We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to relax and rejuvenate”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Vivanta by Taj - Sawai Madhopur Lodge
Ranked #2 of 26 Hotels in Sawai Madhopur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Excellent staff, excellent food, excellent avenues to spend the day within the resort (cycling, swimming, playground, etc). The rooms and bathroom were very large and spacious. Staff was very cordial and service was excellent. My kids thoroughly enjoyed the stay, activities and delicious food. The hotel was also able to organize outdoor activities without any hassels though it would have been good if the hotel had more control on the open jeep safari trips to the jungle (these are controlled and managed by government agencies). Overall a wonderful experience at Taj Vivanta.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent and I don't have any reason why would I pick any over the others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anupamtiwari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (626)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

442 - 448 of 626 reviews

Reviewed November 18, 2013

This small 36 roomed hotel is a little Oasis in the middle of Sawai Madhopur and a welcome retreat after your arduous tiger sightings..
Greeted with garlands and iced tea was such a nice start to our two night stay, though you do have quite a walk to rooms from the main hotel facilities. we were obviously out of season travelling in November and many of the facilities were no longer available such as the out side seating in the fire pit area etc which was a shame.
Rooms are of a high standard though a little dated. Take earplus it is very close to the town centre and railway line trains running all night blowing horns etc and the fruit bats and wildlife can keep you awake.
Take advantage of the Spa facilities whilst here the massages are excellent value and the facilities are of a super standard.
I think my only regret with my stay at this hotel is that all meals are served as buffet style and I do not like to eat from them so had to settle with omelettes all the time so was a little egged out after 5 meals here!!
Some have commented that it is located over an hour away from the park this is not quite accurate the reason it is ideally located is that there are two entrance areas to Ramthanbore depending on which Zone you are allocated and both were about 30 minute drive from the lodge in a Jeep or maybe 45 minutes in a canter when they pick up at various other accommodations.
Overall I would recommend this property but suggest that they offer an a la carte option too with just a small selection.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank southerncruiser4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

We jad visited Ranthambhore during Diwali of 2013 and went to Vivanta for Dinner. The way in which we were received by the GM and the staff, the time he took out for introducing the property to us and treating us with sumptuous and very tasty dinner.

The whole family enjoyed the dinner to the fullest. Food was delicious and t4eatment fantastic. The choice of drinks is also good. Worth visiting. Our next trip will ne at thos resort certainly.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Milin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

BEWARE The hotels location is a number of kilometres from the National Park entrance and as such if you get a canter (open topped trucks) for your safari it can take well over an hour to get to the park if there are a lot of pickups enroute. This is NOT the hotels fault but it is important to note if booking here with the intention of going tiger spotting. It is due to very bad planning by the people who run the park safaris. They book people on to safaris in groups as they book their holiday, not on where they are staying, and as such you may find you need to make 5-8 separate pickups from hotels all over town before heading to the park. On one of our safaris we spent over 5 hours in a canter, 2 hours 40 minutes actually in the park and 2 and a half hours driving from the hotel to the park and back. The other trips were not quite as bad but we always were the first to be picked up and last to be dropped off so it means you get a lot less time in the park that you expect.

If you do stay here I would recommend booking a jeep safari rather than a canter as you will spend more time looking at/for animals and less time looking at the reception areas of other hotels.

The hotel itself is lovely, the staff are very friendly and efficient. The food is buffet style for all meals but we enjoyed all of them. There is sometimes a BBQ option which is at a small additional cost and can be either a small starter of meal alternative. The freshly made naan breads are excellent.

This hotel was the only place we stopped in India with free WiFi, it was only really usable in the lounge area but was quick enough in there.

The pool was good, big enough for a decent swim.

The hotel did seem suffer from frequent power cuts but they tended to only last a few minutes or less.

Overall I would recommend but take note of the safari trip issues.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jimmyt7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

It is really a nice property where one can spend time leisurely amidst lush greenery. One should keep at least three full days for it especially if one goes with family. However they need to develop the spa immediately and uplift the car fleet to give guests more comfort and satisfaction. I would also like to see some improvement in food spread as sometimes I found them repetitive and tasteless. In the morning if one comes late from safari he might get almost nothing except cornflakes for breakfast as we experienced it on 17th morning. The restaurant people need to take more care on this issue. Overall it is a good property with great potential.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
Thank gkpi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

This is an old hunting lodge of the Jaipur Maharajas - very good to stay with kids, they have excellent facilities, lovely large rooms with spacious bathrooms, excellent food and lots of opportunities to interact socially with other guests. Rooms were also very clean, the gardens neatly maintained and they could arrange non scheduled safaris also.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bhromonpagol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

How anyone cannot like this hotel surprises me. From the large clean bedrooms and huge bathrooms to the food,and gardens it was a super experience. The staff could not do enough for us in fact I thought we could export them to the UK to train some hotes here! You could easily think you were back in the 1930s (it was built in 1928 as a shooting Lodge) Our Queen visited in 1953 so it has some quality visitors. Lovely old photos all around the hotel. Would certainly go back highlight of our stay in India and we saw a male tiger for 20 minuites to top it all.

Room Tip: all seemed good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alicelilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sawai Madhopur hotels
3.3 mi away
Nahargarh Ranthambhore
Nahargarh Ranthambhore
#3 of 26 in Sawai Madhopur
667 reviews
0.2 mi away
Anuraga Palace - A Treehouse Palace Hotel
5.7 mi away
Sher Bagh
Sher Bagh
#4 of 26 in Sawai Madhopur
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Sultan Bagh Jungle Camp
Sultan Bagh Jungle Camp
#7 of 26 in Sawai Madhopur
203 reviews
1.7 mi away
Abrar Palace Wildlife Resort
Abrar Palace Wildlife Resort
#17 of 26 in Sawai Madhopur
220 reviews
6 mi away
Hotel Juna Mahal
Hotel Juna Mahal
#12 of 26 in Sawai Madhopur
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vivanta by Taj - Sawai Madhopur Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivanta by Taj - Sawai Madhopur Lodge

Address: Ranthambore National Park Road, Sawai Madhopur 322001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Sawai Madhopur District > Sawai Madhopur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Sawai Madhopur
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sawai Madhopur
Price Range: $263 - $646 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Vivanta by Taj - Sawai Madhopur Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Known for the famous Tiger reserve Ranthambore National Park, Sawai Madhopur is the perfect wildlife destination. Vivanta by Taj – Sawai Madhopur Lodge is only 3 kilometres from the Sawai Madhopur railway station and 20 minutes from the Ranthambore National Park. Built in 1930, the former hunting lodge of the Maharaja of Rajasthan is spread over 12 acres of forest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, DerbySoftTaj, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Vivanta by Taj - Sawai Madhopur Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vivanta By Taj - Sawai Madhopur Hotel Sawai Madhopur
Sawai Madhopur Hotel
Sawai Madhopur Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing