We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Appalling service and diabolical food”

Lotus Cafe & Restaurant
Ranked #49 of 741 Restaurants in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Appalling service and diabolical food”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Walking into the Lotus cafe it seemed modern and clean. We ordered our drinks and food with the scatty, very rushed waiter.
We were told 15 minute wait for food which seemed very quick but 40 minutes later no food and no drinks had come. Eventually the waiter skidded out the kitchen with our curries and slammed them in front of us.
We both ordered very different meals yet got exactly the same sauce base which each contained 2 small pieces of rock solid, over fried chicken. The sauces were not what we had ordered and the only difference was the cashew nuts in one dish.
The drinks came after food and when we questioned the food the waiter got angry and started storming about.

We're pretty laid back people, some restaurants are ok, some incredible and some not so great but Lotus Cafe was truly appalling. Tasteless, overcooked food and horrible service made this a memory we'd rather forget. It wasn't just us either as other customers definitely weren't hanging around for dessert.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KasiaHuchrak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    67
    24
    10
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great food cheap price”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We had the best meal that we've had in India so far in this restaurant and including 2 x soft drinks the bill only came to 370 rps. Simple great food.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank LondonLadyV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Thali was good but was served cold”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Also coincidentally resulted in my very first bout of traveler's diarrhea after one month in India. Sorry to say it, but it happened:) Maybe it was a fluke, that's why I still give 3 stars. Otherwise service, atmosphere, and prices were great.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IDreamedOfThis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Give it a go!”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

The ate here for dinner twice. The food was pretty good! We had a lamb and chicken curry, both were good. The next time we had a salad and veggie burger. The food was always fresh, and the staff firendly. Prices are good. And they have cold beer (sometimes hard to find in India)

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank baivw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Very Nice Quiet Oasis”
Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

We have been to the Lotus Cafe several times and every time is enjoyable. I really liked the atmosphere which is very quiet since it is off the street a bit. It is nicely decorated and very cozy feeling.

Our first night we went for dinner and we were both disappointed in the food (it's not bad but just mediocre). We did however enjoy playing connect four and we had great service.

We then tried it for breakfast and this is when we really liked it! My hubby loves the big breakfast with fried potatoes, eggs, beans, and toast and there is the typical fare as well. Prices are what you can expect anywhere.

Try it for breakfast and if you go for dinner, just have realistic expectations about the food.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NikiandJosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lotus Cafe & Restaurant also viewed

Udaipur, Udaipur District
Udaipur, Udaipur District
 
Udaipur, Udaipur District
Udaipur, Udaipur District
 

Been to Lotus Cafe & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing