We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning hotel, exceptional service - hope to return soon”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Leela Palace Udaipur
Ranked #1 of 163 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 21, 2011

Leela Palace Kempinski Udaipur sets some pretty high standards in terms of service, surroundings and ambition to do everything possible to make the guest feel comfortable. It is a truly stunning hotel, beautifully designed and in a great location on the lake (which did have lots of water this summer). The room even had picture-perfect views across the lake and Taj Palace Hotel towards Udaipur.

Airport pick-up in the air-conditioned "Leela" town car was very well organised and a short, relaxing drive, followed by a lovely boat trip across the lake gets you to the hotel in style.

Arriving there just a few weeks before the monsoon season, the hotel was fairly quiet - and staff were perhaps even more attentive and helpful then they might be at busier times. Wherever we went within the hotel and grounds, there was almost always someone there to hold a door open, ask if we needed help or simply greet us with a smile. Rooms and common areas are elegantly furnished and very clean, the garden, terraces and pool area in pristine condition.

We were happy to walk from the hotel into town most days (security at the gate is tight, which is a good sign) and explore Udaipur on foot, but the hotel also has drivers, cars and even a special Leela Palace tuk-tuk available if needed. Quite possibly, this is the only tuk-tuk in the State of Rajastan that actually affords curtains, cushions and a driver who has read the highway code at least once).

Breakfast was very good, we also had several meals at the main restaurant, all of which were very tasty, I particularly loved the Indian choices (they do a great biryani), but there is also a good selection of international dishes. And some very potent cocktails at the bar. Again, service was impeccable - restaurant staff seemed to be trained to high standards, which is great to see.

Often, it's the small but thoughtful touches that a guest will remember (and will make him/her return) - and Leela Palace Udaipur gets these just right. Like the complementary fresh juices and ice lollies at the pool (served from a little trolley, just at the time when you thought you could do with a refreshment), or the afternoon knock on the door with some food tasters, or the bottled water and fresh towels that are available just about everywhere.

Also had a couple of treatments at the Spa - very relaxing, and once again great service. The Swiss lady at the Spa reception was particularly helpful. The hotel offers complementary yoga sessions as well, early am and pm - a nice touch.

PS. No, I haven't been paid by the hotel chain - I simply really enjoyed staying there. :-)

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Flocke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,874)
There are newer reviews for The Leela Palace Udaipur
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,624 - 1,630 of 1,876 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2011

Outstanding all around - service, design, food, location, management. Amazing.
Definitely one of the top 10 hotels in teh world.

Room Tip: Most or all room face the lake - romantic - very .
  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank haib18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2011

This has to be the best property in which I have stayed so far. From warm reception at the Airport till we left the property it was one of the most exhilarating experience for me and my family. We loved every bit of it be it the decor of the rooms or the lobby area or the outside view from the brink of the hotel. I can only sum it up by saying see it to beleive it provided you do not mind a hole in your pocket.

Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
Thank atishayjain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2011

We stayed in January 2011 for our Honeymoon.
It was a memory and just like a dream!
The typically welcome with flower petals and a ‘padharo mare des’ got me all teared up and it was just amazing!
We were upgraded to the Surya Mahal-what Luxury!
Working in the hospitality sector – we can admit we are picky and fuzzy but the whole team didn’t give us a chance to find anything!
Most romantic and enjoyable were the evenings in the Courtyard with artists singing and dancing- we actually felt like being ‘’royal’’!
Only sad part is that we lost the Music CD given on check out to us-it’s one of the best instrumentals collections I had ever heard!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PriSandhu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2011

Everything about Udaipur is unforgettable, and staying at the Leela simply elevates the experience to pure heaven. The drive to the city (from Jaipur) is magical, the city itself is transformative, the ride to the hotel by boat is once-in-a-lifetime.... The property is immaculately maintained and the only issue is how terribly hard it is to leave. The staff are gentle and friendly. The swimming pool makes you feel like a Hollywood star! The spa takes you to Cloud 9.... a simply perfect experience from beginning to end...

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CarolineRowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2011

I must admit i spent a lot of time trying to decide whether to stay at the Taj Lake Palace or the Kempinski for our recent visit. we decided on the Kempinski for two reasons, (1) we were concerned about comments last year that the lake was dry during the hot season, and (2) a few comments about the huge a elegant rooms at the Kempinski, and wondering whether we might feel stuck in the middle of the lake at the Taj hotel.

We were delighted with the visit to the Kempinski! from the boat transfer to the hotel, to the elegant flowers and music welcome, and the huge two level room, it was a great start. four staff members were in attendance at check-in at the room, one of whom gave foot baths and massages. our personal butler was introduced, and she was in unobtrusive attendance at all times during our visit. it seemed that every time we left the room, 2-4 staff members would almost rush in to be sure any used towels were immediately replaced and anything else cleaned up. all this was done with gracious hospitality, as was the attention given throughout the property at all times.

the rooms are simply over the top lavish and luxurious. stylish elegance, lots of marble and stone, everything first class. it is a large property, and the exit into the city is a bit of a walk in the hot weather, but they furnish golf carts to take you over there. the hotel also has their own tuk-tuks available at a reasonable cost to shuttle you around town.

a visit to the Mahajara's Palace on the hill is a must, very interesting and still well furnished. one surprise to us was the natural beauty of the city itself situated right on the large lake. it was confirmed to us that last year, due to a drought, the lake was completely dry, and local people started temporary vegetable gardens in it! thankfully, the rains returned last season, and the lake was full and beautiful. certainly visiting here with a dry lake would take a great deal out of it. i would rate Udaipur as one of the most beautiful and peaceful places in India to relax and enjoy the atmosphere and scenery, and i suppose that is why several top luxury hotels exist there.

about the food, i have read a recent review accusing the hotel of unsanitary food conditions. obviously i am not in a position to know what may have occurred. what i can say is that we ate breakfast and lunch both days at the Kempinski, and to me the food seemed delicious, freshly prepared with style and great taste. i think you have to admit that in a very hot climate, sometimes a specific container can become contaminated, but of course it should be noticed by staff. but everything we saw indicated a professional and very clean approach to food, preparation and atmosphere. i once became very ill after eating shrimp at the world famous Oriental Hotel in Bangkok, but i didn't hold a grudge against the hotel due to the experience, and i doubt that this sort of thing happens often in a very deluxe property such as the Kempinski in Udaipur.

Conclusions: i think the Kempinski is trying very hard to become the top dog in the Udaipur luxury hotel market, with top notch competition, the best incentive in any business. unless you specifically want to experience the old lake palace atmosphere, i think anyone looking for a spectacular hotel will be happy here.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank veteranworldtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2011

We stayed at leela's for 3 nights and we felt like we were on a second honeymoon! The rooms, view, decor, PEOPLE, left nothing to be desired. if you complain here.. Well you would be totally pretentious! This is a lovely experience. To our butlers himanchu and nirmal, you were very kind, always smiling, and made our stay verymemorable. We will never forget our visit. The Soras.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Navimassi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.2 mi away
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
#2 of 163 in Udaipur
3,053 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Oberoi Udaivilas
The Oberoi Udaivilas
#3 of 163 in Udaipur
1,868 reviews
0.5 mi away
Trident Udaipur
Trident Udaipur
#5 of 163 in Udaipur
2,726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur
1.8 mi away
Ramada Udaipur Resort and Spa
0.9 mi away
Hotel Lakend
Hotel Lakend
#17 of 163 in Udaipur
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Leela Palace Udaipur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Leela Palace Udaipur

Address: Lake Pichola, PO Box No. 125, Udaipur 313001, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Udaipur
#1 Spa Hotel in Udaipur
#2 Business Hotel in Udaipur
#3 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
#3 Family Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range: $385 - $1,120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Leela Palace Udaipur 5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Leela Palace, Udaipur, with its breathtaking view of the Aravalli Mountains stands majestically in a natural setting on the banks of the Lake Pichola. The Leela Palace offers its discerning guests an opportunity to experience royal living of majestic times.Evoking a grandeur and opulence of a bygone era, all 80 rooms and suites overlook the tranquil waters of the lake. Heritage and Lake view rooms finely appointed with artifacts and furnishings representing the handicrafts of Rajasthan. The suites evoke a sense of architecture which includes the rich and natural detailing of traditional Indian palaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Leela Palace Udaipur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Leela Palace Udaipur Hotel Udaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing