We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Should not be missed”
Review of Sher Bagh

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sher Bagh
Ranked #2 of 25 Hotels in Sawai Madhopur
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane
Level Contributor
796 reviews
159 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 394 helpful votes
“Should not be missed”
Reviewed December 7, 2013

What a fantastic place. The tents are nothing short of luxurious. The attention to detail was apparent thoughout the camp. As other posts said, the pre-dinner drinks and nibbles around the camp fire to talk to fellow guests to relate the days activities was great - "did you see a tiger? leopard? how was your guide? which section of the park did you visit today?". Dinner was served near the campfire (buffet) or in the dining room. Lunch and breakfast served in the area outside the dining room. Even wifi available in the library/bar. For an early morning safari, the morning cup of tea was served to the tent with a wake-up call. The grounds are well kept.
Yes, we did see a couple of tigers and leopards and many other animals and birds during our stay of 3 days. If going to Ranthambore again, would definately stay here.

Room Tip: No tips - everything excellent. Bottled wine expensive - stay with the house wine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AntarcticBound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hajra A, Social Media Manger at Sher Bagh, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear AntarcticBound,

We are glad you enjoyed Sher Bagh as we take great pride in creating a special place and experience for everyone who visits us. The campfire is roaring these days as it gets colder and colder! Do stay in touch with us via Facebook and Twitter to know all about the latest news from camp and our new experience, JAWAI Leopard Camp where sightings have been nothing short of phenomenal.

We look forward to having you stay with us the next time you visit and catching up on your travels around the campfire!

Much love and a very happy new year to you,

The SUJAN Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    29
    0
    3
    0
See reviews for
64
155
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2013

Fabulous resort with every attention to detail. Fantastic Accomodation , comfy beds even an air con unit in our tent! The staff were so friendly and helpful. Wonderful atmosphere.The safari was awesome and we saw a tiger. Great guide and really interesting wildlife. The evening bonfire was fun and the breakfasts terrific. Worth a visit.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hezzaa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hajra A, Social Media Manager at Sher Bagh, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Hezzaa A,

Thank you so much for your comments. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and found everything to your liking! Tiger sightings have been great this year and we hope they will continue to be that way. Do stay in touch with us via our Facebook Page (SUJAN) and know all about our latest news including our new safari camp in JAWAI.

We look forward to having you stay with us again and wish you a very happy new year!

All the best,

The SUJAN Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noida, India
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

We arrived here at 10 p.m. which was rather late for dinner, but were hosted really well by the hotel. There was a bon fire and we were served wine and soft kebabs just to our taste! We even heard repetitive calls of some animals while we were there. There was probably a tiger around in the bushes! The staff was alert at all times and gave us an elaborate tour of the property after dinner. They made us feel welcome and were not hurrying us in spite of it being pretty late. It was a great experience We would love to stay here in our next visit.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dipakshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sher-Bagh, General Manager at Sher Bagh, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear Dipakshi,
We were delighted to welcome you to Sher Bagh, albeit briefly. We wish you could have stayed with us longer and look forward to welcoming you again as our guest.

As you appreciated, nothing at Camp is incongruous with our surrounding environment and what we have tried to create is a setting that is an authentic reflection of Ranthambhore's dramatic wilderness. Glad to hear you appreciated the ambience too.

Once more thank you!

The Sher Bagh Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

We have just spent two wonderful nights at Sher Bagh. We saw a tiger. Amazing.

But we will return because of the wonderful atmosphere created by the Raj era style but well equipped and comfortable tents, the dinners served by a camp fire where the guests mingled and swapped wildlife stories, the friendly staff and the relationship the hotel has with the national park which meant safaris were organised seamlessly. This sets the standard for tiger watching. Thoroughly recommend. Loved every moment.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeepers1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sher-Bagh, General Manager at Sher Bagh, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Jeepers1971,
Great to hear from you and hope you had a wonderful journey onwards. The Ranthambhore game experience is of course of critical importance to us and we have always tried to do our utmost to ensure our guests get the best that Ranthambhore has to offer. Delighted to hear your feedback!
Thank you also for your comments on your stay with us. I hope we have the pleasure of hosting you again.
With all our best wishes,

The Sher Bagh Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2013 via mobile

The service was truly amazing. As they intended it was like stepping back in time.
Every member of staff was very helpful & they even had a surprise birthday party arranged for my wife with cake, outside our tent, with a roaring fire & complimentary indian "champagne".
I had the dreaded deli belly when I arrived & in effect they nursed me. Nothing was too much trouble!
We took 2 safari trips and T19 on the 2nd..
I would recommend the venue to anyone.

Sheila & Conrad

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Conrad H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sher-Bagh, General Manager at Sher Bagh, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Conrad H,
Thank you very much for your comments and recommendations. We were just as delighted to host you both! T19 or Brat, as we call her (aka Krishna) has been giving a few sightings recently and seems to be in characteristic form. If you would like to follow news on the wildlife in Ranthambhore, or stories of any particular tigers, please follow us on our Facebook page or blog, to stay informed.
Once more, thank you for your comments, it was lovely to have you stay with us.

The Sher Bagh Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northamptonshire
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Very comfortable tents and a camp fire / food / service experience that will be familiar to anybody who's stayed in the top tented camps of the Masai Mara, a continent away. A million thanks to Yusef, who hosted us so impeccably, and especially to Deepak who in collusion with my wife arranged a wonderful surprise private dinner to celebrate my birthday. That day was made even better by a tiger sighting. Next morning, we saw three more.

Our only gripe is around the game drives themselves. I gather that these are beyond the control of Sher Bagh because the government now controls the vehicles, drivers and guides and it's pot luck who you get. In our view, six people per jeep is two too many and there's a big difference between the guides - some are great and very informative, some not so good. It would be ideal if Sher Bagh could use their own vehicles and staff, and bring the same high-end skills and ambitions to the game drives as they do to all other aspects of your visit.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ProperCharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sher-Bagh, General Manager at Sher Bagh, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear ProperCharlie,
Thrilled to hear from you and even happier to get your feedback. Those sightings were memorable indeed!
With regard to the Park; as you correctly state all access is regulated by the Department of Forests, Government of Rajasthan into the National Park. As we work very closely with the Park authorities we are constantly trying to 'tweak' and recommend changes in regulations to reach a balance between a fantastic game experience for our guests whilst maintaining the pristine environment for which Ranthambhore is so well known. As far as we can we do try and arrange our own game drives, using our jeeps, drivers and hand-picked guides but this is only possible to do if we have enough advance notice for the requirement.
Nonetheless, your feedback is critical as it helps us to buttress the suggestions we give to the Park authorities.
Once more, thank you for all your comments. We would be delighted to have you stay again!
With our best wishes,

The Sher Bagh Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Sher Bagh was just a fabulous experience. This is a small 12 tent hotel, which are superbly equipped. The service is excellent and Yousuf is the perfect host ensuring that your stay is memorable. Food is excellent and it was great to share your experiences of India with the other guests.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sher-Bagh, General Manager at Sher Bagh, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Chris S,
A very big thank you or your very kind comments.
It was great to have you stay and please convey all our best wishes to Mrs. Sharples as well. We hope you had a good journey onwards.

With our best wishes,

The Sher Bagh Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sawai Madhopur hotels
2.4 mi away
Nahargarh Ranthambhore
Nahargarh Ranthambhore
#4 of 25 in Sawai Madhopur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
5.7 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Sawai Madhopur Lodge
1.9 mi away
Sultan Bagh Resort
Sultan Bagh Resort
#6 of 25 in Sawai Madhopur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Anuraga Palace - A Treehouse Palace Hotel
1.2 mi away
Hotel Juna Mahal
Hotel Juna Mahal
#8 of 25 in Sawai Madhopur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
4.1 mi away
Abrar Palace Wildlife Resort
Abrar Palace Wildlife Resort
#17 of 25 in Sawai Madhopur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sher Bagh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sher Bagh

Property: Sher Bagh
Address: Sherpur - Khiljipur | Ranthambhore Tiger Reserve, Sawai Madhopur 322001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Sawai Madhopur District > Sawai Madhopur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Sawai Madhopur
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sawai Madhopur
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sawai Madhopur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sher Bagh 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sher Bagh is the perfect place for those looking for the ultimate in authentic Indian jungle camps. The camp neighbours the Ranthambore National Park and offers a panoramic view of the scenic valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Sher Bagh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sher Bagh Hotel Sawai Madhopur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing