We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do Not Risk Your Trip!”
Review of Pahuna Haveli

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pahuna Haveli
Ranked #117 of 260 Udaipur B&B and Inns
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Do Not Risk Your Trip!”
Reviewed February 10, 2010

I made a booking on the Pahuna Haveli website. This was confirmed and paid for 3 weeks prior to my arrival. On arriving, I was informed they did not have my booking and I was left stranded to find alternative accommodation.

The only reason I booked my accommodation with Pahuna Haveli was because of the great reviews. Whilst I understand mistakes can happen, getting my refund back was a nightmare not to mention the lies I was fed by the owners of Pahuna Haveli.

Do not risk spoiling your holiday by making a booking at Pahuna Haveli!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oneinvestment
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrsHSingh, Owner at Pahuna Haveli, responded to this review, October 19, 2010
This gentleman was to come & stay at our place for 1 night,the next day he was booked to go to Triedent Hotel, but because of a mistake by our Travel Agent we could not give him a room that day.We were v.apologetic & offered to organise a beautiful lake facing room for him for that night ,but he refused saying he will go to Trident. I also told him that any time in future you come to Udaipur we will give him a Suite for free for as long as he likes,for which he seemed happy.
We also offered & paid for his 1 nights stay at Trident.,but he wanted us to pay much more than that. & if we did not do so he will malign the name of our Home Stay so badly that on body
will come to stay at our place. We have no answer to that.!

Fortunately our rooms are always occupied,& my guests enjoy their stay with us.
I am happy to say that in 2007 we at PAHUNA HAVELI got the" BEST HOMESTAY AWARD" of MEWAR.
On 30 Sept.2010 - INDIAN ACHIEVERS AWARD FOR HOSPITALITY & TOURISM at a NATIONAL LEVEL was Presented to HEMANT KUMARI.- Owner of " Pahuna Haveli."
Best wishes,
Hemant Kumari.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    3
    2
    2
    4
See reviews for
7
13
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, NZ
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2010

Pahuna Haveli is slightly out of town in a nice, quiet, up-market residential area. We had a very nice large, clean room - although the furnishings aren't especially well matched or special. The hosts are charming. Breakfast was average. Somehow or other this place doesn't quite deliver on the potential - I suspect its the overall decor. Best part is an absolutely excellent restaurant just around the corner. Targetted at the middle class Indian market, its the same price as the tourist restaurants in town but infinitely superior. Can't remember the name but Hemant will let you know.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulrsWellington_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bombay
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2009

Udaipur was the last leg of our ten day Rajasthan tour. We stayed at Pahuna haveli for two days before returning to Bombay.
It was a great experience staying at a home stay. We got an upgrade to a suite after paying a discounted differential on the room rates. The facilities were at par with star hotels, and the personal touch of the owner was the special add-on. She was very keen to share her experiences and guide us on what to see, where to eat etc. We truly appreciated our stay at Pahuna Haveli.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eagles_ts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2009

After staying in a couple B&Bs in Delhi and Rajistan, we were excited about the pahuna Haveli, after seeing the reviews. At first glance it seemed very nice. The house is beautiful, and the rooms are fine. However, the value of this place is terrible. We paid the price that was listed in the Lp, but it should really be about half that based on what we were paying for similar hotels throughout our travels in India.

After one night, we realized that the price didn't match the service and we decided to leave a night early. Our room came with breakfast included, and it was disgusting. Mushy porridge and an overcooked egg on the first day, and on the second day, they actually served us a half cooked egg. We didn't mention it to the owner, who was sitting with us, because we were ready to just get out of there. However, she clearly knew the egg wasn't cooked because we could hear her admonishing the cook for it after we started heading for our room. If she noticed it, then she should have fixed it. That one moment really left a sour taste in my mouth for this place.

The owner seemed nice, but there were too many issues. I could recommend pahuna haveli if it was half the price. Otherwise, find somewhere else.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DMaverick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
1 review
Reviewed July 6, 2009

Pahuna Haveli has a unique mix to offer - comfort, peace, delicious home cooked food etc etc. Beautiful architecture and spacious rooms which are neatly maintained provides a complete home stay feeling even being away from home.
The hospitality extended, in terms of local travel, historical facts & places, food and delicacies in & around city, by Ms Kumari and her family is truly a sign of Rajasthani culture which gives a traveler an edge to an alien city. Their association and knowledge on the city’s history is worth exploring.

The Haveli is located in nice and silent place, reaching to any city attraction is just few minutes tuk tuk ride.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Freq-Tourist11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2009

Pahuna Haveli is truly a special place to stay. In a city with the likes of the Lake Palace hotel, the City Palace residence there is little shortage of choice. However after seeing the luxury five star properties I knew I made the right choice staying at this homestay.

The imposing Haveli styled building is beautiful, the grounds immaculate but most importantly the feeling of being part of a home the best attribute. The calm interior and pleasant gardens allows time to relax. The rooms are unique, immaculatley clean and comfy. The hosts, Hemant and her husband are a true testimony to Rajasthani hospitality and make your stay even more enjoyable. You can leave and enter as you wish, location is good only a short rickshaw ride away from the old city (maybe 30-40 rupees, 40p-50p). The food is all home cooked and well worth staying in on a night to sample the cuisine.

Well worth getting away from the traditional hotels and immerse yourself in Rajasthani hospitality.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nabeel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durban
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 27, 2008

We were a group of 4 women. This was our only homestay in our three week trip of India. After this wonderful experience we all wished our travel agent had booked more homestays. Hemant and her husband were gracious hosts in their lovely home close to the city. Spacious and relaxing after a long days touring, it was a lovely refuge. We also ate excellent home cooked meals both nights we stayed.Highly recommended.

  • Liked — spacious and clean
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hippoDurban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
3.3 mi away
Devra Udaipur
Devra Udaipur
#26 of 157 in Udaipur
282 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
#12 of 157 in Udaipur
562 reviews
1.7 mi away
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
#2 of 157 in Udaipur
2,970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Udaipur Palace Resort & Spa
2.1 mi away
Trident Udaipur
Trident Udaipur
#4 of 157 in Udaipur
2,673 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Leela Palace Udaipur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pahuna Haveli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pahuna Haveli

Property: Pahuna Haveli
Address: 211 - Sardarpura,, Udaipur 313001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #117 of 260 B&Bs / Inns in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pahuna Haveli 3*
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing