We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“would not stay here again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ranthambhore Safari Lodge
Ranked #23 of 25 Hotels in Sawai Madhopur
london
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“would not stay here again”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

We stayed at the Ranthambhore Safari lodge as part of a tour group. For european standards the hotel was less than desirable. First of all, it is rather standard for cheeper hotels in India to put moth balls on the drains to stop insect coming in - so the rooms have an unbearable smell of moth balls. On top of that, the rooms had been painted (very bad workmanship at that, with paint drips everywhere) and the smell of the paint was also unbearable. The towels were not clean, and although they changed them for me,I couldn't shower anyway, as there was no hot water each time i tried to shower. They had issues with the power generated, so power would also come and go. And I only had 1 powerpoint in the room to try to charge my ph on, and that was so dodgy that it would cause the side light to flicker as I would plug in my charger and during the night the light turned on randomly, and one morning, our TV just turned on as they were trying to fix the generator i think - but it was 6 in the morning, so not how you want to wake, my daughter got quite a fright! ... But as I couldn't sleep at all it didn't make much difference to my sleep. Beds were very uncomfortable, smell was too much to bear, pillows were like rocks and I called to other hotels to see if we could find alternative accommodation! The pool also looks so nice in the photos- the reality was that the water was murky brown and I didnt even want to think of what you would catch if you swam in it!
One redeeming factor was that the staff were very hospitable. There was a wonderful dance troupe who performed traditional music and dance at one of the dinners and they did make good pancakes at breakfast.

Room Tip: This is better suited to a school trip than to families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leileilondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    20
    11
    8
    3
See reviews for
18
13
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2012

we stayed at ranthambhore safari lodge for two night in nov. 2011 .the hotel manager had got chiter person. we booked safari ticket by manager . he provide very expensive. safari actual rate 950 but we pay 1800 per person. and hotel staff is aslo chit me, hot water not come time to time. manager and staff every body say shopping in different different shop. i think they all take commission . food is not good . i hope that other guest not will like this hotel

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maria838
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sawai Madhopur hotels

Limerick, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2012

Stayed at Ranthambhore Safari Lodge for two nights in January 2012. The place offers holiday apartment style accomadion in a very nice garden setting and was very secure. There is also a rooftop restaurant onsite which was was a bit expensive and not spectacular to say the least. Given the time of year I was surprised at how very few of the rooms were acutally occupied during my stay. It it actually got a bit annoying when reception would ring my room every evening to notify me that the restuarant was open for dinner. The hotel is located a good distance outside Sawai Madhopur and closer to the main entrance to the national park. Not that there is anything to do in that town anyway.

Overall, I would have no complaints except for perhaps the room and bathroom decor was certainly in need of a refresh. The room just seemed to be always damp and just felt cold - I had to use the extra blankets provided in the wardrobe. I suppose to be expected in winter, but a heater should be provided. The shower would also cover the whole bathroom in water when you used it and the supply of hot water needs to be addressed only available in the early hours and in the evening time. For the price charged for the room I'd expect hot water on demand.
Other than that it's fine for a day or two but that's all you'll stay in this area anyway.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Philip771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2011

Loved this place, I was the only guest along with 95 8 -12 year old boys from Mumbai & their 10 teachers staying for the safari.
Accommodation is fun, watch out for mosquitoes!
Food excellent.
Staff really friendly & helpful.

Room Tip: Watch out for mosquitoes
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuartessaouira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, India
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2011

Well we went to Ranthambhore Safari Lodge during diwali. The staff is very nice and polite as Reena has mentioned below. Rooms are ok. They need to improve on hot water supply management. They only give hot water from 5:00 am - 6:00 am and 6:00 pm - around 10:00 pm. We stayed in AP. As there was not much occupancy we were not offered buffet but gave us fixed menu bf/lunch/dinner. Options were less but they were good enough though not in comparison to cost. it was 12k for 2 nights with 1 canter safari. extra canter safari is 750 and extra jeep safari is around 1200. Though canter people are waste, they waste 2+ hours so they dont have to show more in the jungle. the park opens at 6:30 am but we entered the park at 8:15 am and were out by 10:00 am. in evening the park opens at around 2:30 pm we entered at 4:00 pm and were out by 5:45 pm. and the park guide was horrendous. he didnt even show us a thing or explained anything in the evening, in the morning we were able to see a leopard. But canter n guide is assigned by gov and not hotel so its not on hotel.

Room Tip: Try to take a jeep safari. There are lots of jeep operators so you can consult them directly if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ashish D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2010

The hotel staff inclusing the manager is very polite and helpul. They arrange for the safari visit as well which worked fine for us. We had opted for the CP which includes only breakfast. The breakfast is served hot and fresh and tasty too... tried the paranthas, masala omellete , puri sabzi. Had dinner one evening..quite costly and just about average. Initially, we stayed in the cottage which is not vrey well maintained but next day we shifted to the other rooms which were quite good.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ReenaNambiar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2010

This hotel was true to its online pics.Basic facilities. Good and warm breakfast.
During a rainshower,due to water leakage, the room got wet, but the staff was prompt and efficient in cleaning it up .
The restaurant was a bit short staffed, unable to perhaps cope up with the crowd and the dampness due to rains, making it messy.
The live dance and music at dinner was entertaining enough.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shitalsumit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sawai Madhopur hotels
0.0 mi away
Nahargarh Ranthambhore
Nahargarh Ranthambhore
#4 of 25 in Sawai Madhopur
634 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Green Valley
Hotel Green Valley
#19 of 25 in Sawai Madhopur
41 reviews
0.0 mi away
Raj Palace Resort, Ranthambhore
Raj Palace Resort, Ranthambhore
#14 of 25 in Sawai Madhopur
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Anuraga Palace - A Treehouse Palace Hotel
0.0 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Sawai Madhopur Lodge
0.0 mi away
Tiger Safari Resort
Tiger Safari Resort
#16 of 25 in Sawai Madhopur
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ranthambhore Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ranthambhore Safari Lodge

Property: Ranthambhore Safari Lodge
Address: Ranthambhore Road | Opp Vanya Vilas, Sawai Madhopur 322001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Sawai Madhopur District > Sawai Madhopur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Sawai Madhopur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ranthambhore Safari Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ranthambhore Safari Lodge is a luxurious hotel located adjacent to "Ranthambhore Tiger Reserve" the most successful "Tiger Project" in the country. Ranthambhore Safari Lodge is surrounded by lush green, perfectly maintained lawns and trees. Its peaceful and natural environment works wonders on the body and mind. The multi-cuisine restaurant, created to please every discerning palate, serves a selection of International & Indian specialties with prompt courteous services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Ranthambhore Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ranthambhore Safari Hotel Sawai Madhopur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing