We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent low budget option with good views and friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dream Heaven Guest House
Ranked #17 of 294 Udaipur B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

We were advised to stay the other side of the lake from the main town because then you could observe the really picturesque side of the river from your hotel's roof terrace. We did, its good advice, and Dream Heaven's terrace restaurant is its best feature.

The hotel itself is a fine budget option. Rooms are clean (though aren't attended to daily) and reasonably spacious. Location is a good compromise between being absolutely central and not completely crazy.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas_the_Tuk-Tuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (403)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

169 - 175 of 403 reviews

Reviewed August 2, 2013

We had a very pleasant stay in Dream Heaven, not only was everybody very helpful (keeping open their kitchen for our late arrival), we also had a dream of a room. The nicest we have had in all of Rajasthan, for one of the easiest going prices.
The view from the rooftop terrace in the evening is breathtaking!

Room Tip: We had room number 1, which was recently renovated and very good value. I did not get a look at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank C-Kempeneers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here in May 2013 and had a very special time. After travelling in India for 5 months this was a beautiful change in budget accommodation. We had one of the highest rooms in the guesthouse with two windows.. one overlooking the lake and the other giving you sunset views over the town so although the room was compact, this made it perfect for us. The rooms and restaurant are, in keeping with most of Udaipur, beautifully painted and decorated. We ate breakfast here on a few days which was nice.. and drinks in the evening overlooking the lake is a perfect spot. The staff here are all very sweet and we loved the location too.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Bell1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

It's nice when you arrive at a guest house that has made an effort. With so many of the budget guest houses in India putting a bed in a room and not much else it was a pleasant surprise staying in a bright and colourfully decorated room with multiple windows at the top of the building, overlooking the city on one side and the lake on the other. The roof top gave great views and served up some good food as well. Staying on this side of the lake was nice and quiet and with the guest house's location right next to the foot bridge we still had access to everything on foot. Friendly and helpful staff and free wifi made our stay very comfortable indeed.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Ed T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

My friend and I stayed two days in this hotel, during the month of June 2013.
We only paid 500 rupies for a double room (without AC) that was beautifully decorated! There was so much colour in the room, it was really cosy. But the best of all was the roof-top terrace! Breakfast with view on the City Palace and on the lake - really great. The hotel-people are very friendly and do everything to make you feel at home. Besides, they arrange pick-up from the train station and other services (bus reservation etc). We really recommend this place!

Room Tip: Room number 1, with view on the pedestrian bridge and the lake is simple but so cosy decorated! Not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NelVerbeke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

I pretty much agree with itchyfeetMD's review.

The terrace is lovely and a great place to escape the madness with a tea or a beer.

The rooms are pretty good and the views are lovely. You pay a bit more to reflect this, but really in the scheme of things it's still amazingly cheap (starting around £9 for a double room).

On the downside some of the staff are bored/disinterested and the bathrooms aren't the cleanest...only really a problem when you stay for more than a couple of nights and the room isn't cleaned.

We liked being on this side of the lake, it is a bit more relaxed and quieter at night. The guesthouse is right next to the footbridge so it's only a 2 min walk to the other part of the city.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Memma3121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Yes there are others that are slightly cheaper. Yes there are others that are cleaner. But on the whole is place fits the bill. Great rooftop, but could be arranged to be more social. Really nice relaxed vibe though. Good for sunset for viewing the city palace, which we found to be better than than watching it over the hills.

Could be cleaner as stated, but beds were soft and they were happy to provide additional soap, TP, bed sheets as requested. We had a private balcony in room 11 for 500 INR, which we found as a good deal.

Cheap beers and good service from the wait staff. The older manager (owner?) was really helpful and responsive. The younger guy with the long hair was pretty indifferent and unhelpful unless of course you are a twenty something single girl.

Don't eat at the restaurant unless its breakfast.

Room Tip: Room 11 has a private balcony as a cheap non-AC alternative to the upper floor rooms. Good morning s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank itchyfeetMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel The Tiger
Hotel The Tiger
#74 of 177 in Udaipur
396 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mewar Haveli
Mewar Haveli
#35 of 177 in Udaipur
821 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Udaigarh Udaipur
Hotel Udaigarh Udaipur
#42 of 177 in Udaipur
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
#20 of 177 in Udaipur
589 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jheel Guest House
Jheel Guest House
#48 of 294 in Udaipur
176 reviews
0.1 mi away
Panorama Guest House
Panorama Guest House
#12 of 294 in Udaipur
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dream Heaven Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dream Heaven Guest House

Address: 22 Bhim Permashever Marg | Outside Chandpole, Hanuman Ghat, Udaipur 313001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 294 B&Bs / Inns in Udaipur
Price Range: $10 - $44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Dream Heaven Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dream Heaven Guest House Hotel Udaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing