We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Untapped potential”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hammir Wildlife Resort
Ranked #22 of 42 Sawai Madhopur B&B and Inns
Jaipur, India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Untapped potential”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

I visited Ranthambhore in May'12 and stayed at Hammir wildlife resort with colleagues. The property seems quite neglected. Although the gardens and the pool provide a lot of potential to the place with interesting plants and fruits, it has not been maintained well.

The rooms (in the new wing) were comfortable, though not great. The restaurant is the low point of the hotel. Very limited food choices and average on taste.

Located well on the main road to the wildlife safari.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharadbhanu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    15
    11
    4
    17
See reviews for
19
6
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, CA
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2012

If you're looking for a luxury hotel, this isn't the place for you. What you will find at Hammir are friendly helpful folk and a comfortable stay. The hotel manager, Mr. Singh was quite friendly and assisted us with procuring personal items from the market that was out of reach without a vehicle. He even ensured that our safari registration was done (we had to pay a small agent fee) even though we had booked our safaris online and also offered the use of his jacket since my husband didn't have any warm clothing. Amit at the front desk took good care of us, ensuring that our requests were fulfilled and even organized pickup for us from the hotel to get back to the train station. Anurag at the restaurant was wonderful. Everyone on staff was quite helpful. The premises are maintained nicely. The play area is a bit dangerous as some of the play structures aren't quite secure. The pool was not available during our stay, so nothing to report there. There is a handicraft shop on the premises, but be sure to bargain.
If you're looking for a quiet, comfortable stay at a pocket-book friendly place, this is it!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jezebel9bce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noida, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2011

we strongly suggest and recommend to all the visitors to not to book this this hotel.to start with there was no-one to assist us with the luggage and then when we entered the room,there was no electricity,when asked about the same we came to know that they didn't have any power back-up facility,thankfully at night the power was restored.the next morning we were in for another surprise as there was no hot water available and we had to wait till 9 a.m. for the same and that too we had to manage with the luke warm water as that was the best they could provide us with.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Rahul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sawai Madhopur hotels

Noida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2011

Stayed at this hotel twice once with family and second with friends.
Hotel is built on a very big area and having good facilities like swimming pool, play area for childrens.
Either being with family or friends, I think you will enjoy being there. Rooms and cottages are very well maintained. Parking is not a problem at all. Service was good both of the times of my stay there.
Would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Cottages is better option especially when with family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank anurag31aug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2010

The hotel is 5 kilometers from the train station. Rooms are a decent size, but they are dirty. The sheets have stains and burn holes in them. The bathrooms are also dirty: the floor looked as if it had never been cleaned. You have to get used to it, because the room will not be cleaned during your stay.
The shower nozzles were so rusty that one broke during our visit, causing a massive flood.
There is a pool, but it is filthy and nearly empty.
Food was included during our stay. Unfortunately, most of our group became violently ill after eating it. Also, drinks are not included and are extremely overpriced. If you do purchase drinks, pay as you go. We did not, and were hit with a huge bill at the end of our stay. We were charged for three times the number of drinks that we had ordered, and had to fight to get even a portion of our money back.
Female travelers beware! The hotel manager is quite creepy, and will enter your room without permission.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank bbetherson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol UK
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2006

My fiance and I stayed in the Hammir in Jan '06 - we booked well in advance by phone from UK, having tried to find a hotel in Sawai Madhopur that was reasonably priced and could organise us a tiger safari in a jeep (gypsy). The very friendly manager (Mr Singh) assured us he could sort the safari and quoted us a room rate of 900Rs.

On arrival the Hammir is in a rather beautiful old building, with nice gardens, with a more modern accomodation block, pool (empty in Jan) and restaurant (good food) out the back. The old house, where our room was located has a kind of faded old art deco mansion ambiance and the atmosphere wasn't helped by the fact that we were the only guests in the place that night and quite darkly lit. My Fiance said it felt a bit like staying in the Adams Family's house!! - and diagnosed the need for a woman's touch and the place would be stunning!!

Having fenced around the point for a bit Mr Singh brought up the subject of the safari price, which was a bit more than we had expected because he'd had to buy a couple of seats from the Oberoi hotel's allocation, apparently.

Don't know what the rooms in the new block are like but our bed was a bit hard and we could have done with an extra blanket to beat the chill of Jan in Rajasthan - but we were so excited about our morning safari we probably wouldn't have slept much anyway!
Hot Masala Chai arrived at about 5:30am and our jeep shortly after.

We had gone for a one shot strategy as far as seeing tigers were concerned and by that afternoon we were on a train to Bharatpur, having seen three tigers - a mother and two cubs - a once in a liftime experience -so who cares about the bed!

Helpful?
4 Thank Nilly71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sawai Madhopur hotels
0.0 mi away
Raj Palace Resort, Ranthambhore
Raj Palace Resort, Ranthambhore
#13 of 25 in Sawai Madhopur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ankur Resort Ranthambhore
Ankur Resort Ranthambhore
#18 of 25 in Sawai Madhopur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rajputana Heritage
Rajputana Heritage
#12 of 25 in Sawai Madhopur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Abrar Palace Wildlife Resort
Abrar Palace Wildlife Resort
#17 of 25 in Sawai Madhopur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tiger Safari Resort
Tiger Safari Resort
#14 of 25 in Sawai Madhopur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Ananta Palace
Hotel Ananta Palace
#13 of 42 in Sawai Madhopur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hammir Wildlife Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hammir Wildlife Resort

Property: Hammir Wildlife Resort
Address: Ranthambhor Road, Sawai Madhopur 322001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Sawai Madhopur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Sawai Madhopur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hammir Wildlife Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Hammir Wildlife Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing