We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great authentic Indian guest house.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hibiscus Guest House
Ranked #50 of 255 Udaipur B&B and Inns
Barnham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great authentic Indian guest house.”
Reviewed March 14, 2014

The young lads that run this guest house are so kind and work very hard to make the whole stay memorable. They are very helpful with advice and booked tickets for us without commission. It is furnished In simple Indian style which is lovely and is very clean, there is always hot water and Wifi. There is a delightful roof top terrace with views of local life and the lake, lovely to eat breakfast there. Tut tuts are readily available but it is a short and pleasant walk into the main areas. A very good standard for guest house category, highly recommended.
Rachel and Adrian. Sussex, UK.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Rachellouise64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    52
    21
    11
    16
See reviews for
47
112
32
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jodhpur, India
1 review
Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

I travel udaipur with my wife after the marriage this my first trip and This hotel was the best . The bathroom was modern, spotless and well maintained. We had a corner room with a view over(partial) Lake Pichola, and the view was breathtaking! The three young guys who run the hotel have been more helpful, with tips on what to see depending on time available. Addy organised a taxi via kumbgalgarh for us to Jodhpur with a very trustworthy and good driver at a very reasonable price.
Will be recommending this hotel to anyone visiting Udaipur.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manu_rock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandigarh, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014

n of this hotel is very bad - it seems to be close to Kabari market with lot of bad smell.

We are a family and having one daughter of 9 months with us. At the time we reached to hotel i particulary asked about room service because it required a lot with a child. There was no phone available at the room.
Also the restaurant was not working at that time. Hotel people were saying that cook is not available for next few days.

Also some 2-3 guys were running this Hotel with lack of Hospitality manners and they were very unprofessional and having very bad language.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pulkit_Gogna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
170 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Straightforward, South Asian accommodation. Simple and unpretentious guesthouse in residential area. Our room was of a good standard, light, clean and airy. The rooftop restaurant was a good place to sit and relax away from the hustle of the city centre. We enjoyed our breakfasts on the roof, talking with some other guests. The small garden needs a little attention. Some reviewers mention the nearby mosque. I believe that we travel to gain new cultural experience. Being woken by a call to prayer in the morning was not an issue for us. Very helpful staff keen to receive feedback and constructive criticism to help them maintain and develop the property ... so they may better serve their guests.

Room Tip: First floor rooms are best. Corner room was bright and sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LooksWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaipur, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 13, 2014

pick up from station was half an hour delayed,while checking out we were told that there is no drop facility,no body helped us with the luggages,room was dirty and the bed mat had heaps of dust under it,after lot of discussion it was removed,bathrooms need plumbing work,food was too less and very costly,blankets had a bad smell,noisy surroundings,not very hygenic,,hope it improves in near future

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank XYZ2526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oki-gun, Shimane, Japan
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

I wish we'd had more time to stay at this hotel. It was really lovely and and I loved the rooftop restaurant. You can watch the monkeys make their way from roof to roof (ours is protected by a big gentle dog). Breakfast was good, too although not included in the room price. The staff were very nice and helped us figure out the rest of our trip to fit our budget. The only complaint I would have is that the room was a bit cold at night. If we'd stayed another night we would have asked for another blanket. Otherwise no problems and an overall great stay in Udaipur.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SadkowskyT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Pros:-
1. Helpful Staff and good response to any requests
2. Close to the lake.
Cons :-
1. The Rooms had a pungent stink, because of the clogged pipelines.
2. Food is too pricey and not very tasteful.
3. Too much noise in morning from the neighboring mosque.

We chose this place based on Traveler reviews, but i guess it is more suited to foreign travelers than the Domestic bag packer. The food is very bland and preparation time is too long. The Water heater in one of the rooms was not working and was a big trouble on cold December days. There was was problem with the sewer lines i believe (we were told so) and this caused an odd foul smell in the room at all times.
Though the staff attended to all the issues prompty, things were not as per expectations and not working at the right time for us.

Definitely not the best of stay!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
2 Thank Bharath B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.2 mi away
Jaiwana Haveli
Jaiwana Haveli
#7 of 153 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,236 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Thamla Haveli
Hotel Thamla Haveli
#65 of 153 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Udai Kothi
Hotel Udai Kothi
#22 of 153 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
#11 of 153 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jheel Guest House
Jheel Guest House
#47 of 255 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
0.4 mi away
Little Garden Guest House
Little Garden Guest House
#3 of 255 in Udaipur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hibiscus Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hibiscus Guest House

Property: Hibiscus Guest House
Address: 190,Naga Nagri,Chandpol,Opposite the Leela Palace | Chandpol, Udaipur 313001, India (Formerly Heritage Hibiscus)
Location: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 255 B&Bs / Inns in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hibiscus Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meditate, Levitate, VegetateThis lakeside HIBISCUS GUEST HOUSE offers the visitors a home away from home, far from the hustle, the bustle and, sometimes, the frustrations of life in India.A place to take breath, relax and enjoy excellent in our rooftop restaurant overlooking Lake Pichola.The roof, walled garden and fountain courtyard provide ample space for guests to find a quiet area in which to unwind.There rooms are newly refurbished and laid with cool, polished, nimbara stone floors. Hand painted furniture and textiles from Rajasthan decorate each room and the spotless ensuite bathrooms are equipped with hot and cold showers. Some rooms have large haveli style jarokhas (window seats) with bolsters and cushions.Hotel Hibiscus Udaipur is exclusively located at the CHANDPOLE in Udaipur. There is something unmistakably calming about HOTEL HIBISCUS. Its welcoming hospitality permeates your soul and Rajasthani passion for life rejuvenates your spirit. You never have to leave. But should you wish to,it is nice to know you are just few minutes from City Palace, Lake Pichola, Jagdish Temple, Lake Palace, Bagore Ki Haveli, Gangaur Ghat, Lal Ghat and easy Reach of all of Udaipur's Hotspots! Your place in the Lake awaits!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hibiscus Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hibiscus Guest House Hotel Udaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing