We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel great experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Mandiram Palace
Ranked #114 of 166 Hotels in Udaipur
Reviewed October 28, 2012

I was in Udaipur and stayed put here for 4 days. While I did not expect much from the hotel after reading a review from one of the guests, I was in for a very pleasant surprise. The hotel has some great staff beginning with Ashish who is the owner, Darshan at the reception, Shahid at the restaurant and all the staff who are extremely co-operative, helpful and always around. A vehicle was arranged at the airport for a pickup and drop and the vehicle was already waiting for me as I reached the airport. The check-in was smooth and the room was ready as I walked in. I was provided the option of two rooms to choose from in the Super Deluxe category and I chose the one facing the lake. The room is pretty decent and decorated in typical Rajasthani style. The bath and toilet is average but neat and clean. Ashish also helped us with transportation for sight seeing in and around Jaipur and the vehicle was always on time in spite of the heavy rush season with the right drivers who were very cordial. He also gave us the right advice on shopping locations, rates, etc. The only grouch in the entire stay was the fact that the lake is only part visible from the room and a better view would have been fantastic. The bathroom could also be improved. I will give the hotel a rating of 4/5

Room Tip: Go in for the rooms overlooking the lake either in the Suite or Super Deluxe Category for a better v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hareshiyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (160)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 160 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2012

visited on 15th august on the same. welcome was good by the owner himslef and during three das we got an excellent and quick service at there. wanna go again n again, terrace sitting and view from the window is good enough. even mr.aaashish helps us a lot regarding the sites visits of udaipoor and we always be a thankfull to him.

Room Tip: suites are owsome...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harshil p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

I had booked a deluxe room for 3 nights for Au$165. When I arrived at the hotel on 27th September 2012 I was apparently given a super deluxe room which did not match any of the pictures displayed on the internet, and had no amenities. The room was dirty with a bathtub in a shocking and disgusting state. The hotel staff were difficult and unapproachable, refusing to let me speak with hotel management until I insisted. They could not explain why there were no amenities there in the first place but advised they would place a fridge and electric kettle in there for me. The pictures on the internet apparently show the suite rooms and bathrooms, not the deluxe rooms. I would not stay in this room even if I was allowed to stay there for free. I found alternate accommodation and wrote to Expedia the very next day. I was refused a refund by the hotel even though I did not even check in. Prior to leaving Udaipur I returned to Mandiram Palace with the intention of accessing the room and taking pictures to prove my story, and query why I was not given at least part of my refund. I was denied access to the room by the receptionist who told me he was just a masseur at the hotel but in fact he was Mr Ashish Ramsnehi himself, the hotel owner and manager. After finding this out from my taxi driver, I called Mr Ramsnehi and threatened to go to the Police. I held further discussions with Expedia the following day and managed to get back a refund for 2 nights only. My advice to any sensible traveller is not to book such a hotel where people are deceptive and dishonest. Once you have paid them, there is no hope of recieving the service that is promised, or your money if you have a dispute. It is hotels like this one that give tourists a poor impression of India and reinforce the idea that India is full of corruption. I will be writing to the Rajastan Tourism Industry to inform them of the problems I have experienced with this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Urvasi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mandirampalace, Owner at Hotel Mandiram Palace, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2012

Dear Sir,

The Guest booked lowest category room ( deluxe) and demanded highest category room(suite).
The pictures displayed in Expedia are of Suite room. This is Expedia fault and not the Hotel's.
In the Hotel's site there are all pictures of the rooms with their names.

The guest checked in at 11.00pm and next day send mail to Expedia for the refund. Expedia refused to refund as it was non refundable booking. We helped the guest by providing them 2 nights refund from Expedia. Expedia then refunded for 2 nights. This was only with the help of the Hotel.

The taxi driver whatever told the guest was false as Hotel owner was out of station.

The guest paid for Deluxe and demanded Suite. After getting refund, the guest way of speaking totally changed. It was only because of the help of Hotel the guest got refund.

Thanks
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Hi,
I had been to this property last week; it was an amazing experience. The staff was courteous and always on their tows. View from the room was very good and food was also delicious.Would love to go to this property time and again.
Harish

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
Thank HarishAsnani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

I been to this property in August 2012 with my wife. Rooms are excellent with almost all facility and very spacious also. I would rate rooms of this property higher compare to other hotels like Uday Kothi and lake Pichola. Property is under renovation so some facilities like restaurant etc were not available. though many improvement in services is required but still its advisable to visit the place.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pratik773
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

awesome honeymoon suite.
i have travelled to lots of places as in marketing massey brand and this property rooms are equal to or better than many five stars i have experienced country wide .
WILL RECOMMEND TO VISIT WHEN VISIT THIS BEAUTIFUL PLACE CITY OF LAKES UDAIPUR.


aakash

Room Tip: honeymoon suite is incredible !!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aakashmathur8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Stayed there for two nights with family. Small rooms but clean and comfortable.Painting on walls were soothing.Hotel is faraway in narrow lanes on the opposite banks of Bagore ki Haveli. staffs are well behaved and helpful.One can opt for this hotel if they have there own vehicle. Overall nice experience.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kptodi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Thamla Haveli
Hotel Thamla Haveli
#70 of 166 in Udaipur
271 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Udai Niwas
Hotel Udai Niwas
#85 of 166 in Udaipur
254 reviews
0.9 mi away
Anjani Hotel
Anjani Hotel
#76 of 166 in Udaipur
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Padmini Palace
Hotel Padmini Palace
#48 of 166 in Udaipur
358 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Gangaur Palace / Ashoka Art
0.9 mi away
Hotel Ishwar Palace
Hotel Ishwar Palace
#58 of 166 in Udaipur
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mandiram Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mandiram Palace

Address: 71-Panchdevri, Ramdwara Chowk | Hanuman Ghat, o/s Chandpole, Udaipur 313001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #114 of 166 Hotels in Udaipur
Price Range: $20 - $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Mandiram Palace 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mandiram Palace - located in the old town near Lake Pichola. Hotel offers a roof top restaurant. High-speed wireless Internet access is complimentary. The hotel also offers tour/ticket assistance, town car service and currency exchange can be provided. Car Parking is complimentary. The property may provide extended parking privileges to guests after check-out. A total renovation of this property was completed in August 2010.• 24-hour front desk • Number of rooms: 10• Number of suites: 4• Number of floors: 3• Complimentary newspapers in lobby • Currency exchange • Dry cleaning/laundry service • Express check- in • Front desk hours • On-site medical assistance available • Tours/ticket assistance • Wireless (high-speed) Internet access - complimentary • Laundry facilities • Town Car service available • Parking (free) • Parking (secure) • Restaurant(s) in hotel • Room service (limited hours) • Safe-deposit box - front desk • Pick up service from train station • Television in lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Mandiram Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing