We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“poor service, reception people touts” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Udai Niwas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Udai Niwas
Ranked #73 of 137 Hotels in Udaipur
Agra, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“poor service, reception people touts”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2011

this hotel is charging way too much for its rooms. person sitting on reception is very rude and overall service is very bad. rooms of hotel are ok. location of hotel is good as it is near to jagdish temple but udiapur is not so big city and you can get autos from everywhere.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank traveludaipir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    76
    32
    11
    5
See reviews for
27
79
27
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011

We really enjoyed the time in Udaipur, especially our great hotel! Our room was clean with nice furniture and very beautiful paintings on the wall.The charming rooftop restaurant offers great food and you will have the best view over the city and a nice sunset! Everyone was more than friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Indianfan007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2011

Fabulous hotel. The cheapest room is 600 Indian rupees for a double and it's beautifully painted and very clean. Shower is always hot and wifi in rooms is cheap and fast!

The staff are lovely and gave us blankets to watch movies on the roof top last night. So homely and fun. When I felt sick they offered to call a doctor or organise a massage and they seem very genuine and helpful. Wish I stayed here longer and less in Jaipur!!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank LucyAndTomKirkwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

This beautiful, charming restaurant is situated right in the heart of the picturesque Udaipur. It has incredible views of the city at all hours of the day, especially at sunset. At night it even has a widescreen satellite TV if you wish to view. The staff are incredibly friendly and were fast and efficient. They even offered to take photographs of us without us having to ask!! There are very comfortable sofas where we could lie and relax while the waiters bought us food. The food was amazing....we came to Udaipur for 2 days and had all our meals there as we felt no need to go elsewhere. There is a wide selection and it came very fast and was delicious. Our waiter was called Pawan...i would highly recommend this for all travellers, as it is great value for money.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank deadlydeaders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011

I stumbled upon this place when looking for somewhere nice to eat and was thoroughly impressed. I ate some of the best food I ate in my entire month in India. The staff were absolutely amazing - very friendly and very helpful. Although I was already staying in another hotel, I asked to see the rooms and was very impressed. They were very large, spacious, well decorated and extremely cheap. Had I not have already paid for my other hotel, I would have moved here in a second.
I went back a second night to spend the evening there as I so impressed the first night!
The hotel is located right in the heart of where you want to be as a tourist in Udaipur.
This hotel is a little star!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank DavieP_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011

We arrived early morning to check in - it was no problem. The staff of the hotel was very friendly, remembered everything and were super kind! The rooms are ok and the rooftop is just amazing... it makes you to want to stay here forever!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank ClaudiOnTheMove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

This was one of my favorite hotels during my weeks-long trip in India. When the taxi driver pulled up, I didn't think much of the narrow little hotel on the side of the temple on a tiny uphill street. But it turned out to be relaxing and the staff were great, especially Mukesh! We got a double room and added an extra bed; the room was more than big enough for another mattress -- we could have added 3 more beds and had enough room left for cartwheels. We were expecting sparse amenities since the price was so low, but our room even had a vanity with a mirror, and bench seats, and a balcony (not to mention a window that looked down onto the rooftop shower of a nearby home). The bed linens were clean and didn't make us feel like we were sleeping on dust mites, although our sleep was interrupted by call to prayers and other temple-related noises since the temple is literally across the street.
The laundry was inexpensive but fast. We had breakfast every morning at the rooftop restaurant with the great view, and the staff there were also super nice and the food was good. When it came time to leave, the front desk was very helpful getting a taxi to the airport for us. Overall, a great value for the money and experience - and I'd surely come back next time I'm in Udaipur if I hadnt sworn that I'd stay at the Lake Palace if I do return!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Amanda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Thamla Haveli
Hotel Thamla Haveli
#55 of 137 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 stars 243 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Nayee Haveli
Hotel Nayee Haveli
#41 of 137 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 stars 205 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Krishna Niwas
Hotel Krishna Niwas
#59 of 137 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 stars 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel The Tiger
Hotel The Tiger
#62 of 137 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 stars 357 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Gangaur Palace / Ashoka Art
0.5 mi away
Rangniwas Palace Hotel
Rangniwas Palace Hotel
#50 of 137 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 stars 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Udai Niwas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Udai Niwas

Property: Hotel Udai Niwas
Address: Near Jagdish Temple | Gangaur Ghat road, Udaipur 313001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Udai Niwas 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Number of rooms: 30 Dear Guests,Hotel Udai Niwas welcomes you to Udaipur. Our endeavor is to make your stay a pleasant one. Hotel Udainiwas is a 30 Room with attached bathrooms family-run small hotel.The hotel is 5 storied and has a Highest Roof-top Restaurant in udaipur on the top floor. It is accessible both by Elevator & stairs.Hotel Udai Niwas is an aesthetically designed heritage property displaying a true traditional ambience. It is an excellent combination of comfort, convenience, entertainment and style. The accommodation is ornamented with soft furnishings and decor and offers a comfortable and pleasing stay. The stylish roof top restaurant in its cool atmosphere serves a palatable range of delicious food and sets the mood for a romantic dinner for couples. We suggest that you book 3 to 4 months in advance to get rooms on a higher floor.Please be informed that we do not entertain complaints regarding view from the rooms as we do not make any such claims or promises.Except Standard room category all rooms are equipped with Air-condition, Television and attached bathrooms with 24 hours hot water.The hotel is in easy walking distance to all popular monuments,the Pichola lake,bazaars,gardens and restaurants. It's situated in a very popular locality called 'Gangaur Ghat' very near to world famous Pichola lake. Location Hotel Udai Niwas is conveniently placed at a renowned area of Gangaur Marg. Some of nearest visiting places are Lake Pichola (100 mtrs), Fateh Sagar Lake (2.9 km), Jag Mandir (2 km), Monsoon palace (8 km), Jagdish Temple (100 m), Saheliyon ki bari (2.9 km),City Palace Government Museum (550 m) and Gulab Bagh and Zoo (2 km).Maharana Pratap Airport - 24.7 Km (Approx.) Railway Station - 3 km (Approx.) State Transport Bus Stand - 2.6 km (Approx.) Facilities Hotel Udai Niwas offers productive list of facilities that includes roof top restaurant, elevator, sightseeing tours, taxi services and money exchanging facility. The roof top restaurant is the ideal place to have a perfect dining experience. It serves its guests with an ample assortment of scrumptious delicacies. A well-established travel desk arranges tours to Rajasthan and India for the clients. It provides efficient taxi services to them. Other additional services include folk dance, laundry service, internet with Wi-Fi and doctor on call. Rooms Hotel Udai Niwas houses 30 rooms in Six impressive categories of Standard Room, Standard AC Room, Deluxe Room, Super Deluxe Room , Super Deluxe Room with Balcony and Super Deluxe Family Room. All the rooms are nicely done up and appointed with air conditioner, ceiling fan, color television,chairs and table with attached bathroom. THE HOTEL SERVES THE HIGHEST ROOFTOP RESTAURANT IN THE CITY. Our Attractive Rooftop Terrace Offers The Spectacular Panoramic View Through 360 Degree.Upon The Terrace You Will Discover The Perfect Spot To Relax Away From The Noise Of The City Streets.With The Restaurant Close-At-Hand To Supply You With Drinks, Snacks Or Meals, And Musical Entertainment In The Evening With The Folk Dances And Music Of Mewar, You Need No Other Reason TO Laze Away Your Day Here. The Elegant Rooftop Restaurant With Its Cool Atmosphere, Makes A Perfect Retreat From The Midday Heat. Dine In The Evening In A Romantic Ambience;Muted Lighting, Gentle Music,Twinkling Lights Of The City And Beyond Won't Fail To Enchant You. We Offer A High Standard of Cuisine From A Comprehensive Menu. The elegant" Sun-n-Moon" rooftop restaurant provides a wide range of delicious food and an views of Lake Pichola, the Lake Palace,Jagmandir island, Aravali Mountains & you can enjoy the complete Udaipur city (A City of Lake) 360 degree view.We offers a serene refuge of comfort and hospitality where Indian tradition and modern services are blended. The has now become one of the landmarks of the city with its highly professional and delightful services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Udai Niwas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Udai Niwas Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing