We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Never staying here, horrible experience!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Udaigarh Udaipur

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Udaigarh Udaipur
Ranked #40 of 151 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Sacramento
Level Contributor
81 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Never staying here, horrible experience!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

Arrived here late at night and upon getting close to the hotel we find out we have to haul our luggage up this narrow lane. We called for help but they were taking so long and the driver was getting impatient. Finally the front guy went outside to help carry the rest of the bags.

Once the bags were in we had to wait a good 15 minutes for some other guy to come and check us in. We got a room on the first floor and the basin in the bathroom would leak when you turned it on. The room was spacious and the cracks in the windows were covered with tape. When you asked for someone to come fix it, it took a while and the staff was staying below us. So you heard the chatter from them and the screaming throughout the night. It was annyoying and unpleasant. I happened to peer down the floor below where the staff was staying and I was disgusted. I couldn't wait to get out of this place. After an unpleasant night sleep we went up for breakfast and the only saving grace for this forsaken place is the view at the top of the hotel.

Breakfast took a while and we had to rush through it since checkout was at 10am or pay for another days stay. Since we were not leaving till later in the evening we had our luggage stored and with the exception of one person not everyone was helpful.

You get wifi but only in the lobby of the first floor.

I was stunned to see a Trip Advisor approved sticker in the front of the place, I personally don't think it deserves it. Recommend to chose another place over this.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ash0902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    131
    38
    28
    20
See reviews for
91
117
19
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

Antique feel haveli rooms, super responsive staff (check out waiter Badri), backdrop of City Palace and Lake Palace on lake Picchola makes this a super value hotel.

Approach is through a small lane, but once inside, the ambience is very warm and friendly.

Try the rooftop dinner, with laal maas and candle lights, and City Palace amd Lake Picchola in the background, simply romantic.

New management is warm and friendly, location is central. SUPER VALUE.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AbhijitMajumdar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

I've spent the last three days at hotel Udai Garh and can honestly say it's one of the worst hotels I've ever stayed in.

The deluxe room is very overpriced for what is provided. There is no t.v or anything to make beverages with, the Heater doesn't work and the blankets (that I had to ask for more than once) smell of urine.

There is no wifi unless you are in the ground floor lobby. Hot showers are hard to come by and it normally takes three trips to the reception desk before they'll finally turn the boiler on.

The staff are useless, inexperienced, (although it isn't their fault as they haven't been trained properly) and speak very little English. They can't understand basic requests like asking for toilet paper. You need to ask about three times for your request before they'll actually do it.

There is no way that they can justify $40-$50 a night here. I've had much better experiences in cheaper hotels and hostels and wish we'd never stayed here. There is no chance for a refund either as we payed upfront through Agoda.

Overall, it's been a very frustrating stay!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tessaclaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

We are currently staying at Udai Garh and have been excited to be here, treating a group of six of us backpackers for NY, therefore we have treated ourselves largely by paying 40-50 per room. We booked two standard rooms and one deluxe, one of the standard rooms was so poor that we argued to have them upgraded to Deluxe, which is also poor and funnily enough the one standard room is better than the two deluxe. We have had no hot water, one bathroom stinks (Deluxe) and in another the toilet seat isn't attached, the drain is blocked and the toilet won't flush. We have approached them about the hot water and they tried to explain that there is a hot tap, and a cold tap, as if we didn't know how to work a shower. With just the hot tap on the shower is luke warm - cold.
The roof top is nice but the pool is infested with pigeons and crows leaving a film on the water.
We booked through Agoda.com and unfortunately they took payment up front so we have two more nights here, otherwise we would leave.
Clearly the situation here is that some guy has bought the hotel, thrown a manager in place who has no previous experience (he's worked here five days) and some workers who don't seem to have experience either. The man managing the restaurant during the day didn't know what a lemon was, for lemon soda. It's not their fault though, it's poor ownership.
We are just gutted that we wanted to treat ourselves and can't believe that for these prices we are experiencing such poor management - you would expect that basic amenities are provided like hot water and wi-if in the rooms (only accessible from the lobby).
Would NOT recommend!! However Hotel Minerwa was great if you want a suggestion.

Room Tip: Don't bother staying here, it's not worth the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Isthisnamegone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

We experienced wonderful hotels in India until we arrived in Udaipur. We had driven 10 long hours from Delhi only to discover that the hotel is on a narrow lane in Old City of Udaipur that cannot be accessed by car. Our driver dropped us off near the lake and we hiked the short distance up the hill. We rounded a corner and found the narrow pathway blocked by the biggest dark brown cow I had ever seen, standing sideways on the trail. Once past that impediment, we passed two more cows, and lots of street dogs on our way to our destination, which had no sign. We entered a down-at-the-heels reception area with dirty couches and were met with expressionless stares by the three hotel reception "staff" of three young men--their expressions seemed to say, "What are you doing here?" I wondered the same.

I was asked to fill out the same information twice on two different forms. Sign-in took about 15 minutes, as opposed to the standard five that we had experienced in previous hotels. We were given keys to rooms 303 and 302, but then led to 203 and 202 which are located on the First Floor--color us confused!

The is no elevator in the hotel, nor TVs in the rooms. The rooms have no windows, only small wooden doors that look out on nothing attractive. Ask for a lake view if you are determined to stay here. The hot water is limited to 6:30-11:30 in morning and afternoon, but it often runs out during those times.

The rooms are noisy, as there are many street dogs in the surrounding lanes that often start howling in the morning. Pigeons also make a lot of racket in the morning. The first morning I was awakened by barking and howling of at least 30 dogs at 6:00am.

The internet access does not reach the rooms, so you must access it from the lobby.

The included breakfast is served on the rooftop. It was inedible! I am not a fussy eater, but could not eat the undercooked fried eggs that stared up at me--I had been very careful to ask for eggs turned over easy, but got gelatinous eggs. You can get papaya chunks with banana. Toast comes dry with no butter or jelly.

The rooftop has a pool that looks out over the lake. At night the views from this rooftop are the most gorgeous you will ever see. The City palace is a block away and stunning in its lighted magnificence at night. All the lighted hotels around the lake complete the scene. We were able to get Kingfisher beer up there, along with Masala Peanuts (Spanish peanuts prepared with grated red onion, cilantro, and spices--Yum!). That was a plus for the hotel.

The City Palace is an easy walk away and well worth the time to visit. It is beautiful and fascinating. It includes an interesting museum. Next to TajMahal, it was my next favorite site visited in our 12 days of touring.

We breakfasted at the nearby Namaste Cafe. Though the service was slow as molasses, they do serve black coffee that is good and decent apple crumb pie. We ordered grilled tomato and cheese sandwiches on their home-baked brown bread. It was kind to our stomachs that were recovering from Delhi Belly. Carry Imodium on your person in India to take when you feel the first signs of gastric distress. I did, and suffered far less than my companions who really suffered. It took me a day to recover compared to their two days. We were all pretty wary of the food thereafter. We had attended a five day wedding and eaten the great food without incident. We think that some tandoori grilled meat in Jaipur was the culprit.

If you come to Udaipur, I do not recommend that you stay at this hotel

Room Tip: Bring wax earplugs for the noise. Avoid breakfast here. Do try the Masala Peanuts on the roof.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellingSharon_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012

This place is quite nice, the minimalist facade is hiding this gem-to-be, almost stylishly modern as you enter past the reception area. On the 2nd floor it's open to the sky within. Now; if they just redid their service at the rooftop. You cannot have a place this nice throughout, minimalist and clean, AND have two sunbeds that were seemingly bought third-hand and are worn beyond belief. Where did you get those? The pool is gorgeous, but the tables and chairs are not. Needs lacquer, needs maintenance! Go to your two neighbour havelis and see the difference. There was no shadow area either when we were here, lunch in the sun? i don't think so, buy a parasol or two. We went somewhere else. We didn't eat here except breakfast. We were put off by service, lack of menus, and the fact that breakfast is ok, (porridge or your standard masala omelette with "toast"), but impresses noone. And hey: don't be stingy, choose between juice and fruit? Come on! Treat your guests and they'll be happy! Don't save on r50. This is not a budget place. The 2 neighbours havelis seem to do it much better. Also you can't hire 14yrs olds who have no idea how to even make coffee. And get some white shirts so things look better. Then it'll be worth the price. The sunrise, to be positive for a second, is quite beautiful on the roof, you get the sun way before others, so get up early go for a morning swim, and see the light hit the Lake Palace.
The rooms are immaculate, we had a deluxe, (nothing is however facing the lake for some obscure reason), hotwater so-so, receptionstaff friendly and helpful. BUT you have fierce competition and the Haveli, no name mentioned, to your down and left is a gorgeous building, and another world on the roof, well worth a dinnervisit. Expect it to be somewhat pricier, (although it is still cheap). So owners, clean up your roof, manage your rooftop staff and you will have a very nice place indeed. Thankfully no tv's in the room either! (Wifi only in the reception area).
But please please get rid of that red neon sign which you can't see from the hotel itself, but from the lake and from the neighbours. Shame on you. It's terrible.
Location is good, although close to the main strip outside the City Palace with all its "very eager shopowners". Decent coffee and bookstore within reach. Definetely walk to the other side, quieter and other beautiful havelis there to look at or visit. And yes, don't miss the Ambrai restaurant (or if you can afford it, stay there.) So Udai Garh, i'll give you a VG-. And I am not sure if you can call yourself heritage, being two yrs old? But we'll let that slide for now.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank christianl e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

I recently stayed at Udai Garh and found the experience to be very pleasant. I stayed in two different hotels and found them both to be very good. I have read some of the other reviews and in fairness to the hotel, I think there are a few points that could be explained. Firstly, the hot water. I have made seven trips to India, and to Udaipur. It is common practice that there is a two hour power cut every day in all of Udaipur, other than those who have their own generator - a costly exercise and therefore rooms are more expensive. I did not find it difficult to have my hot shower before 10 am. This is also the reason you may be asked to pay your bill early in the morning before power is off if paying by card.
Entrance to Udai Garh is off a lane way which is probably about 15 metres from where you can be dropped by tuk-tuk or car.
The view from the rooftop is absolutely spectacular both at sunrise and sunset - actually at all times of day. In the heat of the day, there is also an area under cover where meals can be served. The food is good and is prepared freshly. I found my room to be very nice and comfortable with a view across the lake. The staff were very accommodating and did their best to help me when my power adaptor wasn't working. The room rates are very reasonable I thought. Udaipur is such an interesting place to visit. The lake was full, and the activities on and around the lake mean there is always something to see. It is quiet. There are no noisy boats. I would recommend this hotel. My favourite places around this hotel are Ambrai Restaurant (if you want to venture out of hotel for meals) which is across lake and serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. There is a great little book shop around the corner. Turn left out of lane, left again and head down the hill. It is on righthand side. Also has good postcards and very interesting books at the best prices. Spicebox is also not far away. Left out of lane, and then right after 20 metres. Here you will find all the spices you need to cook great meals. You can also do cooking class from here, and then you eat what you have cooked, washed down with a kingfisher beer, so save yourself a meal. It is on left. Udaipur is a place to relax. Enjoy! You WILL manage without a TV or without power for a couple of hours.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank byron6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
#10 of 151 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mewar Haveli
Mewar Haveli
#28 of 151 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
0.5 mi away
Boheda Palace
Boheda Palace
#8 of 151 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Sarovar on Pichola
Hotel Sarovar on Pichola
#47 of 151 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kotra Haveli
Kotra Haveli
#26 of 151 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
0.0 mi away
Jaiwana Haveli
Jaiwana Haveli
#6 of 151 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Udaigarh Udaipur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Udaigarh Udaipur

Property: Hotel Udaigarh Udaipur
Address: 21, Lal Ghat, Behind Jagdish Temple, Udaipur 313001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 151 Hotels in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Udaigarh Udaipur 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Udaigarh with ROOFTOP SWIMMING POOL is a product of the enterprising efforts of restoring a 150 year old Haveli situated in the heart of the most romantic city nestled in the fertile valley on the eastern banks of the famous Lake Pichola. It has been restored keeping in mind the luxury of a traditional haveli with state-of-the-art amenities and a modern ethos of eco-friendly travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Udaigarh Udaipur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing