichola & that itself gives me a high. In my opinion one of the best views of Lake Pichola can be relished from here.

Since we were travelling just before the tourist season, we got an excellent deal in terms of the price & it costed us approx Rs.600 per room per day. For the view & experience you get from here this is probably a bumper deal. The owner of the place is friendly & will guide you with the places to visit around Udaipur.

A word of caution is not to try the food here as it was below par & you can get better options outside in the city.

Overall if you're looking for cheap stay options with the best views of the Lake & its surrounding then don't even think twice, just choose Lal Ghat.

Room Tip: Heritage rooms will cost you more but will give you access to the best view of the lake & its su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VikramKa5i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Very expensive considering what we paid for other hotels for the same room - a double bed and private ensuite. The sheets were dirty and the room generally unclean. We had to ask for the bathroom to be cleaned after our check-in. It was "cleaned", yet the previous guests hair remained stuck to the walls and the toilet was dirty. The only positive was the view from the terrace.

Room Tip: The dorm seemed alot better value and still had a fan
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophielg91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Udaipur hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Gangaur Palace / Ashoka Art
0.2 mi away
Dream Heaven Guest House
Dream Heaven Guest House
#17 of 255 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pratap Bhawan
Pratap Bhawan
#30 of 255 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bhanwar Vilas Guest House
Bhanwar Vilas Guest House
#1 of 255 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kesar Palace
Kesar Palace
#19 of 255 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hibiscus Guest House
Hibiscus Guest House
#49 of 255 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lal Ghat Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lal Ghat Guest House

Property: Lal Ghat Guest House
Address: 33 Lal Ghat Guest House Lal Ghat | behind Jagdish Temple, Udaipur 313001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 255 B&Bs / Inns in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Lal Ghat Guest House 1*
Number of rooms: 24

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing