We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helpful staff and attractive grounds”
Review of Tiger Moon Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tiger Moon Resort
Ranked #20 of 26 Hotels in Sawai Madhopur
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Expensive for India, but moderately priced compared to most in Ranthambore. The cottages are warm for a Winter trip, they come with a heater, and have hot showers - but run the tap for 5 minutes or so to get the hot water. In Summer there's a swimming pool.

Here's a great tip: Ask the staff to light the brazier at night, and ask for a torch to be able to see if you can spot animals outside the hotel walls at night. If you hang around at night and make yourself known, the staff will casually give you all sorts of information about the animals around you.

You will be served lots of food here, more than you can eat, but be aware that you pay extra for the occasional thing (e.g., the orange juice was 50Rs a glass).

If you tuk tuk to Tiger Moon, it may be a good idea to get that tuk tuk driver's details if you do not want to pay Tiger Moon staff 800Rs for a jeep ride back to the city of Sawai Modhopur. Once you're at your accommodation (no matter where it is in Ranthambore) you're a little bit stuck there, so doing this will give you a bit of independence to go back to Sawai Modhopur when you like without paying extra to your hotel. Note that only official jeeps are allowed further into the actual park itself.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ploops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IndianAdventures123, General Manager at Tiger Moon Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and we are pleased to hear that you were satisfied with the overall experience of your stay with us. We pride ourselves in providing our guests the Wildlife experience and appreciation from guests further encourages and motivates us in our quest of providing excellent hospitality.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the unique ambience of the hotel and the guest facilities which has been specially crafted for discerning guests like yourself.

If there is anything more you would like to share with us, which can guide us to make your next stay more memorable and comfortable, we would be delighted to hear from you.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Warm Regards,
General Manager
Tiger Moon Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (159)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 159 reviews

Reviewed May 13, 2013

My husband and I stayed here as a package for a tiger safari this past November. This was right after the tiger ban was lifted in India so we were the only people at the resort. The resort was smaller than I thought it'd be but it was nice none the less. The staff was very attentive and friendly. During our meals, there were 3-5 waiters helping us at a time because we were the only ones there. The Chef did an amazing job with our meals, all our meals were by far the best meals we had in India and that's saying a lot because we enjoyed all our meals! He made whatever we wanted since they didn't have menus. Our guide at the hotel was very informative and knew the area well. He took us on a nature walk, to the National Park, and helped us spot creatures during the night.

I'm only giving the resort a "very good" rating because the resort itself wasn't well kept (most likely due to the tiger tourism band). It wasn't run down, but the plants needed to be trimmed and the pool needed to be cleaned and filled with water. The grounds crew were starting this process during our stay so hopefully during peak season it looks amazing! Also, the Tiger Moon Resort signs on the road leading to the resort could be replaced - they are all faded.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chakryalim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights in march on our trip around India and this was by far the best place in India we stayed the hotel was set in a lovely location down a dirt track into lush gardens a very peaceful stay the staff were very friendly and invited us to join in celebrations at the holy festival the rooms were very clean spacious always running water the food was very good plenty of variety and the staff kept us well fed between safaris with tea and biscuits cannot recommend this hotel enough a.special thank-you to dinesh sing when my pick up for the train station never arrive dinesh arranged for a member of staff to take in time for my train thank-you dinesh his nature walks are well recommend a big thank you Paul and Amy

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ptuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Like everyone else has said, away from the noise and bustle, almost the closest to the Safari Park. Low key amenities, limited food options and limited power and hot water. However was a pleasant break from India madness with great service. Bungalows and fitting were rustic, but hey we were on safari ! Shame about the pool not being usable due to the dead insects taking up the space.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YvonnePapamoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

A very welcome change from hotels. The clean and comfortable bungalows are situated in beautiful, peaceful gardens. We sat out on our verandah watching the birds and the falling leaves, and relaxed completely. The pool was great - we enjoyed our swims very much. We had a guided evening walk (about one and a half hours) and saw animals coming down to drink at the nearby lake, a sadhu living in a temple, and sunset over the beautiful countryside. Food was from a buffet and was good. Our only small criticism was that there was no bar menu, and we were served drinks at the cultural evening (put on for a group that was staying there) that we didn't realise we had to pay for. This was probably our fault, we should have asked!

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
2  Thank SusanDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights as part of our tour package and the shift from city noise and traffic to the quiet of this resort was quite marked. Our room was a semi-detached bungalow in a well-kept manicured rustic setting. We sat outside on our porch to read and enjoy the birds and monkeys and were amazed that there were very few mosquitoes disturbing us. There was a shallow pool for dipping but the water was too cool for us to brave it. You can have a nice walk around the resort grounds - it will not take too long but you have views of faraway mountains and herds of goats and cows.

Note : there is no WiFi or TV. The room does have heating and air-condition as well as a ceiling fan, and adequate bathroom amenities. It was very basic but comfortable and clean - no complaints except for electrical outlets not working in the room (for our chargers).

The dining room staff were superior in service and the food was delicious. We arrived late to check-in and the staff kept food to serve us as soon as we went into the dining room. They prepare biscuits and tea/coffee/chai in the mornings before the safari and have breakfast/brunch ready on your return. Typically, guests have 2 safaris a day one in early morning and the second in the early afternoon. The resort is fairly deep in from the main road, so walking out is difficult. It is close to some of the main entrances to Rathambore National Park but your safari may not start from that particular zone (it was reported to us that our safari tour areas were randomly selected - meaning that our guide is assigned a certain zone that we go to - I believe there are 9 zones in the park).

I had read about staff organizing a video of the tigers and park etc. but no such event was evident during our stay. There were 2 shops that are in the vicinity - friendly staff and surprisingly nice handicrafts and fine jewellery.

Would I stay here again should I re-visit? Perhaps not, and this has nothing to do with the staff or hotel - but rather allow us another experience elsewhere.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WorldTravellerBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We stayed 3 nights as part of a tour from 'tour my india' (who were fantastic). The staff here, particularly Bharat and Manoj (the chef) are very friendly indeed, the food was good, the rooms are clean and the general setting at the edge of the national park ensured we saw Nilgai (bluebulls) actually in the garden. A leopard had been 'spotted' nearby a couple of nights before. The swimming pool was being cleaned when we were there otherwise I'd have gone in for sure. Plenty of bird life in the wooded garden as well as langur monkeys and the ubiquitous striped squirrels. Fantastic place for the price and I'd stay again. With regards to the national park it's meant to be a lottery which zone you're given on each game drive but if you fancy a change just ask Bharat or Manoj who should be able to help.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sawai Madhopur hotels
3.4 mi away
Abrar Palace Wildlife Resort
Abrar Palace Wildlife Resort
#17 of 26 in Sawai Madhopur
217 reviews
5.1 mi away
Raj Palace Resort
Raj Palace Resort
#13 of 26 in Sawai Madhopur
361 reviews
2.6 mi away
Sultan Bagh Jungle Camp
Sultan Bagh Jungle Camp
#6 of 26 in Sawai Madhopur
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Anuraga Palace - A Treehouse Palace Hotel
4.9 mi away
Regenta Resort Vanya Mahal
Regenta Resort Vanya Mahal
#7 of 26 in Sawai Madhopur
159 reviews
5.1 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Sawai Madhopur Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tiger Moon Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tiger Moon Resort

Address: Village Sherpur, Sawai Madhopur 322001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Sawai Madhopur District > Sawai Madhopur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Sawai Madhopur
#11 Spa Hotel in Sawai Madhopur
Price Range: $56 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tiger Moon Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tiger Moon Resort is situated adjoining the Ranthambore National Park (Rajasthan, India) sharing a boundary with this Project Tiger National Park. The resort offers luxurious cottages spread over a large area. The cottage and semi natural gardens blend harmoniously with the surroundings and offer an abundance of birds, monkeys in the compound itself. A swimming pool and other modern amenities create a perfect holiday. Jungle safari, bird watching, cultural dances, barbecue dinner are the highlights of the stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Tiger Moon Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tiger Moon Hotel Sawai Madhopur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing