We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Vivanta by Taj - Sawai Madhopur Lodge
Ranked #3 of 25 Hotels in Sawai Madhopur
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
Reviewed May 3, 2014

This was our second trip in Sawai Madhopur and we decided to stay in this hotel once again. The main reason being it's great service, excellent food, and amazing gardens.
The rooms are spacious, confortable and very clean. The staff is always at your service, without doing too much. Just the perfect balance. The food was once again amazing, and we were glad to see the chef had not changed since our last trip.
Finally, the stay including three meals makes the total price of a stay quite reasonable. I know where I'll be staying next time I visit Sawai Madhopur!

Room Tip: All the rooms are facing the garden and all of them are equivalent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thibaut D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    324
    167
    31
    9
    4
See reviews for
217
197
11
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2014

We have been regularly visiting this property almost every year since 2009 and this was our 5th visit. What we have always found here is the dining room staff is somewhat lacklustre and with a devil may care attitude, sort of which you find in government offices. We have earlier too heard them passing lewd comments among themselves regarding other foreign guests. This time when we went for breakfast all the tables were occupied except one table with only 2 chairs, so we requested the attendant (Mahendra) to lay a seat for a 3rd person and also to get an extra chair, The attendant just said yes and then vanished. Meanwhille my wife had gone to the paratha / eggs counter to get some parathas and then she overheard the same attendant conversing with the person manning the paratha counter wherein he used some expletives addressed towards us. What we could not understand is did we do anything wrong in asking him to give a 3rd chair to us? there were similar sized tables with seating for 4 persons too.
Maybe he did not want to make an effort to get the extra chair. Of course they gave us a 3rd chair and the issue was sorted finally.
We complained to the reception regarding the expletives used by Mahendra but there did not seem to be any response on their part.
We are Taj Innercircle members and were supposed to get a 10% discount on stay on our innercircle cards, But only after coming home did we realise that this discount was not given to us. Had called the hotel from Mumbai and they said the accounts dept would get back to us but so far no response. Also the innercircle card cannot be used at the hotel for redeeming points as their standard reply all these years seems to be "we are not connected to the server"
Hope these few errant staff change their attitude.
The property is excellent and except for people like Mahendra the other staff has always been friendly and helpful

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Milind V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jodhpur, India
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Colonial property with beautiful grounds, excellent location, all comforts, staff quality, average buffet food quality. Rooms could use updating; important to know that safari bookings have to be made separately not through hotel (through forest department).

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cbn13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2014

The property as such is great, it was the hunting lodge of the former ruler. The hotel is very spacious, with big rooms, great lawns and a decent swimming pool. The dining area is a little small until you are ok to eat outdoors.

The staff was very helpful in organising the safaris and showed a genuine interest in how it went. The food was a little off the mark, maybe because I expected a lot from the Taj brand.

They have a lot of activities within the hotel - from cycling, swimming, playing cricket, camel cart ride or just taking walks within the sprawling complex. We cycled a lot (they have multiple cycles of all sizes but they could be better maintained)

All in all would recommend the property.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sujoymittal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014

we chose this hotel coz we have already been in Vivanta by Taj in jodhpur. we were thinking we would get the same pleasure of stay like in Jodhpur, but we are very disappointed with what we got there. it is a big property, with beautiful plantation and landscape. but our room, which was a suit, was very small, not comfortable, and it really needed renovation. our suit had a private sitting area behind, so we thought to spend our evening there. but we couldn't spend there 15 minutes coz it was very noisy outside and also dirty. it seemed that nobody cleaned there long time. service was good. no complains)) but i'm so sorry to say that i will not again choose this hotel in sawai madhopur. prices are much higher than its quality

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bhagat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Visited this taj property in june 2013. we were group of 13. . very nice & clean property with large rooms (specially bathroom) and lots of green cover in the property. and lots of activity to do in the hotel so we hardly visited any other place. overall a very nice hotel to relax and to enjoy cycles in the hotel.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank 2014Rajesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2014

We were 11 of and they gave us one full block with a lush green garden in front.
Loved every bit of the trip with very helpful staff and service.
Beautiful vintage property which still looks as royal.
Nice huge rooms with bathrooms as big a modern day 5 star hotel rooms.
They have tubs and shower areas with space big enough to play room cricket in the bathroom itself.
A little small swimming pool but looks very pretty.

Some downsides to point out:
-Cycles provided are in bad shape.
-A la carte (non-buffet) menu is very limited and the staff convinced us not to go for it.
We agreed since we understood that it must be difficult to make dishes that they are not regular with and might backfire on us only. So buffet is the only option. For big groups, buffet meals can get a little expensive if it's not included in the booking package.

Overall all 11 of us loved this holiday and would definitely go there again.

Room Tip: Go for anything, you'll love it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shingla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sawai Madhopur hotels
3.3 mi away
Nahargarh Ranthambhore
Nahargarh Ranthambhore
#4 of 25 in Sawai Madhopur
630 reviews
0.2 mi away
Anuraga Palace - A Treehouse Palace Hotel
5.7 mi away
Sher Bagh
Sher Bagh
#2 of 25 in Sawai Madhopur
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Hotel Juna Mahal
Hotel Juna Mahal
#9 of 25 in Sawai Madhopur
55 reviews
7.2 mi away
Sultan Bagh Resort
Sultan Bagh Resort
#6 of 25 in Sawai Madhopur
182 reviews
0.2 mi away
Regenta Resort Vanya Mahal
Regenta Resort Vanya Mahal
#7 of 25 in Sawai Madhopur
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vivanta by Taj - Sawai Madhopur Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivanta by Taj - Sawai Madhopur Lodge

Property: Vivanta by Taj - Sawai Madhopur Lodge
Address: Ranthambore National Park Road, Sawai Madhopur 322001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Sawai Madhopur District > Sawai Madhopur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Sawai Madhopur
#3 Family Hotel in Sawai Madhopur
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sawai Madhopur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Vivanta by Taj - Sawai Madhopur Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Known for the famous Tiger reserve Ranthambore National Park, Sawai Madhopur is the perfect wildlife destination. Vivanta by Taj – Sawai Madhopur Lodge is only 3 kilometres from the Sawai Madhopur railway station and 20 minutes from the Ranthambore National Park. Built in 1930, the former hunting lodge of the Maharaja of Rajasthan is spread over 12 acres of forest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, DerbySoftTaj, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vivanta by Taj - Sawai Madhopur Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vivanta By Taj - Sawai Madhopur Hotel Sawai Madhopur
Sawai Madhopur Hotel
Sawai Madhopur Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing