We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best if not the best..”
Review of Raj Niwas Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Raj Niwas Hotel
Ranked #56 of 156 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“One of the best if not the best..”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights in dec-12. The moment we entered the room we were amazed to see the impeccable condition of the room. Very classy yet so very traditional & amazingly maintained thanks largely to its care taker Jassu, a one man army. It is located in one of the best localities in Udapiur, Lalghat. Dont expect food to be delivered to your room but then what you can definately expect is a one of a kind memorable experience.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paragks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    30
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
17
62
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2012

This beautiful, atmospheric hotel on the banks of Lake Pichola in the old City of Udaipur has only 3 rooms, one per floor. We stayed here for 2 nighst in December 2012 as part of a trip through Rajastan. The airport pick-up was waiting when we arrived, took us directly to the hotel and we were able to check in even though it was around 9am...The young resident manager, Jazzu was helpful and accomodating. We booked the Maharanja Suite on the 3rd floor (4th floor by American standards). If stairs are an issue, this hotel has no elevator but Jazzu will gladly help carry your bags upstairs. Our room was large, with a king sized bed, sitting area and large balcony that looked out directly on Lake Pichola and the Lake Palace Hotel. The City Palace and Jain Temple are both within easy walking distance, as are numerous restaurants. The view from our balcony (and the rooftop breakfast area) was beautiful during the day and absolutely magical at night! A highlight of our trip was a tuk-tuk ride suggested by Jazzu...the best decision we made! Our driver was "Zakir" (cell # 98 29 78 61 03, email: zakir_jeack@yahoo.com) who took us all around Udaipur, showing us numerous sites that are not in the guide books...his restaurant and shopping guide was spot on! Never pushy, always friendly and accomodating, Zakir helped make our trip more enjoyable! We thououghly enjoyed our stay at the Raj Niwas Hotel in Udaipur and our "guide", Zakir!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelerrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012

First thing is first... It is not a hotel ... it is a guest house. It is a three room property with the Maharaja Suite, Maharani Suite and a Luxury Suite. The property is managed by only one guy Jassu/Jaswant. The guy has a habit of stepping on your feet with his rules and regulations. So while we stayed in the Maharaji Suite with a balcony and view of the lake, Jassu's rules did not permit even tea/coffee on the balcony. There is no room service. Even the breakfast in the morning (included in the package) is a sordid affair of choices of eggs or plain cornflakes. It was only after we insisted that we are vegetarians that Jassu did us a 'favor' and arranged paranthas from a nearby hotel.

He has a self confessed preference for foreigners only, which he mentioned the first moment we stepped into the room. He also informed us that the rooms were last painted 7 years ago and that guests should ensure that everything remains clean and tidy.

We paid Rs.4600/night (taxes included) for this place which a GRAND rip off that Agoda.com has played on us. Agoda people it seems have never visited this GUESTHOUSE and continue to list it as a hotel. There are some reviews I have read that mention that the hotel has a good view of lake pichola... well my dear friends there are hundreds of hotels in Udaipur that have a great view of Pichola, so it is nothing unique. If you really want a good view of pichola, try Ras Leela which is bang on the Pichola lake or try Jagat Niwas or Lake Pichola hotel itself.These are actual hotels and not a guest house like Raj Niwas.

Avoid this place.

Room Tip: Only the Maharaja Suite, which is on the 3rd floor and without a lift, has a large balcony with a go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank KK_traveller_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

This is truely an amazing hotel. Everything was almost perfect about it. It was located right on lake pichola with a great view and within walking distance to all main tourist attractions. We had the 3rd floor room which had our own personal balcony. The hotel was impeccably clean and the manager, a young boy from a local village was the most pleasant and friendly person you could meet. He was a real genuine person in a city were tourists are seen as pound notes. The best part was the rooms were reasonably priced.

The hotel also had plugs fitted which mean no need for a travel adapter. If your staying in the top floor a little hint would be to go to the hotel opposite (can't recall it's name) and get the wifi code. The wifi only extends to the first floor room.

My wife and I will definitely go back.

Room Tip: Get top floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rohith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

The maharaja suite In this hotel was booked a month ago for two days. When we reached to the location we found that the room is actually given to some one else. We were informed that the travel website we booked through overbooked the room to two different customers for one of the day of two we were going to spend there. We found that that actually did happen. But what hotel also did from their side is that they decided to give the booked room to someone else for second day of the two days we were there. Which means that we paid for the maharaja suite refundable ( refunded costed us more!) and ended up staying in a lower grade room that initially booked even after booking a month in advance and getting a ' refundable ' room.
This was peak season so what I am afraid they ( agoda and the hotel) did I'd that sold the room to some one else for higher price and left us stranded. Very very untrustworthy and unprofessional service from the hotel for some extra bucks. Careful if you have booked your rooms here for peak season.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Neelhit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hereford
Level Contributor
57 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

This is a great hotel 50 feet from the shores of lake Pichola in Lalghat. Lalghat is predominantly for overseas tourists so the streets are all very clean and tidy thanks to all the local shopkeepers who maintain cleanliness. Also the whole area is very quiet with very few vehicles. Disadvantage is all the rickshaws have nexus and charge steep prices which maybe affordable to the overseas tourist but very dear for the indian tourist.

The rooms are all very clean with high end fixtures fittings and furnishings. 101 and 201 overlook the street but 301 is definitely worth its money with a large furnished terrace with excellent views of lake Pichola and the Lake Palace and Jagmandir in the distant and some phenomenal sunset views. 301 would be ideal for a romantic stay though the terrace doesnt offer any privacy and is overlooked by neighbouring hotels. Ofcourse we had no problems with hot water or electricity and the AC was supercool and quiet.

Jassu the manager is a one man army with a self proclaimed OCD for cleanliness and though this is very good in itself some might find him stepping on their toes. Breakfast was included in the price and is very basic, I would definitely not pay extra for it. Jassu does the breakfast and at best is bearable though edible. There are couple of good roof top restaurants next to Raj Palace of which we liked Rainbow restaurant which had a very homely atmophere

The lake pichola boat ride is only 50 feet from the hotel doors step and the Udaipur City Palace and the famous Jagdish temple and Laxmi temple are both within 1 km of the hotel. All in all a very comfortable stay but for me personally I would only stay in room 301, as 201 and 101 though good are not exceptional

Room Tip: Room 301 is the best of the 3 rooms in this small privately owned property
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 64hereford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

We were welcomed by the manager who was in charge of everything. He was really helpful at anytime of the day. The rooms are very clean and the rooftop is fantastic. The hotel is on a quiet street near the city palace.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flaubert1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.1 mi away
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
#13 of 156 in Udaipur
1,343 reviews
0.0 mi away
Jaiwana Haveli
Jaiwana Haveli
#7 of 156 in Udaipur
2,249 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
#12 of 156 in Udaipur
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lake Pichola Hotel
Lake Pichola Hotel
#15 of 156 in Udaipur
695 reviews
0.5 mi away
Boheda Palace
Boheda Palace
#8 of 156 in Udaipur
448 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Udai Kothi
Hotel Udai Kothi
#23 of 156 in Udaipur
1,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raj Niwas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raj Niwas Hotel

Property: Raj Niwas Hotel
Address: 16 Lal Ghat, Udaipur 313001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 156 Hotels in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Raj Niwas Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Raj Niwas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing