We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big potential... But”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
Ranked #12 of 156 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Big potential... But”
Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

Pros
- price is VERY good. I dont think youll find as good value as this anywhere else.
- service is great, you will be treated very nicely. Always greeted with a smile.
- owner is very honest: I had payed for three nights but only stayed two. He gave me back the money without hesitating
- building is nice and has a very good location.
- rooftop with sublime views ... Really.. WOW!!!
- hot water 24/7 BUT takes a long long time ( you have to start the shower a while ahead). Dont know if they could improve this. Nevertheless, once hot water starts coming out, you can enjoy it as long as you want

Cons
- breakfast is simple, not many options
- sheets and blankets did not look clean ( if not dirty then at least stained ). Could improve this by buying some new sheets, and washing blankets more often.
- the room is not cleaned every day which is a shame... It is always nice to come to an organised and clean room at night
- wifi did not work in our room
- Communication via email is difficult. they take ages to answer the emails, or do not answer them at all.
plus, it looks like everything is a bit deorganized: I had written thousands of emails asking for a lake view room, since it was our honeymoon. And also saying that even though I had payed 3 nights I would only stay two. When we got there, he said he didnt know we where only staying two nights , and that he was not sure if lake view room would be available (which I had asked for couple of months before and as I said, I had written many reminders, insisting that I wanted lake view)... At the beginning he said lake view room would not be possible ( even though I booked this hotel on this only condition)
Finally, he said I was " lucky" that one lake view room was available.... Hmm.. Lucky?
When we gottothe room, windows were small, so the view was not as nice as expected. Given that lake view room is much more expensive, I think in the end it would have been the same to pay for a normal room.

That being said... Building is in good shape, owners are willing to do everything right, location is top. So, if they manage to fix some of these aspects, and pay more attention to a few little details, this hotel could easily be the best in town!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauritabernalv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
satyadevsingh, Owner at Hotel Aashiya Haveli, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking out time and posting a review on our hotel and its services. It was indeed a pleasure to have you stay with us and to have been of service to you. We are also thankful to you that you found best value for money for staying with us like our honesty and services..
We are delighted to learn that you have enjoyed good view from terrace and you found our building nice and you enjoyed location also .
At the outset, please do accept my sincere personal apologies for the inconvenience caused to you for hot water we want to mention that you said “ once hot water starts coming out, you can enjoy it as long as you want” we have centralised hot water system plenty of hot water is stored all the time in our overhead tank but some time when no other guest is using hot water it take little long time first we have to flow the cold water of pipe line .

We endeavour to be consistent in ensuring that we deliver excellent service. I have since addressed the issues with the staff and laundryman personally about linen issue. I assure you that corrective action has been taken and I am confident you will notice a marked improvement during your next stay with us.

for breakfast we already written in our website that we are pure vegetarian people even eggs are not allowed in our hotel so we can offer limited varieties , we regard your comments and started thinking to introduce more vegetarian dishes for breakfast ,
As we do not have duplicate keys for rooms so if guest do not leave key at reception during the day than we consider that they don’t want room service.
Finally once I apologise for delay in replying mails, during this period I got injury in my left leg and I was hospitalised for few days so it created commutation gape.
We assure you that we will definitely manage to fix all these aspects and pay more attention to a few little details.
We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back on your next visit to Udaipur.
Warm Regards from all of us at Aashiya Haveli .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    315
    198
    38
    7
    1
See reviews for
191
183
39
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Hotel is very close to the water and pretty much in the centre of town. Its a 5 minute walk to the palace and about 10 minutes walk to the other side of the lake.
The room we had was on the ground floor and can be a bit noisy, especially from the TV in reception that seems to be on constantly. If you have a choice go for a room on a higher floor.
Very little conversation with the staff, they kept themselves out of sight whenever possible and it didn't feel very welcoming.
The room was very clean. Plenty of hot water. Good size but no closet to hang any clothes in our room.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maundy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
satyadevsingh, Owner at Hotel Aashiya Haveli, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Guest,
We thank you for reviewing our hotel. Your feedback is valuable to us. We have taken a note of the shortcomings. We apologize for the inconvenience caused to you. we will planning to remove tv from reception . Had we known of your inconvenience or preference during your stay we would have left no stone unturned to make you comfortable. . We are glad to know that you enjoyed the view , location ,hot water and cleanliness . We would love to welcome you again and assure you of better attention and services
Warm Regards from all of us at Aashiya Haveli.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We only had 1 night at Aashiya Haveli and ever since, wish we had stayed for more nights. We are currently travelling around India and it is still the nicest room in the best area! Thank you very much for our stay, and especially being so kind after we had missed the airport transfer driver you had booked for us, sorry again!! Lovely views of lake pichola, close to all local sights and a bay window to room really added to the atmosphere of the lovely city Jaipur.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
satyadevsingh, Owner at Hotel Aashiya Haveli, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Guest,
It was a pleasure to be of service to you. We are glad to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the location, , cleanliness and service up to your expectations. We thank you for sharing your view with others on TA and recommending us highly. We would love to welcome you again and assure you of our best attention at all times.
Warm Regards from all of us at Aashiya haveli.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 14, 2013

A beautiful haveli with basic but clean rooms in a great location in Udaipur.
We had a room on the second floor.
A fantastic breakfast was served to us on the roof top terrace each morning.
Staff were friendly and very helpful.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrhamParkash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
satyadevsingh, Owner at Hotel Aashiya Haveli, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Dear Guests, We thank you for reviewing us. It was a pleasure to be of service to you. You have been very kind with your generous appraisal of our food, service and location. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We would love to welcome you again! Best wishes from all of us at Aashiya haveli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
1 review
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Basic hotel but clean and excellent value for money. The deluxe rooms are the ones to go for as they have a lovely view over the lake. All in all this hotel must be one of the best in udaipur in this price range

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
satyadevsingh, Owner at Hotel Aashiya Haveli, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Guest,
It's heartening to read your kind comments. We thank you for taking time out to review us. We are happy to learn that you enjoyed the location,and accommodation at our hotel. We would love to be of service to you again.
Warm Regards from all of us at Aashiya haveli.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

In this converted family house you'll find guesthouse style accommodation, namely very basic bedrooms with minimal facilities.
Pros: fantastic location by the lake if you manage to get one of the rooms overlooking the water and  mountains.
The "deluxe" rooms are spacious enough and very  clean. So is the bathroom equipped with a shower.  The double bed is made of two joined singles.
A window bench in the deluxe room is a great way to relax, read a book or take in the beautiful scenery.
Setbacks: beyond the very basics there is very little in way of facilities. No cupboard, no chairs, no fridge. And one more thing that we have noticed: the bed sheets, although washed, showed shadows of old stains, not a very nice feeling. Unfortunately It's not an uncommon problem in Indian guesthouses of a similar standard.
Service was good, friendly and personal.
In summery: considering the value for money ratio, it is a reasonable choice for Udiapur.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SINDEV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
satyadevsingh, Owner at Hotel Aashiya Haveli, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Guests,
We thank you for recommending us . We appreciate and are thankful for the time you took out to write such a detailed review stating all the pros and cons. We are happy to know that we could make your stay a memorable one despite some limitations in our infrastructure. We are a 12 room small hotel and we work passionately to make sure that our guests enjoy their holiday. As we have window bench to sit so we removed chairs after suggestion of number of guest if some one asked than we provide them . We loved to be of service to you and would heartily welcome you again with us.
Warm Regards from all of us at Aashiya haveli.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong
Level Contributor
147 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

A beautiful haveli with basic but clean rooms in a great location in Udaipur. We had a room on the second floor with a view of the lake. A fantastic breakfast was served to us on the roof top terrace each morning. Staff were friendly and very helpful. Good wifi available in the lobby. Very quiet overnight for a good nights sleep. The hotel does not have a restaurant but their are a dozen restaurants within 100 metres of the hotel, so this is not an issue. We would not hesitate to recommend this lovely haveli to others

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MelGeelong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
satyadevsingh, Owner at Hotel Aashiya Haveli, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Guests,
Thank you for writing such an excellent review for us. We value your feedback and are thrilled to learn that this comes from a top contributor like yourselves. We are glad to know that you found your stay a pleasant one. You encouraging words regarding our accommodation, service and food
are highly inspiring. We would love to welcome you again with us.
Best wishes from all of us at Aashiya haveli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.2 mi away
Madri Haveli
Madri Haveli
#6 of 156 in Udaipur
457 reviews
0.0 mi away
Jaiwana Haveli
Jaiwana Haveli
#7 of 156 in Udaipur
2,249 reviews
0.5 mi away
Boheda Palace
Boheda Palace
#8 of 156 in Udaipur
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Mewar Haveli
Mewar Haveli
#28 of 156 in Udaipur
782 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Udaigarh Udaipur
Hotel Udaigarh Udaipur
#41 of 156 in Udaipur
354 reviews
0.0 mi away
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
#13 of 156 in Udaipur
1,343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aashiya Haveli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aashiya Haveli

Property: Hotel Aashiya Haveli
Address: 17 Lal Ghat, Udaipur 313001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 156 Hotels in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Aashiya Haveli 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This property is an ancestral HAVELI and we keep the traditions of ages alive, the thrust is on aboriginal Indian culture and providing perfect homely environment to make your stay eternally memorable in UDAIPUR.All rooms are AIR CONDITIONED. All rooms have proper day light and fresh air circulation.We have big terrace to enjoy Lake view , City palace view, Monsoon palace view, you can also enjoy view of Aravali hills.We do not have parking facility, out side hotel public parking is available it is safe but its reservation is not possible. we do not have accommodation for driver. .There are no telephones or television sets in the rooms to upset the tranquility and serenity of this beautiful haveli. You cannot help but fall in love and want to stay forever. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Hotel Aashiya Haveli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing