We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relies on the location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lal Ghat Guest House
Ranked #53 of 282 Udaipur B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

We arrived in udaipur at 5 in the morning without ore booking so we were pretty desperate for somewhere to stay and were shown a very basic white room fairly similar to a prison (we imagine)! They said for a double room without a bathroom it was 400rs fixed price which we thought was very overpriced! We decided to stay as we were overcome by exhaustion but there were no blankets so we asked for some and they threw in two very manky looking blankets - we understand that they were tired but found them to be rude!
The view from the terrace was absolutely beautiful and I can understand why they get away with these prices, but we found the management to be very dismissive.
It also had a really good social atmosphere and we met a few people there!

Worth going to meet people and if you don't mind sharing a bathroom!!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anossaviagem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (107)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

73 - 79 of 107 reviews

Reviewed January 20, 2013

Once you have a look of the clean and simple rooms with beautiful views over the lake, and the big table in the inner courtyard where you may join other guests and share travel tips over a good coffee, or lassis...all at a very reasonable price, you feel like it is the right place to be. There is also a terrace upstairs for great pics of the Palace. Mr Sanjay runs the GH taking care of details. As it is said among travelers: you can always have a problem, but what matters is how long does the manager take to solve it. Sanjay and his father share a busy agenda: GH rooms, breakfast and snacks prepared on the spot (you can watch the clean kitchen), tours and transport arrangements. I met there some of my best friends now, from London, Melbourne, Bogotá....I have been 1º time in 2010 and keeps going very well.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cata M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

very nice place in udaipur. simple, clean and not so expensive rooms with bathroom and hot shower. rooms and rooftop with lakeview. no roomservice but you can order drinks and food and they will bring it to rooftop. i have seen so much guest houses in india and lalghat is one of the good ones.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank affenarsch49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

i visited udaipur on 30th Nov and 1st December 2012 ,i stayed at Lal ghat guest House for two nights
here i m sharing my experience about a Double Deluxe Room worth Rs 600
Goods- 1.Very Neat and Clean Rooms
2.Very Silent and Calm which gives you Relaxation and make you feel good
3.Located at The Best Location Of udaipur Near Pichhola lake
4.wi fi is freely Awailable if you have smart phone or laptop
5.Hot water available in bathrooms
6.sleep quality in night was excellent
7. Bed sheets and cushions pillow and blanket all were very clean and washed

Bad ;- Although not too many but yes there are few
1.Rooms were pretty old type as there are nothing modern architecture in rooms
2.Bath rooms were not that clean i think they need to improve it
3.No Television was there
4.even they did not provide Soap and Towel in Toilet
5.what i really didn't like was they don't give you attention at all ,once you paid and got your room their job is done ,now whatever you need you have to go down and say ....thats really poor.....
there is no intercom phones in room and no service boy will come to you and ask u for any difficulty or need
even they don't sent drinking water to there guest as i myself went down to ask whether they provide drinking water in rooms ...they said NO...Its Self Service ....i mean no Hotel Service At all
so you don't expect Hospitality there but no problem other than that
so it was my over all Experience i m sharing here and hope it will Help travelers and if Hotel Owner is reading he will try to improve the Negatives....
i rate this hotel 3 out of 5 , it could be 4 but -1 for lack of hospitality

Room Tip: my room was room no.32 and i Would Recommend that room if you are going for 600 Rs Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A2khan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We booked in advance a triple bed room. When we arrived, no one could remember my reservation or even didn't write down any note about! The staff was very unfriendly and showed me a db room with the possibility for an extra mattress- but there was almost no space for two persons in this room. Further, the prices didn't match with them I heard at the phone. It was much more expensive!
The staff didn't apologize or anything. We left very angry and unsatisfied.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Aniko K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Cheap simple and clean, Best location can see 3 out of 4 major sights with in 1 hour walking fmo hotel. Also has great roof view of lake palace to watch sunset. Not scammy, 300 rs for double with no ensuite. be careful with a mosquito coil as not great ventalation. But otherwise highly recommeded.

Room Tip: higher rooms are more expensive, but its the view from roof thats priceless
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marc o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2012

Lalghat guesthouse was a great option while visiting Udaipur. The view from the balcony of the lake was pretty well unsurpassed by anywhere else we visited. The rooms were quite basic but they were clean and felt safe. We did get a little stomach cramp from eating museli and yoghurt at the guesthouse, however that was just bad luck. I'd recommend Lalghat to other travellers looking for good value and atmosphere.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank somedays_i_am
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0 mi away
Hotel The Tiger
Hotel The Tiger
#72 of 167 in Udaipur
386 reviews
0 mi away
Mewar Haveli
Mewar Haveli
#35 of 167 in Udaipur
802 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Hanuman Ghat
Hotel Hanuman Ghat
#74 of 167 in Udaipur
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Greco House
Greco House
#6 of 282 in Udaipur
208 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jheel Guest House
Jheel Guest House
#39 of 282 in Udaipur
175 reviews
0.2 mi away
Panorama Guest House
Panorama Guest House
#12 of 282 in Udaipur
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lal Ghat Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lal Ghat Guest House

Address: 33 Lal Ghat | behind Jagdish Temple, Udaipur 313001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 282 B&Bs / Inns in Udaipur
Price Range: $11 - $87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Lal Ghat Guest House 1*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Lal Ghat Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing