We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“reasonable location, needs a coat of paint”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Raj Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Raj Palace
Ranked #123 of 151 Hotels in Udaipur
Montreal
Level Contributor
189 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“reasonable location, needs a coat of paint”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2012

Nothing special, needs a coat of paint. Gave up on roofyop restaurant for breakfast - no service. Note that the excellent but pricey Whispering Teal restaurant on the grounds has no connection with the hotel.
They added a nonexistent hotel tax to our bill.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    25
    21
    6
    19
See reviews for
29
32
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2012

Although being a little dirty and raged round the edges this qaint hotel was perfect for our budget, we were travelling fairly cheeply, and raj palace was able to accomadate our needs. The rooms basic, but include a television.
All of the staff were extreemly friendly and willing. Definatly worth a visit, however don't get a pizza!!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harriet T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navi Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2011

The property offers a heritage stay feel. It is actually an old rajasthan haveli converted into a hotel. The courtyard, the rooms, the windows still give that feeling of such a visit. The hotel is conveniently located near most of the must see places in Udaipur. The City Palace, The temples, the Lake, the restaurants are close by, infact walking distance. The city palace road on which the hotel is located is full of shops with owners eager to sell you stuff. The rooms are neat and clean and the food is served fresh with a distinct local taste and smells and tastes wonderful.The manager was helpful in letting us know the places to visit and eat.

Room Tip: Do not go for the Non AC room unless you are on a very tight budget. There is very limited parking m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VipinKhandelwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macerata, Italy
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2011

Bad place, unfriendly staff. Couldnt sleep at all due to bed-bugs (it's the first time in my life I face this kind of situation!), no hot water in the morning and room overrated. I'd save only the (good) location.
Avoid this place, go elsewhere. We paid almost 2000 rupis and for the same price there are tons of better places.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Udaipur hotels

New Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2011

Really bad. No good service, no proper facilities. Very very bad experience, no TV in any room , food is very bad , small room, we cant recommend this hotel any of them.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simmitvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
120 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2010

Small clean room with comfortable bed. Restaurant cheap and food O.K. but nothing exciting. Avoid the pizza as they use a parantha for crust instead of actual pizza crust.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank e3brown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2010

Udaipur's roads in the main tourist area are narrow, crowded and generally on an incline, so Raj Palace comes as a huge relief to those with their own vehicle. There's indoor parking (although small), the road in front of the hotel is wide enough for four cars abreast, and it's on flat ground. From my walks around the city, I think it's the only hotel at this radius from the City Palace that has these three qualities. So leave your car here and hoof it for the rest of your stay.

It also boasts the highest point (that I can see) at this distance from the City Palace. Standing here, you can get a full, unimpeded view of the whole vista in front of the City Palace. Vice versa, looking out from the City Palace, Raj Palace's highest point stands out like a sore thumb. The Raj Palace roof top restaurant has the City Palace's old walls as a backdrop. Very scenic ambience.

And that's done with the good news.

For the rest, this hotel is below average and avoidable even at its bargain basement rates. Through my two-night/three day-stay, they never provided me towels. I had to dry my hair using my old t-shirts. So strike off one star.

At one meal, they distinctly reheated old food and served it as fresh. It tasted stale, but that could be subjective. However, the core of the dish was still ice-cold. Strike off second star. Honorable mention though, that when I complained, a fresh dish was promptly cooked for us.

So all in all, great ambience and location, but done in by two unforgiveable errors.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rondeaumax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
211.0 mi away
Hotel Nayee Haveli
Hotel Nayee Haveli
#40 of 151 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
211.0 mi away
Hotel Hanuman Ghat
Hotel Hanuman Ghat
#71 of 151 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
211.1 mi away
Hotel Thamla Haveli
Hotel Thamla Haveli
#64 of 151 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
211.0 mi away
OYO Rooms Jagdish Chowk
OYO Rooms Jagdish Chowk
#86 of 151 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
211.0 mi away
Hotel Ishwar Palace
Hotel Ishwar Palace
#57 of 151 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
211.0 mi away
Hotel Udai Niwas
Hotel Udai Niwas
#95 of 151 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Raj Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Raj Palace

Property: Hotel Raj Palace
Address: 103 Hotel Raj Palace Bhatiyani Chauhatta, Udaipur 313001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #123 of 151 Hotels in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Raj Palace 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Raj Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing