We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (161)
Filter reviews
161 results
Traveler rating
60
38
24
15
24
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
60
38
24
15
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslake picholarooftop restauranthotel is locatedquick servicenice stayjagdish templeproximity
Filter
Updating list...
99 - 104 of 161 reviews
Reviewed January 18, 2012

I'll keep it simple:
Good things - beds, floors, bathroom are spotless. Decor is lovely. Excellent location. Friendly staff (they let us have lat check out at no extra cost), really nice breakfast and beautiful lake facing terrace to eat it on.
Bad things- they don't clean the rooms during the day so the toilet paper doesn't get replaced unless you ask for more. That's common in India though so no big deal. The major drawback about this hotel is that it is FREEZING!! Miserablely thin bed covers, no heater, single glazed windows and the bedroom door leads out onto an outdoor corridor. Hot water is not guaranteed but I found this everywhere I stayed in India.

Room Tip: There is no such thing as a quiet room in India but this hotel was one of the quieter ones.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Standardusername
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2012

We booked our rooms a month ahead of travel based on the favorable reviews of various tripadvisors. But this was a colossal disappointment for us as a family. This is actually a mere 1/4th of a portion of the building that you see painted in yellow in the pictures. no courtyard or any of the typical ambiance that is typical to the surrounding hotels to this place. The hotel is not situated at the banks of the lake. so a lake view in a superior room is a mere farce. You will basically overlook the road outside of shops and probably have glimmer of water from the lakes. Some what a view from the suite in the top floor. Room amenities are very basic with shabby furniture. It was really cold at the time of our stay but no heater and extra blankets were on offer though. Warm water is only available when the owner wakes up to switch on the central geyser! room 101 has a irreparable stink in the bathroom! Linen was dirty and had remains of other users' hair! The water glasses were just packed in sanitised cover but were filthy and moldy when we opened them for use. No food. no tea on call. overall really a disappointment and was a spoiler to the otherwise pleasant city.

Room Tip: The Mandiram suite is good if you are travelling alone or with spouse. The bathroom space is fully visible and the internal blinds are not suitable to cover the space if you need privacy. superior rooms 102 is ok.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rucksack12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2012

Hello,
This hotel is a palace only in its name and has nothing that is close to that experience and the location is not on the pichola lake bed but a little away from it. Its an arduous task to reach through the narrow roads that leads to a hotel if you are going in a car.
The rooms are average and there is nothing heritage to it. The service is average.
The strange thing about this hotel is that they offer limited breakfast in terms of quantity. Eg., if your want aloo parata, then you can order only one for your self, like wise if you want poori bhaji can order only one plate and anything more than one quantity or a different order will cost you money,
A very average class hotel!!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Naren d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2011

Service is what sets this Hotel apart from the numerous competitors in the area. Its location, just a few minutes walk from Leela Palace, was ideal for me as I was attending a nearby wedding. The gentleman at the Front Desk was very courteous and assisted with having my clothes pressed during the ceremony.

I was upgraded to the Deluxe Suite and I have to say, this room was spectacular. One of the rooms I saw was not so great so I would definitely try for the Deluxe: it has a nice view of the water and a relaxing alcove to sit it. There were a few ants in the room but nothing too uncomfortable (and nothing unusual for this type of hotel in India).

The rooftop cafe was nice as well.

I cannot corroborate the complaints about the noise as whenever I returned to my room you could hear a pin drop.

Room Tip: Make sure you get the Deluxe Suite. No drivers knew this location by name, so be sure to have the address, contact number, and a good reference spot ahead of time.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IcedDante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2011

Exactly oppostie of the images shown in website....Its very Small hotel..like lounge...service is also very bad. We booked this hotel from internet seeing the pictures but felt very inferior after reaching there. there was no electricity and no facility for generators...We were told beakfast is complimentary but nothing was provided....not even tea/coffee.

Is say its lakeside but only two rooms are lakeside and that too view is not that good as one expects.

Overall exp very bad.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ArepeeIndia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews