We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just a lovely place!”
Review of Sargam Sadan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sargam Sadan
Ranked #71 of 167 Hotels in Udaipur
Reviewed August 26, 2009

We visited the beautiful Udaipur for 5 days and stayed 3 days in the lovely Hotel of Sargam Sadan. That was a very smart choice and we did not want to leave! The warm hospitality, the great service, the excellent kitchen and food, and everything were just perfect!! The view from the roof restaurant is so beautiful, and the breeze is cool and nice. We truly recommend anyone to come to this hotel, we are sure you will not be disappointed! Thanks Neeraj and the great team for a great time in your hotel!! Hilik & Edit, Jerusalem

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hilikbar3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (219)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

174 - 180 of 219 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2009

having travelled for over a month, Sargam Sadan was a perfect retreat. With its Glorious view over the lake with the floating palace lit up, every evening dinner was beautiful. The rooms were very comfortable with air conditioning and the people working and running the hotel were welcoming and really made you feel at home. A wonderful place and a chance to regain your breath after your full indian experiance!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank HamishMacpherson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2009

My friend Zahid recommended that place and it was the best choice! Located in a new buiding far from the hustle and bustle (no barking dogs or honking rickshaws here!) but only a fifteen minutes' walk from the main shopping area, Sardam Sagan is a peaceful place with clean, comfortable, tastefully decorated rooms and a very nice rooftop restaurant with a stunning view. The young owner is a very friendly, helpful guy and you'll get a warm welcome. And last but not least, it's very good value for money. Highly recommended! Anita

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank zahnita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2009

As a regular visitor to India, I was delighted to discover Sargam Sadan on my most recent trip last month. It enjoys the most wonderful location on the edge of the Lake (just a stone's throw from the Oberoi); the food in the rooftop restaurant is excellent; and best of all, you are not besieged by street vendors and tourist touts every time you step outside.
For birdwatchers particularly, the location is marvellous, particularly now that the water level is low in the lake and the knowledgeable owner can show you where to see the birds.
The rooms are simple, but clean. The service is good and most importantly for first time visitors to Udaipur, the owner is extremely helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
Thank Tiggerlot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2009

At 2000 Rs per night, this is the worst value for money accommodation we experienced in India. Room was spacious but far from being spotless. On arrival, we were greeted by a dog which jumped on me. I am a dog lover, but not really when they are full of fleas (we saw them) and when they jump on you by surprise. I am pregnant and I definitely did not appreciate this. The hotel 'manager' took us to our room on arrival and very quickly prompted me to help him remove the bed cover which he took with him as he left the room. Bedding was stained and the bathroom was in need of a deep clean. There were revolting sewage smells coming off the pipes throughout the night which were also very noticeable at the entrance of the hotel.
Having a shower was a mission with very little lukewarm water coming off the taps.
The rate did not include breakfast and we only ate there one morning. We ordered 2 poached eggs on toast and they served us 2 x 2 poached eggs. When we explained that we did not want 4 poached eggs, they just looked at us astonished until my husband decided to keep the order which we were charged for. Is it really that difficult to cook poached eggs? These were all broken and soaked in water, hence we decided not to eat there again.
On request to book dinner at other places or cooking course, the answer was always the same: somehow the place was fully booked, or too expensive, and the best suggested alternative was to dine at their hotel.
The AC unit was directly over the bed, which made it impossible to keep it on during the night unless you wanted to get up with a sore throat.
Overall, not a positive experience. I am confident there are much better places to stay at in Udaipur.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Quijanotango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Vera N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Outlander68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.7 mi away
Kotra Haveli
Kotra Haveli
#25 of 167 in Udaipur
256 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Royal Pratap Niwas
Hotel Royal Pratap Niwas
#64 of 167 in Udaipur
133 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mewar Haveli
Mewar Haveli
#35 of 167 in Udaipur
802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Amar Kothi
Hotel Amar Kothi
#58 of 167 in Udaipur
106 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel The Tiger
Hotel The Tiger
#72 of 167 in Udaipur
386 reviews
0.7 mi away
Rampratap Palace
Rampratap Palace
#39 of 167 in Udaipur
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sargam Sadan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sargam Sadan

Address: 35 Sargam Sadan Kaine House Nagar Parishad Colony, Udaipur 313001, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 167 Hotels in Udaipur
Price Range: $35 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sargam Sadan 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sargam Sadan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sargam Sadan Udaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing