We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful location and excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Leela Palace Udaipur
Ranked #1 of 163 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Rooms are really good, food too. Breackfast is excellent and spa is super.
I had a wonderfull view of the lake. After 8 hours travelling from jaypur to udaipur...it was like to be in a paradise to arrive there.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roberta J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,876)
There are newer reviews for The Leela Palace Udaipur
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,513 - 1,519 of 1,876 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2012

My family and I stayed here in Feb of 2012 and we have been raving about it ever since. This was by far one of the best hotel experiences of my life! Each guest is treated like royalty and the hotel rooms/interiors only enhance the experience of true elegance. The staff are incredibly accomodating and it is obvious that customer service is at the heart of the company's philosophy. If you are looking for a hotel that seamlessly fuses modern amenities with the heart and soul of Udaipur, I would highly recommend the Leela.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amerchan86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

From the moment we stepped onto the boat that would transfer us across Lake Pichola to the Leela Palace, my breath was taken away with the monumental views this area presents.

I've stayed over 300 nights in hotels over the last two years and I can tell you that the Leela Palace was undoubtably the best hotel experience to date.

I'm a firm believer that a 'place is the people' and I must pass on my appreciation to Graham Grant who runs a very tight ship at the palace for it was his staff that made the stay even more memorable for us. All the staff were exceptional and seemed to go out their way to ensure our stay & experience was immaculate.

Our room butlers were excellent & made for a great family experience on my niece's 13th birthday with a very welcome & pleasant in room gift presentation.

The restaurants had lovely food and presented exceptional ambience in the evenings. The award winning spa of which we had a number of treatments from, I'm told by my wife was mesmerising (Royal Princess of Rajasthan treatment).

There are other hotels in & around the lake Pichola like the Taj Palace and the Oberoi Udaivillas, but my next visit to Udaipur will once again be at the Leela. I cannot recommend this hotel enough to prospective visitors to Udaipur.

Thank you so much!

Room Tip: Book the heritage rooms for fantastic views.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PookeyUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

A "small" but grand hotel, only 80 rooms but a huge experience.

Stay in a room with a balcony, so great to watch dawn and sunset from your own terrace.
Ok, so the place has Mosquitos , as do most , just pack repellent and enjoy drinks on the terrace.
The service and style in the restaurants and bar are to be treasured.
Arrive by water and bask in all the attention.
The public areas are beautifully furnished with silver furniture,mall the staff are smartly turned out good looking.
The design of the rooms are great , a separate room with a door for luggage and the tat one inevitably picks up , a separate room just for the huge bath tub opposite the main separate bathroom and shower etc.
A huge flat screen and a Bose iPhone sound dock all add to the overall package.
Escape the solicitous attention of the ground staff and seek out the back gate early morning to wander down to the temple past the Amet Haveli and watch the locals do Puja and wash in the lake at the ghats near the temple and huge tree on the Akers edge and take that Lonely Planet master photo!
The spa buildings, pools and gardens look stunning
Yes, I'm a fan!

Room Tip: Book a terrace / balcony room
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We needed to make a trip over to Punjab for a charity event in October 2012, and with the children having 2 week half term, we thought it was an ideal time to have a look around Delhi and enough time for one other place. We had booked Jaipur, but good friends insisted we travelled to Udaipur instead. My brother is a frequent traveller and has stayed at many Leela Hotels, and he suggested the hotel. So, we arrived with a group of 10 of us, adults, children 13-8 yrs, and a couple. Met at the airport by the hotel drivers, who discussed with us in detail various things to do in the 72 hours or so we had in this wonderful city. We then arrived at the Jetty, yes, we cant drive to the hotel, so we were taken to a boat, which made a short 10minute excursion across the lake - awesome - absolutely breathtaking - we landed, met by the Assistant then General Manager, but just before that we were greated by a local band as well as rose petals falling from the sky. We have travelled a fair bit of the years, but we have never ever been greated in such grandeur ever - awesome. Our rooms were fabulous, but the level service was second to none that we have ever experienced. The staff, butler just simply couldnt do enough for us - always there, even when you didnt think you need any more, they were there. simply couldnt do enough.
Food choice, quality outstanding.
If you want a get away from it all break, and you are able to make the journey over, The Leela is truly an outstanding experience, that if you can, you should.

Room Tip: spend at least a week here - and switch off your mobile/laptop!
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Resh D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

After several hours in a hectic curving road we arrive at a majestic lake where we boarded a boat to tai us to our hotel. As you come upon it you realize you are in for a real treat. The music is playing and chanting is taking place as you descend the boat and arrive at this Palace on the side of the lake. The hotels grounds are a mix of water gardens mosaic and walk ways. Amazing and beautiful hap it al flows and works together to create a magnificent setting. The room was large with a sit in area that allows you to come back and rest up. There are delicious chocolates and cookies placed every night for your enjoyment. Udiapur is fantastic and beautiful. You can not go wrong at this majestic palace. The staff is amazing with can do attitude. there is nothing they wont do for you. And all of this is done with the most incredible demeanor. A must in Udiapur.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the Oberoi.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jorgehenriquez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

It is a very well kept property with world class unmatched service. I had a memorable stay. The approach to the hotel via the boat is very enjoyable. The staff looked after us very well. The chekin process was the fastest i have ever experienced at any of the good five star hotels.

Room Tip: look for a lake facing room
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank amitoberai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.2 mi away
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
#2 of 163 in Udaipur
3,054 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Oberoi Udaivilas
The Oberoi Udaivilas
#3 of 163 in Udaipur
1,868 reviews
0.5 mi away
Trident Udaipur
Trident Udaipur
#5 of 163 in Udaipur
2,727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur
1.8 mi away
Ramada Udaipur Resort and Spa
0.9 mi away
Hotel Lakend
Hotel Lakend
#17 of 163 in Udaipur
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Leela Palace Udaipur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Leela Palace Udaipur

Address: Lake Pichola, PO Box No. 125, Udaipur 313001, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Udaipur
#1 Luxury Hotel in Udaipur
#2 Business Hotel in Udaipur
#3 Family Hotel in Udaipur
#3 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range: $385 - $1,120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Leela Palace Udaipur 5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Leela Palace, Udaipur, with its breathtaking view of the Aravalli Mountains stands majestically in a natural setting on the banks of the Lake Pichola. The Leela Palace offers its discerning guests an opportunity to experience royal living of majestic times.Evoking a grandeur and opulence of a bygone era, all 80 rooms and suites overlook the tranquil waters of the lake. Heritage and Lake view rooms finely appointed with artifacts and furnishings representing the handicrafts of Rajasthan. The suites evoke a sense of architecture which includes the rich and natural detailing of traditional Indian palaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Leela Palace Udaipur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Leela Palace Udaipur Hotel Udaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing