We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Ambiance and excellent lake view hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Inder Prakash
Ranked #61 of 257 Udaipur B&B and Inns
Jamnagar
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good Ambiance and excellent lake view hotel”
Reviewed January 23, 2011

Service was very good. Rooms were well furnished and clean.
Food was decent, though little expensive.
Location was excellent facing Fateh sagar lake. I was lucky enough to get a room facing the lake.
Only suggestion is to include the food bills as part of the room fares. I had to pay in cash.
Otherwise a great experience for a reasonable rent.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kranand_75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    42
    13
    8
    10
See reviews for
47
34
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Muenster, Germany
1 review
Reviewed January 20, 2011

I had a perfect time at the Inder Prakash hotel. The rooms were really nice and for a good price.The service and the food were excellent. There is a small restaurant at the rooftop of the hotel. The atmosphere there is wonderful given the incredible view over the lake and the landscape.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JogiH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhavnagar, India
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2011

The hotel is value for money, we booked 5 rooms for our family from shillong stayed for 2nights, we had wonder ful-time , the best part is roof top restaurant facing lake , make sure you take 1st or 2nd floor rooms(201-208 or 301-303) , they are very beautiful, hotel location is best because it faces fathe sagar lake, very small & eligent hotel, owner mr sharma take care of each guest very well.

Room furniture is rajastani taste .
check out time is 1000hrs so thats little probles .

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mamata178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2011

Clean hotel....location is fantastic..overlooking fatehsagar lake....rooms are not in good shape....no heating arrangement for winters....service is pathetic.....very clumsy when it comes to check in/check outs.....food is good in the roof top restaurant, but lacks cleanliness and very bad service.....

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank prashantdohe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Udaipur hotels

Mumbai
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2011

We reached Udaipur early morning at around 5am, and reached hotel at around 6am. We were allowed an early check-in (but were charged extra). The room we were given was not good, and on requesting for a change of room, the staff, provided an alternate one. Both rooms did not have lake view, and on asking for a lake view room, the staff declined, saying they do not guarentee the view. Fair enough, but I had to try. The room had a somewhat ethnic look, not too plush, but ok. This place has good potential (of becoming an outstanding hotel) but seems they lack the will. Let me list out the pros and cons:
Pros:
1.Very good location. Opposite FatehSagar lake. Some rooms offer a good view.
2.Clean, spacious rooms.
3.Free Wi-fi
4.Not too far from main city, but not that close either. Public transport (auto-rickshaw) charges about Rs.60 to take you to bus stop.
5.Food from the restaurant is tasty.

Cons:
1.Staff not warm and friendly (But polite and courteous). They do not make you feel special, something that can make your stay memorable.
2.Wi-fi works only in the lobby area, not in rooms
3.We were charged extra for early check-in, somthing that no other hotel charged. Its understood that I had gone in the peak season, but if they have a room available, they can surely accomodate people a few hours early.
4.When we went to the restaurant in the afternoon, we were shocked to see the place, as it seemed completely run down. The photos from the website showed very pretty pictures of the restaurant, but what we saw was horrific. The tables and chairs were part iron part wood, and they did not have any covers on them and had a ghastly appearance as if were picked from a junk yard. On enquiring we were told that the restaurant does not get many guests in the afternoon so they cover the tables etc only in the evening.
5.The aquaguard water tasted funny, so we stuck to bottled water, which we bought from outside.
6.The service was not that good, a single phone call (for towel replacement etc) never got things done.
7.Some of the staff members (room service guys) had a habit of knocking and then trying to force the door open. I was annoyed at this the first time and asked the fellow to wait for me to open the door. But this was repeated numerous times.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank MumbaiTraveller2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany / Austin, TX
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2010

We traveled to India to attend the wedding of a close friend in Delhi. Afterwards a group of us went to Udaipur to spent the week together exploring the city and Rajasthan. We booked a suite at the Inder Prakesh through hotels.com a couple of months in advance. We received a confirmation for the room and subsequent emails with additional details. When we arrived in the evening after traveling all day, the hotel did not have a room for us. Our 10 friends have rooms there and we are moved to a hotel a 15 minute drive away. From what we pieced together over the week, a German tour group had booked after us and evidently they didn't like the price hotels.com had gotten for them so our room was given away.

As it turned out, the hotel we were moved to was much nicer and in a better location. Being separated from our friends was really the sad part. We ended up spending several evenings there to hang out with them and saw three different rooms. The hotel didn't appear treat them very well - they were charged much more for arranged cars and rickshaws than we were by our hotel and the front desk staff seemed unhelpful when we saw our friends interact with them. The service and waitstaff was friendly, however.

You can find a better hotel, with equal or better views, in Udaipur.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank para_gate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 8, 2010

Small but beautiful hotel. Looks like a heritage bungalow. The Fateh Sagar lake is right outside so make sure you travel in the months when the lake is not dry. Else it can be a boring view.
It is a quiet neighborhood and the city and tourist points are about 20 minutes away.
You can go to Nehru Park (in the middle of Lake Fateh Sagar) by boat in the evening.
The food is average. You are better off dining elsewhere.
Transportation can be a bit of a problem since the road outside is secluded so be prepared for long walks till you get a cab/ rickshaw.
Ask for a lake facing room.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ankushenterprises
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Hilltop Palace
Hotel Hilltop Palace
#63 of 156 in Udaipur
322 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Sarovar on Pichola
Hotel Sarovar on Pichola
#46 of 156 in Udaipur
178 reviews
2.4 mi away
Boheda Palace
Boheda Palace
#8 of 156 in Udaipur
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Panna Vilas Palace
Hotel Panna Vilas Palace
#37 of 156 in Udaipur
212 reviews
2.0 mi away
Mewar Haveli
Mewar Haveli
#28 of 156 in Udaipur
782 reviews
2.0 mi away
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
#13 of 156 in Udaipur
1,343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Inder Prakash? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Inder Prakash

Property: Hotel Inder Prakash
Address: 281,Rani Road | Fatehsagar Lake, Udaipur 313001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 257 B&Bs / Inns in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Inder Prakash 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Inder Prakash is a ethnic, family run hotel that combines old world charm with modern amenities and comforts. Ideally located on the Lake Fateh Sagar, the hotel offers an unmatched view of the lake and surrounding Aravalli hills. The ambience created at our rooftop restaurant by the lights on the lake in the evening, is unsurpassed in the city. Inder Prakash is a place where you can relax and get pampered in the lap of mother nature. Close to the city centre, the hotel provides a base for shopping, dining out and visits to places of interest.The traditionally designed bedrooms are spacious, well appointed and exquisitely decorated. The rooms are air-conditioned and offer a panoramic view of the Fateh Sagar Lake Facilities : Room service, same day laundry, doctor on call,money exchange,traveldesk, Free Wifi Internet, credit card acceptance, car rental, massage, fully power back-up, bus, train, airways reservation, rooftop party arrangement, Horse & Camel Riding (Around Fateh Sagar Lake),Rajasthani folk dance & music performers (arranged on request). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Inder Prakash reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing