We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hibiscus Guest House
Ranked #53 of 273 Udaipur B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 25, 2013

I have been to udaipur twice, First I stayed at a different hotel managed by a bunch of young but experienced guys. I pre-booked the hotel from a portal and I was driving from ahmedabad and was sick of "not finding hotel" - I called up this hotel manager and He asked me to stay where I was and He will come to that place - a young fellow came to pick me up - Eventually i knew he was the hotel management guy, Where the hell in the world you would find a hotel where management guy will pick you up if you are lost? (now you must be thinking why am I writting this about a different hotel? well thats the catch)
I became so fan of that team that I spent at least 2 hours with those young chaps on their rooftop restaurant the next day and also added them in my facebook - that guy later became my friend.
Two weeks back, when I was travelling to udaipur again, I wrote him a message on facebook that I am going to come back again. He said this time, I will let you stay in a different property and that's "Heritage Hibiscus". the hotel is managed by same team that I had that EXCELLENT experience in past. I was even more delighted cause - I got same friendly services as last time with better new property.
Good luck my friend - U guys deserves to be recommended for all travellers. :)

Room Tip: Take care of Udaipur roads, if you are driving from your city. People are friendly on street and hel...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ajay_Dabhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (280)
There are newer reviews for Hibiscus Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

119 - 125 of 280 reviews

Reviewed November 22, 2013

Clean hotel, Bed sheet were clean as well, Staff is good helpful & polite, nice restaurant on the roof top, but the Food is average, All major spots are near by, but the problem is it is located in a filthy and narrow street, dont be fooled by the leela palace nearby. Leela take its guest across the lake by boat, but altogether a different experience, worthwhile a visit....

Room Tip: "Deluxe rooms are nice and cozy"
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NavazZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

This was the least fancy but the most fun place we stayed in India. When you walk out the door you are in the neighborhood. Major family of monkeys are in the tree outside. It is a short walk from the hotel to the footbridge which takes you to the main shopping area.
The rooms are big and clean and the staff is very helpful arranging drivers and places to go. We enjoyed breakfast on the roof and had a good dinner also. I would recommend dining at the Ambrai restaurant nearby at the Amet Haveli for ambience and good food.
The staff was enthusiastic and helpful though apparently the Hibiscus is under new management and it had the feel that they were learning on the job which is why in a fun way I compare it to the "best exotic marigold hotel" (see film if you haven't)

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank les s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2013

good, clean hotel, clean room and the bathroom. bed sheets were clean as well. location is convenient but the problem is it is located inside a filthy street...don't be fooled by the leela palace location at the vicinity. chandra prakash was very helpful. restaurant at the terrace is a bit over priced but comes to your rescue at night when everything around is closed.
things to improve :
1.please provide a kettle and tea bags in the room.
2. a telephone in the room



stayed with family for two nights. good place!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PAYEL G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

The hotel was clean and the staff helpful. All major site seeing spots were within walking distance. But thats where it stops. It is located in a filthy area.
I was misled by its location (next to Leela Palace) on the map and assumed it must be a good area. It is not. Leela takes its guests across the lake by a boat to avoid exposing them to the dirt and filth that surrounds it. In fact, that is true for most of Udaipur hotels especially the ones in Ambamata area.
I wish the young hotel team all the best but unless Udaipur cleans up, I would not recommend Udaipur to anyone.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
2  Thank Avadhani2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CP_Dadhich_HH, Managing Director at Hibiscus Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Thank you to our guest who have take the time to write recent reviews, myself and my colleagues have recently taken over the management of Hibiscus and welcome all comments, positive and negative, as these will assist us in running the the hotel in the future.

Hibiscus is located close to Lake Pichola. Due to the recent torrential rains the lake flooded locally restricting access to the area, This resulted in guests having to use the narrow, residential, streets when heading towards Chandpol Bridge, The was has now receded and the road level has been raised so access is again possible via the cleaner and more "Scenic" route.

Please ask at reception for Directions,

With apologies
C.P. Dadhich

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Our stay at heritage hibiscus was vry gud. The rooms are vry spacious ,clean and good. People running tge the hotel were very helpful and caring. They are always ready to help and take care of your comfort. Its a peaceful place with some really good restaurants around.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank poojaddutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

We expected this accommodation to be the best of our trip but it wasn't. A few positives: 1. The room (royal suite) was large and attractive with very pleasant garden view. 2. Restaurant on roof is very convenient with very good service/food and view of Lake P . 3. Great help from one staff member in finding restaurants, arranging tour, and finding milk for us (above and beyond call of duty). 4. Location away from City Palace area is relatively calm and quiet but still close enough to walk to main sites. A few negatives: 1. We spent extra money on the royal suite because Heritage Hibiscus website description of royal suite said "An interconnecting room is available for accompanying guests". Since we were traveling with our daughter that sounded good. But there was no "interconnecting room" - just one large room. When I mentioned this at check-in staff suggested that we could book a second room (not interconnecting) for our daughter. I suggested that the website be changed because this is misleading - it has not been changed. 2. We had arranged for pickup at the railway station (included in price) and sent details regarding the train and arrival time however no one was there to pick us up - since we had no phone we had to find a stranger willing to allow us to use their mobile phone then wait for pickup. This seemed like a big deal to us as we were very tired after having arrived via overnight train from Ahmenabad. 3. Basics like hangers, drinking glassware, and a place to rest suitcase(s) in room were missing. 4. No room services like room cleaning, fresh towels, toilet paper were offered. We had to ask for every little thing.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hannah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Gangaur Palace / Ashoka Art
0.1 mi away
The Little Prince Heritage Home
0.2 mi away
Pratap Bhawan
Pratap Bhawan
#33 of 273 in Udaipur
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Panorama Guest House
Panorama Guest House
#14 of 273 in Udaipur
397 reviews
0.2 mi away
Heritage Haveli
Heritage Haveli
#17 of 273 in Udaipur
203 reviews
0.0 mi away
Millets of Mewar Guest House
Millets of Mewar Guest House
#75 of 273 in Udaipur
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hibiscus Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hibiscus Guest House

Address: 190,Naga Nagri,Chandpol,Opposite the Leela Palace | Chandpol, Udaipur 313001, India (Formerly Heritage Hibiscus)
Location: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 273 B&Bs / Inns in Udaipur
Price Range: $25 - $63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hibiscus Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meditate, Levitate, VegetateThis lakeside HIBISCUS GUEST HOUSE offers the visitors a home away from home, far from the hustle, the bustle and, sometimes, the frustrations of life in India.A place to take breath, relax and enjoy excellent in our rooftop restaurant overlooking Lake Pichola.The roof, walled garden and fountain courtyard provide ample space for guests to find a quiet area in which to unwind.There rooms are newly refurbished and laid with cool, polished, nimbara stone floors. Hand painted furniture and textiles from Rajasthan decorate each room and the spotless ensuite bathrooms are equipped with hot and cold showers. Some rooms have large haveli style jarokhas (window seats) with bolsters and cushions.Hotel Hibiscus Udaipur is exclusively located at the CHANDPOLE in Udaipur. There is something unmistakably calming about HOTEL HIBISCUS. Its welcoming hospitality permeates your soul and Rajasthani passion for life rejuvenates your spirit. You never have to leave. But should you wish to,it is nice to know you are just few minutes from City Palace, Lake Pichola, Jagdish Temple, Lake Palace, Bagore Ki Haveli, Gangaur Ghat, Lal Ghat and easy Reach of all of Udaipur's Hotspots! Your place in the Lake awaits!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Hibiscus Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hibiscus Guest House Hotel Udaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing