We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best hotels I've ever stayed in!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sher Bagh

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sher Bagh
Ranked #2 of 25 Hotels in Sawai Madhopur
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“One of the best hotels I've ever stayed in!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

This was our favourite hotel we stayed in all of India! Comprised of 12 luxury tents, the camp has a wonderful feel in large part thanks to the staff who treat all guests as if they were family. The tent was a good size, perhaps if I was being fussy a little small, there was an excellent hot water shower and bathroom, a free laundry service (your clothes can get a bit dusty in safari!) and a "butler" button to call service in case you need anything during your stay. There's a pool (albeit also quite small) and several cut away areas around the grounds for viewing local wildlife or just relaxing with a book. The food was incredible, some of the best we are in India (they grow all their own veg, rear their own poultry etc) and they have a fantastically well stocked bar... but what makes this place so special is the staff - warm, friendly and welcoming they are so thoughtful - you are brought hot water bottles and tea and cakes before your morning safari - met with a cooling towel and fresh lemonade after the afternoon drives! The hotel is a little pricey - but worth every penny.

Room Tip: All the tents are excellent but I would go for numbers 1, 2 or 3 so you're on the edge - away fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonny2874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hajra A, Social Media Manager at Sher Bagh, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dear Jonny2874,

Thank you for taking the time to review Sher Bagh. We value your opinion and are flattered that you think it is one of the best hotels ever. It is great to know that despite all your experience we were able to make your stay special.

We look forward to having you come and stay with us again soon. Do stay updated with all the latest news and information on sightings from our camps through Facebook, twitter and other social media channels.

Thank you and all the best in the new year!

The SUJAN Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    29
    0
    3
    0
See reviews for
64
152
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mondsee
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

We stayed for 4 nights in this wonderful tented camp close to one of the Ranthambore NP gates. Location is wonderful and the camp runs on a very high level at all. The staff is highly motivated and extremely friendly. After haven been many times in Africa we liked this camp really very much. The food was one of the best we got on our 2 weeks trip trough Rajastan.
The staff was suffering with us on the low Tiger sightings quote. First question they ask when you come back from the game drives: Any Tigers seen? For the Tigers we think its better to go in April, but the camp itself is really a great place to stay!! We did 7 game drives in an exclusive Jeep, but have seen only 1 Tiger. Also the system of how they allocate the tracks to the guests is questionable. We had to go 3 times to track 6, 2 x to track 1 and 2 times to track 2. Tracks 1-5 are close to the camp; tracks 6-9 are on the opposite gate (min 40 min ride).

We will come back in the future for more Tigers and stay again in Sher Bagh camp!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wolfgang S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hajra A, Social Media Manager at Sher Bagh, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Wolfgang S,

We are so delighted to hear your wonderful comments on Sher Bagh and that you enjoyed the experience we have so carefully tried to create. Pity about your safari experience but unlike Africa, unfortunately that is not under our control and is severely regulated by the Forest Department of the Government of Rajasthan.

We will hold you on your promise of coming back and look forward to seeing you again soon!! Meanwhile do stay in touch with us via our social media channels and stay updated with the latest news from our camps including our latest JAWAI Leopard Camp.

All the best for the new year and lots of love,

The SUJAN Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

The property was very beautiful and very nicely set up. Tents were a nice change from hotels. However, the service is absolutely terrible. The hotel was in charge of our travel arrangements for the next day to get to the airport and they completely messed up our travel plans, booked us the wrong train causing us to miss our plane. Then they tried to cover up for their mistakes saying they meant to book that train and that it was a better choice. Nice location but if you would like trustworthy service don't go here if you wish to get home safely.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charlotter1412014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hajra A, Social Media Manager at Sher Bagh, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear charlotter1412014,

Thank you for your comment.

First of all we would like to apologise for the mistakes regarding your onward journey from Sher Bagh. Unfortunately as a result of the fog, trains do get delayed these days and that can create issues. However, please do accept our deepest apologies for the confusion regarding your arrangements.

We are glad you enjoyed the rest of your stay and experience at Sher Bagh and do hope that you will come and stay with us again!

All the best for the new year and hope you have many many travels you enjoy.

We look forward to seeing you.

The SUJAN Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

What a stunning place, with fantastic service and hospitality. The tents are beautiful and very luxurious. The evenings around the camp fire chatting to other guests is wonderful, with lovely service and dinners. The General Manager Brian is an Officer and a Gentleman. He goes out of his way to personally make your holiday special and delivers above your expectations. Compared to guests from the more expensive Oberoi, we noticed we were infinitely better looked after.

Room Tip: We chose tent 12, but they all seemed great
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hajra A, Social Media Manager at Sher Bagh, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Steve A,

Thank you for your generous comment. Brian sends his best and envies you in sunny summery Australia as we sit around the campfire at Sher Bagh! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and everything matched up to your expectations.

Do stay in touch with us via our social media channels for the latest news from our end and information on our latest experiential creation, JAWAI Leopard Camp.

We look forward to having you over again! Much love and luck for the new year,

The SUJAN Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

The tents, staff, food and overall attention and service at Sher Bagh was outstanding! The weather was cold - the hot water bags were a pleasant surprise in our beds! The food was prepared with the utmost care and was so fresh we were spoiled for the rest of our stay in India! The nightly campfire gatherings were warm, comfortable and fun - a great way to visit with the other guests (though, there aren't more than 30 guests on the entire property!)The safari excursions were well coordinated and exciting - lots of beautiful scenery and animals to see (deer, peacocks, crocs, etc.) but, do not get your hopes up to see a tiger, at least in the winter season! Amazing experience for a couple or family.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Safamee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hajra A, Social Media Manager at Sher Bagh, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Safamee,

Thank you for your comment. We are sorry that you were unable to see a tiger however, hopefully everything at camp may have come close to making up for it? We are very proud of our cuisine and the organic garden and are delighted to hear that you enjoyed it.

Do stay in touch with us via our Facebook and twitter pages and other social media channels as we bring you updates on sighting reports and news from our latest safari camp, JAWAI Leopard camp. We hope you will come back and give seeing tigers another shot!

Lots of love and all the best in the new year,

The SUJAN Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New york
Level Contributor
76 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

Everything was sublime. The service was excellent, the tents were appointed beautifully and tastefully, the campfire gatherings (doesn't express how elegant and charming these were) with 'cocktails and canapes' were wonderfully friendly and welcoming, and the food was delicious and so fresh! Of course, the highlight was the safari, and seeing a beautiful tiger crossing the lake and walking right beside us, but the fact that the other aspects of Sher Bagh compared with and stood up to the 'competition' of the safari park and experience itself is an incredible feat - I would love to go back again. The Indian/Sher Bagh safari is strikingly different from the multiple luxury African safaris on which I had been, but any 'just another safari' feeling I had upon arrival was washed away immediately. Great team, great property, fantastic everything!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NewYorkdaniela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hajra A, Social Media Manager at Sher Bagh, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear NewYorkdaniela,

It is wonderful to hear your compliments specially as we make it a point to make sure everything feels perfect for our guests. The 'tigertinis' around the campfire have been popular as it gets colder and we are proud of the organic produce in the garden as everything is blooming! We are glad that Sher Bagh provided you an experience that you will cherish and we hope that you will come and stay with us again very soon.

In the meantime, do stay in touch with us via twitter, Facebook and our oner social media channels where we update you with the latest news from camps and share experiences other guests have had. Our latest creation, JAWAI Leopard Camp promises to be another delightful safari experience and we do hope you will come there sometime soon.

All the best for the new year and much love,

The SUJAN Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
95 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2013

It is worth mentioning that you can go on very nice walks from Sher Bagh, starting off by heading up the road at the gate to the property. The road soon turns into a dirt track from which you will be able to see women carrying heavy loads of freshly cut firewood on their heads and villagers herding their sheep or goats. There are spectacular views of the tiger reserve from this dirt track. On another note, I enjoyed the fact that delicious continental food was served at lunch, with traditional Indian food being served at dinner. For those on extended trips, it's a welcome break to enjoy some delicious pasta with pesto and a fruit tarte. For late night readers, plan on bringing a headlamp because the lights in the tent are not conducive to reading.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ktw53721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hajra A, Social Media Manager at Sher Bagh, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear ktw53721,

Thank you for your comment. We are glad that you enjoyed the experience as a whole and it was not just about tigers for you. We are extremely particular about our cuisine and the organic garden and are pleased that you were happy with the food at camp.

Do stay in touch with us via our social media channels and our blog where we bring you the latest news from all our camps and our latest experiential creation, JAWAI Leopard Camp. We do hope you will come and visit us there soon!!

Much love and a very happy new year to you.

The SUJAN Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sawai Madhopur hotels
2.4 mi away
Nahargarh Ranthambhore
Nahargarh Ranthambhore
#4 of 25 in Sawai Madhopur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
5.7 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Sawai Madhopur Lodge
1.9 mi away
Sultan Bagh Resort
Sultan Bagh Resort
#6 of 25 in Sawai Madhopur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Anuraga Palace - A Treehouse Palace Hotel
1.2 mi away
Hotel Juna Mahal
Hotel Juna Mahal
#8 of 25 in Sawai Madhopur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
4.1 mi away
Abrar Palace Wildlife Resort
Abrar Palace Wildlife Resort
#17 of 25 in Sawai Madhopur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sher Bagh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sher Bagh

Property: Sher Bagh
Address: Sherpur - Khiljipur | Ranthambhore Tiger Reserve, Sawai Madhopur 322001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Sawai Madhopur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sawai Madhopur
#2 Family Hotel in Sawai Madhopur
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sawai Madhopur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sher Bagh 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sher Bagh is the perfect place for those looking for the ultimate in authentic Indian jungle camps. The camp neighbours the Ranthambore National Park and offers a panoramic view of the scenic valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Sher Bagh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sher Bagh Hotel Sawai Madhopur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing