We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sher Bagh
Nearby Hotels
Tiger Safari Resort(Sawai Madhopur)
$38
$23
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tiger Moon Resort(Sawai Madhopur)
$62
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$191
Taj Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Pugmark(Sawai Madhopur)
$61
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Sultan Bagh Jungle Camp(Sawai Madhopur)
$53
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Nahargarh Ranthambhore(Sawai Madhopur)
$174
$129
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Sanctuary Resort(Sawai Madhopur)(Great Value!)
$44
$29
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Green Valley(Sawai Madhopur)(Great Value!)
$15
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
The Oberoi Vanyavilas(Sawai Madhopur)
$427
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (311)
Filter reviews
311 results
Traveler rating
275
31
1
4
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
275
31
1
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscamp firehot water bottlesgame drivesother guestsdining tentrelais chateauxwonderful camphot porridgemanager sunilearly morning calldriver guideluxurious tented campraj stylesafari campsloth bearcamping experiencepre dinner drinks
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
174 - 179 of 311 reviews
Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

Sher Bagh is a little piece of heaven. As a Relais and Chateau property they really go all out.

Brian the manager is incredible!!! What an amazing host. Such a nice and organized manager. Loved chatting with him.

Our bags didn't make the flight to Jaipur so Brian helped us call the airline for updates on their delivery time. The lodge was so kind to give us warm blankets and such to take on our first drive as we had nothing with us.

We saw tigers on 4 of 6 drives. Our first drive we saw a male tiger and on the way back to Sher Bagh we saw a Sloth Bear right on the side of the road 10 mins from the tiger sighting. It stayed with us for 15 mins.

We booked our drives ourselves, not through the lodge so I can't comment on that service Sher Bagh offers. All I know is we had the opportunity to only be sent into the 5 main tiger zones rather than the buffer zones like many others. All our tiger sightings were in zone 2. How we got zone 2 for that many drives when it's a random allocation is unknown to us, but we weren't disappointed. We were set to go to zone 2 for a 5th drive, but I wanted to go to zone 3-4 to see the lakes and ruins and Sher Bagh somehow made that happen!

The food was quite good. Eating outside by lamplight at night was really nice. The appetizers around the fire were nice as you got to chat with the other guests.

The tents were gorgeous! Really felt like early 1900's safari accommodation. Heaters were provided as it was cool at night. Fans and AC are available if it's hot.

The only downside to Sher Bagh is the dirt road going out to the main road in town. It's pretty bumpy. The Gypsy jeeps are not comfy (not owned by Sher Bagh) and if you're a bit on the larger side you're going to be crammed in. You can always sit in the front passenger seat (my hubby did this). I left Ranthambore covered in black and purple bruises on my legs and hips from the jeeps.

This is not a game viewing experience for those who want a soft, smooth ride. I have back and neck issues and almost had to fly home after Ranthambore because of the jarring ride (it was the start of a month long trip). I can't have massages sadly (which Sher Bagh offers). That surely would have helped.

Sher Bagh is a wonderful and home-like lodge. I don't like "over the top" service, so this was perfect. The butler button was neat, but I didn't think it was necessary.

Although the jeeps were very jarring, we plan on coming back. Sher Bagh was terrific and the staff are so lovely. No pain, no gain!!!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank youngtravellers99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hajra A, Social Media Manager at Sher Bagh, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

Dear youngtravellers99,

thank you for taking the time to review Sher Bagh. we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. What lucky sightings you had! We would love to hear more about them and write about it on our blog if you would be interested, specially the sloth bear! It is a pity that you were unable to experience the massages, that would have definitely helped with the sore back!

Brian sends his best wishes and we hope to see you back very soon! Please do stay in touch with us and stay updated with all our new ventures through our blog and other social media.

Our very best,
The SUJAN Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

This is a camp with a constant value; even the coming of a new manager brought no change to the quality and service of this very pleasant camp. With heating and airco, the tents are very comfortable and the food is still as delicious as ever, with a cook who loves to share his secrets with hobby cooks. If you can, book the private jeeps of the lodge; not only because they are comfortable, but mostly because you are sure to be accompanied by an excellent naturalist and driver, who will show you a LOT more than the jeeps who just drive around in the park. Even when it's busy in the park; you will get the best with these guys.

Room Tip: All tents are equally good, but tents 1 and 10 will have an upgrade in the future, and will offer even more space.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ingwe40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hajra A, Social Media Manager at Sher Bagh, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2014

Dear Ingwe40,

Thank you so much for your review of Sher Bagh. As you know we constantly endeavour to maintain and better our standards of the experience provided and are delighted that you found it to be of the quality you expected. Our guides and trackers are always looking to make the jungle experience a wholesome one rather than just about the tiger. As you rightly said, next season we will have two tents with their own private areas while all the other tents will be made larger. We do hope you will come back and stay with us in the future! In the meantime, stay updated with all the news from all our camps on our social media channels.

With our best wishes,
The SUJAN Family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014

The ultimate in luxury tents and the staff were simply amazing. Champagne welcome with scented towels were just the first of our surprises. Nightly camp fires with cocktails and delicious starters before dinner added to our delight.
The hot water bottles provided for the chilly morning safari was another added surprise.
The organic garden made for delicious meals and Brian was extremely attentive to our dietary requests.
Just be aware that the drinks that are offered non stop are not complimentary.
This is a wonderful place and would highly recommend it to all!

Room Tip: Our tent was super and imagine they are all the same.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DCBender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hajra A, Social Media Manager at Sher Bagh, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2014

Dear DCBender,

Thank you for taking the time to review Sher Bagh. We are glad you enjoyed the details that went into making your experience. The organic garden plays a big role in our culinary experiences, as you noticed.

The alcohol is not complimentary as mentioned to you at the time of booking, however, if there was any indication that it is then do let us know and we will look into the matter. We do hope you will come back and stay with us again very soon! Please do stay in touch via our other social media channels and we look forward to having you stay with us at either of our hotels very soon.

Best wishes,
The SUJAN Family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014

We stayed at Sher Bagh for three nights whilst doing the 'Golden Triangle' and thought that this was the best place we stayed in, although we had stayed in some other really wonderful places. I think what made Sher Bagh so special was that they had put a lot of thought into how to make one feel totally pampered - a glass on bubbly on arrival, hot water bottles and blankets for the early safari ride, a cold towel and soda on the return, a present on the bed when it was turned down at night, and so it went on. We were even brought a sorbet and soda by the pool. The layout of the camp/hotel is such that there is a very relaxed atmosphere, and lots of room so one hardly sees the other guests. As other reviewers have said, Brian, the manager seemed to be on hand all the time, I don't know how he managed to do so many things at the same time, and he provided us with a very personalised service. There are some other very good hotels at Ranthambhore, but I wouldn't consider going anywhere else, and can't wait to visit the other hotels in India owned and run by Jaisal Singh

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DMMDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hajra A, Social Media Manager at Sher Bagh, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2014

Dear DMMDorset,

Thank you for your review. We are so grateful for your appreciation of Sher Bagh. As you mentioned, you stayed at several lovely places but for Sher Bagh to stand out is a real honour for us.

We do hope that you will come and visit us again very soon. Do stay in touch with us for news from our other camps and Sher Bagh through our social media and we hope that you will come back and stay at all our hotels and experience them very very soon.

Much love,
The SUJAN Family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

I dont even know where to start. Everything was fantastic and run like a clock-work.
We stayed for two nights at Sher Bagh and instead of originally booked two safaris did actually three rides.
Everything is thought for you - the early morning coffee at your tent, gentle wake-up knock and reminders when your jeep has arrived. Followed by a blanked, binocular, bird encyclopedia and a hot water bottle... I mean... unreal!
The tents are lovely, surroundings beaaautiful and service truly attentive. We enjoyed Brian`s personal attention and assistance with anything we needed. The rest of staff seemed to be a little aloof but my guess is they were truly focusing on doing their job best they can and sometimes forgetting to smile or make an eye-contact :) Happens!
I also had a chance to enjoy a massage at their little spa-tent and can reccommend it to those who need a little relaxation from their holiday :))
We very much enjoyed the drinks, the food, the atmosphere with jungle sounds in early mornings and late nights and also - getting to know other guests and hearing their India stories.

Thanks so much to everybody at Sher Bagh who made our stay very special.

And to the future guests: please dont forget about the tip box at the reception. I am sure your couple of Euros are very appreciated by the staff members. You already are very lucky to have a chance to stay in such a gorgeous place.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hajra A, Social Media Manager at Sher Bagh, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2014

Dear Dana D,

Thank you thank you for your wonderful comments!! We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay and wish you could have stayed longer! The campfire stories are truly a treat specially when guests get to exchange stories and share experiences.

We do hope you will come and visit us again very soon and in the meantime stay in touch with us through our social media networks. We have had some great news of new cubs being born in Ranthambhore Tiger Reserve and are all very excited about this.

We look forward to having you over again, at any of our camps.

Much love,

The SUJAN Family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews