We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“best service ever” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sher Bagh

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sher Bagh
Ranked #2 of 25 Hotels in Sawai Madhopur
Certificate of Excellence
virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“best service ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

We went to Sher Bagh for 6 nights to view the wildlife in Ranthambhore. We travel 2 - 3 times a year on safaris all over the world and hence have a large data base for comparison. The tented camp is beautiful and a welcome oasis of quiet and luxury after each 4 hour safari (AM and PM) to Ranthambhore. The service is the BEST we have ever experienced and starts with the early morning wake up call, continues with the post morning safari breakfast/lunch and finishes with the post afternoon safari evening cocktail hour and dinner. Jetthu looked after our every wish efficiently, elegantly, effectively and without being obsequious. The menus were quickly adjusted on the fly to our ever changing diet requests and timing. The food, both western and indian, was up to the standard of a Chateaux et Relais hotel. (For the most tasty indian food, I would recommend getting the indian rather than western version of the food). The entire star was the nicest, best trained and most helpful that we have ever seen. Brian oversees this entire staff with quiet understated professionalism and efficiency.

Sher Bagh has NO control over your safari experience if you do not book the vehicle directly with them. Some of the guests booked the trip with an agent and the safaris were booked separately from the stay at Sher Bagh. That resulted in many unsatisfactory safaris and that was the biggest complaint we heard from fellow guests. The safari brokers have small jeeps in which they stuff 6 people or trucks where they crowd 16 - 20 people. The knowledge base of those drivers/guides is limited as there is no guide training program in India (compared to Africa) that must be taken and passed before allowing the driver/guide to take quests into the park. The park is broken up into 8 zones and each jeep was limited to the assigned zone for that safari whether any tigers had been sighted there recently or not. We were very fortunate to book with Sher Bagh directly and had our own jeep driven by Sanje who is recognized as the best driver/guide of the area. We were thus able to maximize our chances of wildlife viewing.

Remember that tigers are elusive and you will not see them on every outing. We saw them on half the outings. However the park is the most beautiful we have ever seen with mystic hills and valleys containing beautiful lakes and aging temples everywhere. The entire park is dominated by the 9th century stone fort built on top of an unassailable rocky very steep hill. The roads are less than smooth and be prepared for very bumpy rides.

For the best wildlife viewing experience, I would strongly recommend reserving both the tented camp and safari with Sher Bagh directly.You will not be disappointed with your experience!

Room Tip: all rooms are excellent cannot comment on fitness center or spa as we did not use those facilities
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bears2c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hajra A, Social Media Manager at Sher Bagh, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear bears2c,

Thank you so much for your detailed comments on Sher bagh. It is our pleasure that you enjoyed your experience so thoroughly and we hope that it will become a regular in your annual safari trips!

Please do stay in touch with us and Brian sends his best regards. We look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Much love,

The SUJAN Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    29
    0
    3
    0
See reviews for
62
150
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014

I was there with my wife to be. We were there for three nights - we went on 4 safaris. The nature is beautiful in Ranthambore and the camp is very well run. Food is delicious, staff very well trained and friendly, tents are high quality. We saw a beautiful female tiger, two leopards and a jungle cat. Go before it is to late - to see a tiger in its own habitat is a blessing. Thank you Sujan!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rasmus1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hajra A, Social Media Manager at Sher Bagh, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Dear Rasmus1975,

Thank you so much for your comment. Two leopards and a jungle cat is very lucky indeed! Besides the tiger of course! We do hope you ail come back and visit us with your wife! All the best for your upcoming nuptials. Do stay updated with the latest news from camps through our blog and other social media.

We look forward to having you over again very soon.

All our best wishes,

The SUJAN Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014

Of course one goes to Sher Bagh to see tigers, but it is also an excellent spot to unwind and remove yourself from the hustle and bustle of India. It's a great spot for the middle of an Indian vacation, when you will really treasure the serenity of the resort. The staff look after every detail, leaving you to enjoy the luxurious tents and great food. We were fortunate to see a tiger, but be aware that Sher Bagh has little control over where you go in the National Park. We took a fascinating side trip to Ranthambhore Fort, made more special by the rooftop tea and cookies provided by the staff. And do visit the nearby (walking distance) women's handicraft cooperative Dastkar, which has lovely pieces at very affordable prices.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisZ556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hajra A, Social Media Manager at Sher Bagh, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Dear ChrisZ556,

Thank you for taking the time to review Sher Bagh. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that everything was to your liking. As you mentioned, unfortunately we cannot control the Game Drive experience as that comes under the Government of Rajasthan. We do hope you will come and visit us again soon, maybe even come to JAWAI and see leopards with us!

Stay connected with the latest sighting reports and updates on the tigers and much more through our social media channels and we look forward to having you over again soon.

Best,

The SUJAN Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

When you go to Sher Bagh your main objective is to see Tiger however from the minute you arrive you are so well looked after by the attentive team you could be forgiven for forgetting that.
Excellent luxury tents and very good food make this a great destination.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank humphtj5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hajra A, Social Media Manager at Sher Bagh, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Dear humphtj5,

Thank you so much for your comment. We cannot tell you how happy it make us to know that we could make you not miss seeing a tiger!

Do come and stay with us again soon.

Much love,

The SUJAN Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2014

If your planning a trip to India then I highly recommend you include this on your trip. We always use 5 star accommodation and this tops the list in every way. This is tenting in a luxury style.
Mr Brian the manager and his staff really make your stay a memorable one and can't do enough to ensure that you get the safari experience. Our agent failed to arrange an excursion but Mr Brian and his staff came to our aid and provided a wonderful morning out visiting the old fort on the hill within the park.
Thank you for the service and experience Mr Brian.

Room Tip: Each tent is of a standard that ensures all are equal. enjoy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 106mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hajra A, Social Media Manager at Sher Bagh, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear 106mike,

Thank you for taking the time to review Sher Bagh. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and do hope you will come and stay with us again soon at Sher Bagh or our other camps. Brian sends his best wishes.

Do stay updated with the latest news from us through our social media channels and we hope you had a great journey onwards.

Best wishes,
The SUJAN Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

Visited this camp for three nights in january2014..the main reason to view tigers..
The accommodation being luxury tents with very good bathroom( shower) and the beds are
Very comfortable and plenty of room for luggage etc..lighting power points all very good..being winter the tents were very cosy and plenty of warm water after cold morning and evening drives.
Grounds and gardens are very nice and the pool area looked good .Fire pit at evening meals very
Enjoyable..
We did see tigers on three occasions leopards and sloth bears our driver and naturalist both professional and found us all the animals we dreamed and joked about photographing..
The staff are all excellent and very well trained in customer service,everyone went out of their way
to make us welcome..food was very good as was the laundry service and the gorgeous refreshments on the drives to the park and on our return after each drive delicious tea..
The gifts left on our beds each evening a very sweet gesture and we all appreciated all the kindness and attention to detail by our fabulous butler ..
Overall a memorable experience and we will definitely return..

Room Tip: Tent one or two if you want absolute privacy..all seem excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amf227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hajra A, Social Media Manager at Sher Bagh, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Dear amf227,

Thank you for taking the time to review Sher Bagh. What a lovely record of sightings!! You are definitely extremely lucky to have seen the "Big Three!"

We are glad you enjoyed the tents and everything was comfortable during your stay.

We hope you will come back and visit us again very soon!

Best,

The SUJAN Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

This was our favourite hotel we stayed in all of India! Comprised of 12 luxury tents, the camp has a wonderful feel in large part thanks to the staff who treat all guests as if they were family. The tent was a good size, perhaps if I was being fussy a little small, there was an excellent hot water shower and bathroom, a free laundry service (your clothes can get a bit dusty in safari!) and a "butler" button to call service in case you need anything during your stay. There's a pool (albeit also quite small) and several cut away areas around the grounds for viewing local wildlife or just relaxing with a book. The food was incredible, some of the best we are in India (they grow all their own veg, rear their own poultry etc) and they have a fantastically well stocked bar... but what makes this place so special is the staff - warm, friendly and welcoming they are so thoughtful - you are brought hot water bottles and tea and cakes before your morning safari - met with a cooling towel and fresh lemonade after the afternoon drives! The hotel is a little pricey - but worth every penny.

Room Tip: All the tents are excellent but I would go for numbers 1, 2 or 3 so you're on the edge - away fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonny2874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hajra A, Social Media Manager at Sher Bagh, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dear Jonny2874,

Thank you for taking the time to review Sher Bagh. We value your opinion and are flattered that you think it is one of the best hotels ever. It is great to know that despite all your experience we were able to make your stay special.

We look forward to having you come and stay with us again soon. Do stay updated with all the latest news and information on sightings from our camps through Facebook, twitter and other social media channels.

Thank you and all the best in the new year!

The SUJAN Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sawai Madhopur hotels
2.5 mi away
Nahargarh Ranthambhore
Nahargarh Ranthambhore
#3 of 25 in Sawai Madhopur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
5.7 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Sawai Madhopur Lodge
1.8 mi away
Sultan Bagh Resort
Sultan Bagh Resort
#6 of 25 in Sawai Madhopur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Anuraga Palace - A Treehouse Palace Hotel
5.1 mi away
Abrar Palace Wildlife Resort
Abrar Palace Wildlife Resort
#16 of 25 in Sawai Madhopur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Oberoi Vanyavilas
The Oberoi Vanyavilas
#1 of 25 in Sawai Madhopur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sher Bagh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sher Bagh

Property: Sher Bagh
Address: Sherpur - Khiljipur | Ranthambhore Tiger Reserve, Sawai Madhopur 322001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Sawai Madhopur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sawai Madhopur
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sawai Madhopur
#2 Family Hotel in Sawai Madhopur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sher Bagh 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sher Bagh is the perfect place for those looking for the ultimate in authentic Indian jungle camps. The camp neighbours the Ranthambore National Park and offers a panoramic view of the scenic valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Sher Bagh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sher Bagh Hotel Sawai Madhopur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing