We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A jewel in the desert state”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Vivanta by Taj - Sawai Madhopur Lodge
Ranked #3 of 25 Hotels in Sawai Madhopur
Certificate of Excellence
Goa, India
Level Contributor
97 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“A jewel in the desert state”
Reviewed April 11, 2014 via mobile

Sawai Madhopur Lodge is a fabulous little retreat and getaway from the hustle and bustle of the city. Amazing hospitality, great food and landscapes. The team headed by the General Manager Mr Devendra Ratnawat and Operations Manager Mr Unnikrishnan take care of all guests personally and go out of their way to make everybody comfortable. The assistance to fetch the passes for entry into the wildlife reserve was of great help!
A great experience! Look forward to returning back soon again!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Reekshit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    324
    167
    31
    9
    4
See reviews for
217
197
11
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
127 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2014

This hotel provided an excellent base for a 3-night visit to Ranthambore National Reserve. The original lodge has been tastefully updated while retaining the heritage appeal. Our guest room was in a small colonial style bungalow conveniently adjacent to the main lodge; the room was large and spacious and tastefully furnished with an excellent bath and shower, and comfortable bed. The only shortcoming was wireless access is limited to the main building.

The F & B arrangements are rather basic (as others have commented) but it is possible to get snacks, etc. without visiting the buffet. There is small selection of Western dishes for those less keen on three curries a day. Service was patchy (some issues communicating prior to arrival) and it was difficult to identify who was who as all wear the same 'safari' style uniforms. We had mixed experiences with the staff in the little spa. The small pool is an additional bonus, and the large and well kept grounds a joy to behold. The hotel is on the outskirts of the town and is not for those looking for total peace and quiet. Nevertheless we enjoyed our stay and it served us well for visiting the park.

Room Tip: The rooms on the main lawn are probably nicer and more convenient. We noticed a significant variati...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toaster803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bingley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

We stayed her for 2 nights recently whilst on a tour of Northern India with our two daughters. The staff at the Hotel we just fantastic; a great team of people who really looked after us very well. In fact in our opinion, this was the most welcoming and friendly place we stayed, despite the fact that elsewhere in Delhi, Jaipur, Agra and Amritsar we stayed in a combination of both four and five star accommodation. The staff made the stay here. The rooms were nice, clean and well appointed, the buffet meals were very good too, with fresh bread being made and delivered directly to our tables on an evening. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel or stay here again. To make our stay even more magical we were extremely lucky to see the most beautiful Tigers 'up close and personal' on 2 out of 3 game drives.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaipur, Rajasthan, India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2014

My husband and me wanted three days of rest and relaxation and that's exactly what we got at the Lodge. We had stayed here on our first ever trip to Ranthambhor almost 22 years ago and again on numerous visits in the following years. This visit was after a gap of almost 5 years and we found the place has only gotten better. We had a lovely room facing the front lawn which was very convenient. The staff was courteous and warm; nothing artificial about Taj hospitality. All the meals were well thought out and delicious, thanks to Vikram, F&B Manager. They even have a vegetable patch in the back gardens with cabbage and brinjals and lettuce....all for the hotel kitchen. There are cycles and camel cart rides for young guests. The icing on the cake was when on our last day the Ops Manager Unnikrishnan managed to get us a safari ride and within five minutes of entering the park we got to see a tiger eating her kill followed by a rare sighting of a leopard!
We hope to revisit Ranthambhor in the winters and will certainly stay at the Lodge again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Behroze16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
307 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2014

We were in Ranthambore to visit the Tiger Reserve, so we spent several nights here...
The main building houses reception, the dining room, conference rooms and lounge - all is very quaint ... reminded me of the days of how the British, during the Empire days, has an old world feel..
The rooms are nicely furnished, with a tiger-type theme, my bathroom was greyish black marble (separate bath and shower). The rooms are spread out over the property, mine was just a 2 minute from from the lobby, however, some in our group were quite a distance away ... and yes, you walk there, bags are taken in a trolley.
Wifi was free,however, it only works in the specific parts of the lounge area and again, specific parts on the patio... Meals were good .... we did have breakfast, lunch and dinners here, as there really isn't any other recommended places to eat in Ranthambore, unless you go to another hotel. The gardens are beautiful,lovely outdoor pool. The trees are inhabited by bats, which can be a bit noisy, day and night...
If you want the oldly wordly feeling, this is the place to stay ... lovely sitting on the patio at dusk with a gin and tonic...

Room Tip: All are ground level, so you don't have to worry about stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gro05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2014

After taking an early Morning Flight from Kolkata and a long drive from Jaipur - Khatu – Salasar – Jaipur Railway Station, we took evening Train to Sawai Madhopur. We were received by Taj Vehicle at Sawai Madhopur Station at about 11PM. We were received by the Hotel Manager himself, which was just one of the examples of the excellent personal service.

Sawai Madhopur / Ranthambore is a day time place to visit because of its National park status and also Since No of rooms wise (30 odd rooms) Taj is a small hotel, and there is only 1 restaurant which also closes by 10.30 pm, I have requested for our dinner over phone. The Manager has kept restaurant staff waiting for us. Dinner was excellent as is the norms at all Taj properties.

The lodge itself is a beautiful park which makes this a very relaxing place. We had a room which was huge and decorated nicely.

We didn't get to see the tigers and we thought it was a pity but the national park is even nice without the tigers. The stories about the chances to see tigers vary wildly from 1:2 to 1:10 or even lower. If you want to see tigers for sure, the best bet is the zoo.

We liked our stay in the Vivanta which is a nice traditional lodge managed by Taj and although expensive we would recommend this place.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anuj_31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014

I think the Taj group need to look at this lodge.
We feel they are playing on the Queen's visit in 1961 .
The room we had was huge and did not need all the space, service was very friendly particulary the resturant staff who were very helpful.
Gardens very pretty and the overall setting lovely.
However we did not have any hot water for the 2 nights we were there and it did not get sorted out, plus instuctions in the room of how the electrity worked would be helpful together with how to contact reception on the phone. So as a consequence we have had to mark it down ,sorry

Room Tip: All rooms you could hear the town noise so would suggest further out of town!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LordsofYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sawai Madhopur hotels
3.3 mi away
Nahargarh Ranthambhore
Nahargarh Ranthambhore
#4 of 25 in Sawai Madhopur
630 reviews
0.2 mi away
Anuraga Palace - A Treehouse Palace Hotel
5.7 mi away
Sher Bagh
Sher Bagh
#2 of 25 in Sawai Madhopur
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Hotel Juna Mahal
Hotel Juna Mahal
#9 of 25 in Sawai Madhopur
55 reviews
7.2 mi away
Sultan Bagh Resort
Sultan Bagh Resort
#6 of 25 in Sawai Madhopur
182 reviews
0.2 mi away
Regenta Resort Vanya Mahal
Regenta Resort Vanya Mahal
#7 of 25 in Sawai Madhopur
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vivanta by Taj - Sawai Madhopur Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivanta by Taj - Sawai Madhopur Lodge

Property: Vivanta by Taj - Sawai Madhopur Lodge
Address: Ranthambore National Park Road, Sawai Madhopur 322001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Sawai Madhopur District > Sawai Madhopur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Sawai Madhopur
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sawai Madhopur
#3 Family Hotel in Sawai Madhopur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Vivanta by Taj - Sawai Madhopur Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Known for the famous Tiger reserve Ranthambore National Park, Sawai Madhopur is the perfect wildlife destination. Vivanta by Taj – Sawai Madhopur Lodge is only 3 kilometres from the Sawai Madhopur railway station and 20 minutes from the Ranthambore National Park. Built in 1930, the former hunting lodge of the Maharaja of Rajasthan is spread over 12 acres of forest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, DerbySoftTaj, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vivanta by Taj - Sawai Madhopur Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vivanta By Taj - Sawai Madhopur Hotel Sawai Madhopur
Sawai Madhopur Hotel
Sawai Madhopur Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing