We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great view, helpful staff!”
Review of Sargam Sadan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sargam Sadan
Ranked #82 of 157 Hotels in Udaipur
Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great view, helpful staff!”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Very helpful staff, booked train tickets and provided advice as needed. Great view from roof top with very nice and cheap food. Clean and comfortable rooms, hot water for showering. Wfi available in rooms.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank elbates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    63
    32
    10
    12
See reviews for
46
71
28
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

We arrived at about 5am, simply knocked on the door and were let in. As our room wasn't available till guests checked out we were shown to the beautiful covered terrace where we watched the sun rise over the lake.
As soon as the owner, Niraj, arrived at around 8am, we were offered breakfast and had a very friendly chat about things to do during our 4 day stay.
All the staff were so friendly and helpful. Both myself and friends will definitely be returning.
Thanks! :-)

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emmaclarke21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

My partner and I stayed here for two nights after a hectic tour through Rajasthan. It was a fantastic, clean, relaxing hotel - we loved it! Staff were very helpful and the food was delicious and well priced. we had a view of the lake which was great.
Only complaint is the wifi gets turned off randomly, we had to ask a few times for it to be turned back on.
overall i recommend it as a relaxing, friendly and clean place to stay. charming too!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jucn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surat, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 31, 2013

It is located at the Pichola lake, very calm and quite location away from the city life, Terrace restaurant is having excellent view of pichola lake & all other 5star hotels, Service is also very good attendant Dharmendra and Owner Mr.Neeraj has given full attention to their best, food and breakfast is very good. Real value for money and good peaceful place to relive stress, except the surrounding area which is slightly awkward.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MOHITNAIK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agra, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Imagine how cosy you will feel looking out at 3-world class hotels which have similar lake views and charge Rs 20,000 - 50,000 per night for rooms. And you're paying what, maybe Rs 2,500 (about US$50)?!

Udaipur is one of my favorite places on the planet, and certainly the most wonderful travel destination in the whole of India. Sure you could visit beaches in Kerala, but they're like coastal resorts anywhere. Here in Udaipur, you're situated in the heartland of 5,000 years of history. You're in a place known for fabulous marble, gemstones and it's the home of Moghul miniature painting. Plus, you can experience the place where Shah Jahan sought refuge from his father Jahangir - a summer resort and pleasure palace for holding royal parties.

If you're not extraordinarily well off, you have to find a reasonable guest house and most are not offering a good view of Lake Pichola. I stumbled into Sargam Sadan and immediately fell in love with the place. You're at the end of a road, in a private pensione with an unubstructed view of the lake. There are other hotels - such as the Taj and Leela - other than that it's pretty much undeveloped land.

I last visited Udaipur in 1986 and I stayed one night in Lake Palace Hotel. My most vivid memory (aside from the boat ride out to the hotel and the endless expanse of marble) was waking to the 'thwak, thwak' of the dobis (laundry women) washing clothes on the shoreline. My first morning at Sargam Sadan, I experienced this once again, but the dobis are on the ghats just a couple hundred meters from my room. Wow, I had arrived.

Sargam Sadan is a new building constructed about 5 years ago. It is in a quiet upscale neighborhood along an inlet to the lake. The rooms are very clean and the hotel management is very hospitable. The only negative experience was a sketchy Wifi connection which only seemed workable in the lobby area. I didn't actually spend much time on the Internet - my two days in Udaipur were jam-packed with excursions.

Like other places you visit in India, there can be noise in the neighborhood, but I found it to be a peaceful place to stay. There was noise from the rooftop in the evening, but that is because folks are upstairs having drinks and dinner.

I didn't take photos, but if you browse through photos of the hotel here on Trip Advisor, you'll see that Sargam Sadan is an enchanting place to stay. It is close to old Udaipur and you can walk to great spots like the school of moghul miniature painting.

My room was beautifully decorated and included a windowbox seat or daybed. The bathroom was fully equipped and included soap and shampoo - something you don't find in all guest houses. The linens and sheets were clean. Distilled bottled water was sent to my room.

I especially enjoyed the rooftop restaurant and had one breakfast, one dinner and one after-dinner drink (a full bar is serving until about midnight). There are guests who come just for this restaurant and are not staying in the hotel, because the view is so fabulous.

I would have no hesitation to recommend this guest house.

Room Tip: Get a room on the 2nd floor where the bathroom has it's own window. You'll be looking out a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wmclaxton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaipur
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed February 14, 2013

We have stayed in Hotel sargam sadan in month of Sept 12. The rooms & all the facilities was excellent. Our most liked palace in Hotel was the roof top restaurant. The view from the restaurant was awesome and food to. We enjoyed a lot. The owner of the Hotel is so kind & paying attention to each clients. I strongly recommended this hotel "Value for money".

Room Tip: Choose 01st floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IndeDestination
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

We visited udaipur during Nov2012 on an unplanned trip. Our cab driver took us to this hotel since we asked for lake view room :-(
Initially, Manager told Rs.3900 for the room, after negotiating with driver he came down to Rs.3500 and the room had a lake pichola view(u will get to see shabby side of lake where ppl wud b taking bath n washin clothes). After few hours of check-in we found on agoda site that the same rooms were available in 1900-2000. We spoke to manager in the night and he finally charged us Rs.3100 by giving an excuse that its high season time and agoda site is not updated. I would suggest to book it online before opting for this hotel.
Best part was the rooftop restaurant and food (we just had bfast but found the quantity to be little less). And forgot to mention we cudnt find my hubby's abercrombie t-shirt till date.

Room Tip: choose this hotel if u want lake pichola's backwaters view n u r on tight budget and don't f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deepri1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Sarovar on Pichola
Hotel Sarovar on Pichola
#43 of 157 in Udaipur
183 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Royal Pratap Niwas
Hotel Royal Pratap Niwas
#57 of 157 in Udaipur
111 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Devraj Niwas
Hotel Devraj Niwas
#88 of 157 in Udaipur
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mewar Haveli
Mewar Haveli
#27 of 157 in Udaipur
783 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Royal Palm
Hotel Royal Palm
#117 of 157 in Udaipur
73 reviews
1.0 mi away
Rangniwas Palace Hotel
Rangniwas Palace Hotel
#45 of 157 in Udaipur
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sargam Sadan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sargam Sadan

Property: Sargam Sadan
Address: 35 Sargam Sadan Kaine House Nagar Parishad Colony, Udaipur 313001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 157 Hotels in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sargam Sadan 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Sargam Sadan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sargam Sadan Udaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing